8/31 Stu PMPS 206, +4 211

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?p=236533#p236533

Hi Everyone,

Today thus far:
AMPS 272 Wouldn't eat. Vomited last night 5 times. Worry because I shot the insulin (skinny 1 unit) before I knew he wouldn't eat.
+3.5 42 Inevitable! Finally got him interested in eating FF gravy, and he wanted more. He started to eat some of his 8% Merrick with Karo, too.
+4.25 62 (second test: first test read "lo", but it took forever to get enough blood to fill the test strip, so I tested again with a new strip) He enjoyed some more HC gravy and a little Merrick 8% with Karo.
+6 124 (yea: he's eating again. He had some 8% Merrick and Wellness Chicken LC for lunch).
PMPS 206 Ate a few mini meals over the course of the afternoon. I decided to save his ears. Took his Methi. pill w/o problems.
+4 211 Felt much better this evening.

We seem to have hit rock bottom this morning. Stu vomited about 5 times last night (hairball + food in one; spit in all the others). Yesterday evening I gave the Clavamox at PMPS +2, after skipping the previous dose because his stomach had rebelled the day before. I think Clavamox is the culprit, because he was really feeling good yesterday until after he took the Clavamox. Today was supposed to be the last day on Clavamox in any event, so I'm not going to give him any more of that nasty stuff. Anyway, he hasn't eaten a thing so far this morning. He wouldn't even eat the baby food I offered him. He only wants to drink water from his fountain and go outside and sit. So that's what we've been doing. He looks so glum. I feel so bad for him. I shot his insulin before I realized that he wasn't going to eat his breakfast: a skinny 1 unit. Onset should be starting right about now. I hope I can coax him to eat something. Oh, and my DH is so exhausted from our ordeals with Stu that he didn't even want to go to his yoga class this morning. He went back to bed.
Great WCR, huh? Oh, the litterbox activity is good, so that's something!!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 8/31 Stu AMPS 272

Oh, I hate the no-eat mornings. Sigh. Good riddance to that Clavamox. Glad it's over with. I hope Stu will start to feel a little better. Did you ever get a feeding syringe Ella? Maybe he will lick some gravy if he starts to go low...that might be okay for him to have...to jump start his appetite maybe?
It's good that your DH went btb...the rest will be good for him. The LB activity lets you use your new metal scooper...so you are all set today! You got your kicks early! btb sounds good...wish I had done that! Don't you need more rest Ella? You have been so busy for so long...maybe a little rest for you too???
Stu:
sorry you are feeling poorly today...
wanna go watch Avatar at Ginger's? We can just relax.
If you want to...if you feel up to hanging out Man.
Let me know. Hoe you can get to eat a little something...
Feel better...
Shad-O
 
Re: 8/31 Stu AMPS 272

Hi guys .. I'm sorry stu isn't feeling good .. poor little guy .... But at least you know what the culprit is, and he is done with that stuff so I hope he starts feeling better ... and he is drinking water so at least he won't get dehydrated .. and maybe he will start feeling better so he'll eat something for you as well ... poor baby .. I hate it when our babies don't feel good!
 
Re: 8/31 Stu AMPS 272

omg Ella - poor Stu! poor Edward! btb sounds good.... Well I am glad you have stopped with the Clavamox - seems to be the culprit. I hope he turns around soon. I am sure that once his stomach settles he'll eat again. Try not to worry, though I know you will. Take care of your guy. (((HUGS)))

STU!!! BUDDY!! no more nasty meds, your bean promised. Feel better OK? I am so worried. Can I come and see you? Maybe Tess can bring you more of her curative tea, and I can get all our friends to make you some more soup. Cheer up, OK? We will be there soon. ~~ Mannie oh - and avatar at ginger's sounds like the best idea! I will come and make sure you get there safe.

Hey LL Buddies! Stu doesn't feel well, and is very sad, so let's go help him out, OK? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 8/31 Stu AMPS 272

poor Stu, sends cyber soothing belly rubs. I'm glad the clavamox is done with, hopefully that will improve Stu's belly and overall mood.
Sending healing vines to Stu and restful ones for you and DH
 
Re: 8/31 Stu AMPS 272, +3.5 42

Hi again,

42 at +3.5. I finally got some FF gravy into him (and he lapped it up and wanted more; even ate a little 8% Merrick with Karo--not much, but a little is better than nothing). I'll test him again in 10 minutes and then will get some Pepcid this morning.

Chicken soup and curative catmint tea. Stu will like that (and will especially like seeing his pals).

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 8/31 Stu AMPS 272, +3.5 42

I'm so sorry that Stu isn't feeling well. I know that makes you very worried. I'm glad you got him to eat some gravy and I hope he'll start eating better soon. If he keeps dropping, you may have to rub some karo on his gums. Did you ever get the syringe to feed him with? The baby food works well in a syringe.

Stu, I'm sorry your tummy doesn't feel good. I hope you're better soon. Go eat some grass - that always makes me feel better. Your friend, Blackie
 
Re: 8/31 Stu AMPS 272, +3.5 42

Stu!! a 42????? Dude! I am on my way with the the best ever chicken soup - made with some of Spotty's spices. YUM! See you soon. ~~ Mannie

Wow Ella, guess the 42 was predictable - I am glad you are home to watch over him. Sounds like he is feeling a little better. And true on the pepcid - I have heard that it does help. I remember Carolyn writing I think it was yesterday about how kitties with renal issues are prone to upset tummies. I do believe that she is right. I have been told by my vet too that having this on a daily basis will not harm them, but will help with a tummie upsets. Good luck - and up you go Stu!
 
Re: 8/31 Stu AMPS 272, +3.5 42, +4.25 62

Stu we are so upset that you are not well--Sending Tummy Healing Vines to you Our Dear friend--
Please Please get better so Moonie can have fun with you !! She is cooking up some secret kittey recipe for stomach soothing---And No More Bad Clavamox!!! You'll be better in no time--Hugs & Luv to our best Buddyfrom Us
Ella & DH please take care of yourselves!! We Luv you too!!
 
Re: 8/31 Stu AMPS 272, +3.5 42, +4.25 62

{hugs} Stu :-|
Have some tea and chicken soup, get a nice gentle kitty massage from your bean, and try to stay away from the ocean depths -- scary sea monsters down there.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 8/31 Stu AMPS 272, +3.5 42, +4.25 62

Stu, Stu, I'm on my way with more Curative Catmint Tea. Sorry, I just heard, I uh, sat on the keyboard again. :oops: We'll sit with you and lick your ears, that always helps.Be right there. -- Tess
 
Re: 8/31 Stu AMPS 272, +3.5 42, +4.25 62

Stu-
I'm sorry you are still feeling sick. :cry: But your bean said no more medicine, and that might be what's making your tummy hurt, so maybe tomorrow you will be feeling like yourself again. I'm on my way over now with some Catmomile tea (to help you sleep later tonight in case your tummy still feels bad) and some special, diabetic-friendly crackers. See you soon, friend!
<3, Buzz
 
Re: 8/31 Stu AMPS 272, +3.5 42, +4.25 62

Ella, I so hate to hear that Stu is having tummy troubles. I too am glad he's done eith the nasty Clav. His food should start to look more enticing soon.
I hope you're taking care of yourself too. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/31 Stu AMPS 272, +3.5 42, +4.25 62, +6 124

Hi again, Everyone,

+6 (nadir time) and we are at 124, so I hope all will be OK now. Stu is eating again: the gravy did the trick. He's had 8% Merrick Grammy's Pot Pie and Wellness Chicken for lunch and ate them both. He still hasn't eaten his Methimazole pill (wrapped in butter and a pill pocket and waiting for him in a separate dish). But I don't even care whether or not he takes that today. I'm just glad to see him eating. Everyone recommends Pepcid A/C, so I looked at it in the store this morning. But it is a PILL!! How can you get a cat who hates to take pills take one, especially if he isn't eating anything??? Decided not to buy it!
Off now to clean the house and then go for a short bike ride. Gotta do something, even though it's really hot here today.
Back later for visits. Stu is looking forward to seeing his pals and eating chicken soup, drinking catmint and catomile teas, and just having a little fun.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 8/31 Stu AMPS 272, +3.5 42, +4.25 62, +6 124

I think once the Clavamox is out of his system, he will start to feel better, and is probably already. I hope so.
I've used Pepcid AC before, when giving ABs, but that was a long time ago and I'm old and can't remember well, but maybe it doesn't taste too much and you can add it crushed to his food. Hoping he'll get the munchies today, after partaking of a little catnip, that Ginger is supposed to share with all her friends.

Enjoy your bike ride, Pat.
 
Re: 8/31 Stu AMPS 272, +3.5 42, +4.25 62, +6 124

Oh Stu - I hope you feel better soon! That clavamox is nasty stuff. Emma doesn't keep it down well either. She has another 2 days on it and she'll be done. She'll be ready to party then too!
 
Re: 8/31 Stu AMPS 272, +3.5 42, +4.25 62, +6 124, PMPS 206

Hi Everyone,

Stu is feeling a lot better this evening. He ate a few LC mini meals over the course of the afternoon, napped, drank water from his fountain (he really loves that fountain!), and went outside briefly (but it was so hot that he came back in again). This evening, just before PMPS, I put out the Methimazole pill again and he ate it. Then he had Wellness Chicken for dinner. I shot a slightly skinny 1 unit. PMPS 206 is a good number after the trials and tribulations of the day. Stu is not used to hot weather, so I'm sure that today's heat affected him, too. In any event, he hasn't vomited. It almost certainly was the Clavamox. No word from the vet or from Hypurrcat today. I assume they have been in touch with one another and I'm just sitting on it and waiting to see what happens.

I cleaned the house and did a short 8 miles on my ancient mountain bike this afternoon. Off now to visit condos. Stu enjoyed the visits of his pals today.

Ella & Stu
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top