8/31 Callie PMPS 120, +2.5 132, +4 178

:D

Quite a drop in the last 2 hours! Did she eat at +4?
I know! No, she didn't eat at +4 - just removed that from the notes. She had a couple of treats but didn't eat wet food. She did eat some LC wet food and treats just now. I figured we would test again in an hour to see if she's headed back up or continuing to drop. Make sense?
 
+ 9.5 97. Fed Callie a LC snack and pulled her food. Will test again at +11 so we know what to expect for PMPS.
 
Nice cycle today. She is back in action! :)
Yes! :cat: She had a good day today. Looks like now she's bouncing from the greens... hopefully not too high. Think I'm good not testing again until AMPS, yes?

Also, ques about food and insulin dose: we spoke with a nutritionist again about Callie's food/ allergies this afternoon and we will probably be trying Answers raw food to see if Callie will eat raw. I haven't calculated carbs but it is likely lower than what we are currently feeding (current food ranges between 5% and 8%, I think.) If it is lower, do we need to do anything with her insulin dose?
 
Yup!


You wait for her to earn a reduction after the food change to reduce the dose.

I will tag @PerfumedCatMom who feeds raw and has authored this post to help members who want to feed raw.
Raw Feeding Senior Kitties
Great, thanks as always :)

I actually found and read that post a couple of days ago and Katherine was really helpful in providing additional info. (I just didn't think to ask her about dosing then.) Katherine's "how to" sticky is actually one of the main reasons we are even considering raw -- I don't eat meat and don't cook it at home so I can't say I'm too excited for this journey... but Katherine broke it down in a way that made it seem doable :cat: Since we haven't ever tried raw with Callie, the nutritionist suggested we get a small amount of store bought first just to see if Callie will even eat it. If she does, we'll likely transition to the "do it ourselves" route.

Off to bed. Have a good day!
 
Back
Top