8/31 Elmo . AMPS 361 + 2 199 +3 148 +4 132. +6 69 + 7 58 + 9 72 PMPS 201 + 2 326 + 4 311

Also, Sebastian is a stunner !! I had a grey named Pooh ...he was a super cat !
And thank you. He's so adorable, and the personality on this cat, you have no idea. He's always been the favorite cat at every vet he's been to. He's so laid back and never gives anyone any problems.
 
Take a breath :) No food and check again in a half hour just to make sure he doesn't dip again as the food wears off and if that's good, back to normal and take your decrease tonight.
Thank you , thank you for everyone who has held my hand thru Elmo's Excellent Adventure this afternoon :bighug: Want to restate your instructions , Justin ...test every 30 min..no food ...if stays same or rises ....give 1.0 units at shot time . Anything I should be watching for or expect tonight after PM shot of 1.0 ???
 
I'm gonna have a humdinger of a time getting this on his SS......needing to go to store and check on BC our office kitty ...vines and prayers appreciated for him .:bighug:
 
Going to have to experiment. Start with a half teaspoon. Test often. Honey/karo will wear off quicker than food.
Honestly , Lizzie , honey scares the doodoo out of me . Three years ago when he was first diagnosed, I panicked During low numbers and ended up DKA . It was awful . He has been ketone negative thru all this , bless his heart :bighug:
 
Take a breath :) No food and check again in a half hour just to make sure he doesn't dip again as the food wears off and if that's good, back to normal and take your decrease tonight.
Also , how often should I test if this next number is 72 or more ?? Every hour ? Or leave him be ??
 
Honestly , Lizzie , honey scares the doodoo out of me . Three years ago when he was first diagnosed, I panicked During low numbers and ended up DKA . It was awful . He has been ketone negative thru all this , bless his heart :bighug:
I understand. As long as he is eating good there shouldn't be a problem with just sticking with food. It is when they are full and not wanting to eat that I broke out the honey and usually late at night when I needed him UP so I could get some sleep.
 
Lizzie , wasn't Giz on epogen? I need to contact you some time and get your wisdom on it . Chris, one of my civvies ,is on it ...just have a lot of questions but I'll PM u to pick ur brain at a later date :bighug::bighug:❤️
 
Also , how often should I test if this next number is 72 or more ?? Every hour ? Or leave him be ??
Yeah, once you get a rise I would test again in an hour and then if it's still rising you can wait until preshot time.

As far as tonight goes, it'll depend on if he bounces or not. I would get a +3 and if that's higher than PS you can get some rest. If it's about equal or lower I would then get a +5 and go from there
 
At + 10 ....83. Will go thru notes / numbers from earlier and get on SS ..... .going to store and getting some HC . A million thanks for getting us thru this afternoon ! :bighug:Oh, and BC the office kitty was more responsive ...gave his heart meds for the day and will go over later and decide if I should bring him here or stay where he's familiar :bighug:
 
QUESTION ?????? What would be a number that I should not shoot tonight ? Even tho got a reducie ??? Is there a no go number for tonight ? Don't want to foul things up but also don't want to push it . Advice please .
 
QUESTION ?????? What would be a number that I should not shoot tonight ? Even tho got a reducie ??? Is there a no go number for tonight ? Don't want to foul things up but also don't want to push it . Advice please .

Was just thinking ahead to the next shot time, and I'm really wondering if he's had a radical reduction in his insulin needs (antibiotics kicking in), which makes me nervous. If it weren't for his old DKA experience, I'd already be suggesting that you skip tonight and take a break.

Hopefully others can weigh in on this, but if it were me, I'd be very wary of shooting anything under 150 tonight, and definitely nothing under 100. With the old DKA, another possibility is a half-dose, just to get some insulin in him, only assuming you are able to monitor tonight.

He's not following the usual rules today!
 
I see Elmo is up to his old tricks. Just when you think he's going to mosey along he decide to get frisky. This reminds me of all the days you were going to start Lantus last time and he'd surprise you with a great no shot number.

You've done great today Beth. So glad you had Justin and Lizzie to help.:D

As far as no shoot numbers, you don't have a huge amount of data yet so no shoot would normally be 150. That said he may bounce and you'll be able to shoot but I think I'd take the reduction. Shooting through a bounce is a more advanced technique and you don't need any more drama today. I agree with Nan you can always consider a BCS (Big Chicken Shot) if need be.
 
I see Elmo is up to his old tricks. Just when you think he's going to mosey along he decide to get frisky. This reminds me of all the days you were going to start Lantus last time and he'd surprise you with a great no shot number.

You've done great today Beth. So glad you had Justin and Lizzie to help.:D

As far as no shoot numbers, you don't have a huge amount of data yet so no shoot would normally be 150. That said he may bounce and you'll be able to shoot but I think I'd take the reduction. Shooting through a bounce is a more advanced technique and you don't need any more drama today. I agree with Nan you can always consider a BCS (Big Chicken Shot) if need be.
Linda, I was remembering the same thing . Back to the old roller caster vetsulin days !!! I'll be calling on you snd NaN in an hour to give me insight from on high !!
 
There's another number I didn't expect! Re-test, as a start, but if he's that high now I think you can plan on shooting. Maybe wait for Linda for a dose judgement-- I think either the full 1.0 or maybe the BCS of 0.5, to help drain the depot a little bit after today's antics.
 
There's another number I didn't expect! Re-test, as a start, but if he's that high now I think you can plan on shooting. Maybe wait for Linda for a dose judgement-- I think either the full 1.0 or maybe the BCS of 0.5, to help drain the depot a little bit after today's antics.
Nan , this is how he rolls . Back in vetsulin days , Linda , Kris and Mogs helped me journey thru the hot mess that is Elmo :):rolleyes:
 
Yes to the syringe a bit before shot but you just need to know he's keeping food down and can give him more after shot.

I don't think he's going to go all the way to black but he may provide you with a little more colourful spreadsheet in the pinks or even a red. I'm just guessing because bounces are just a natural phenomenon over which we have little if any control. He had a beautiful cycle today and there will be more of them so consider any bounce time your chance to catch up on some R&R.
 
And amen to R and R ...I'm sure Justin and Nan are worn out as well . Lizzie too . You all are selfless warriors , that's what you are :bighug:❤️
 
See where he's at. I'll check on you and we'll decide from there. If he does what I suspect he will do, then you both get a pokie break after bedtime.
 
Back
Top