? 8/31 Binx AMPS 148, +2 248 - Dose?

Briana + Binx

Member Since 2024
Last post

Hope everyone had a nice weekend!

Binx has had some pretty interesting cycles the last few days. He hit a high lime on Friday (49) during his AM cycle, and I gave him an extra reduced dose that PMPS. Then I decided to reduce by 0.5 Saturday morning and that also brought him pretty low, so Saturday night I decided to try out another 0.5 reduction, bringing him to 5.0 units. That also brought him low again, Sunday night PMPS was 59 and I wasn't comfortable with his unpredictable numbers to give a full dose, so I can a token dose of 2.5 units. Now, that hasn't even really spiked him that much or at all this morning. Today's AMPS is 148, yesterday's off the 5.0 units was 146. This morning I've given him 2.5 units again because I'm not sure where I should go with his dose, especially when I'm in the office. Based on his +2, I know 2.5 is not enough, but is 5.0 also too much now? He also got fluids yesterday, which might've impacted him staying a bit lower during his PM cycle. Ah!!

I'm guessing it's kind of hard to give dosing advice when I've just been shooting from the hip in terms of dosing this weekend, but any advice is appreciated! I'm wondering if I need to jump down a bit and then start the increase cycle again.

Thanks! And safe surfing 🤗
 
Hi Briana, whoa, that's a lot of BG values over the weekend. I also wonder if the fluids made a difference.

I hope you get some good advice on how to handle his dosing to keep him safe. Wishing you both a calm week, Belly rubs and chin scritches for Binx 💖 🐈‍⬛ :bighug:
 
The larger depot can influence 6 cycles after a reduction, and possibly more. 6 units is probably too much. What is the reduction criteria you are using? He is a long term diabetic, but I tended to ignore that with Neko - as she had acro treatment done and didn't typically fail her reductions. Binx, not treatment yet, so it's just the normal pulsing of the acro tumour. I'd lean to 5.5 units, but wait for your answer on reduction criteria to see if I change my mind.
 
Hi Briana, whoa, that's a lot of BG values over the weekend. I also wonder if the fluids made a difference.

I hope you get some good advice on how to handle his dosing to keep him safe. Wishing you both a calm week, Belly rubs and chin scritches for Binx 💖 🐈‍⬛ :bighug:
Thanks, Staci 🤗 Glad I was around for tests this weekend, always scares me when I’m in office.
 
The larger depot can influence 6 cycles after a reduction, and possibly more. 6 units is probably too much. What is the reduction criteria you are using? He is a long term diabetic, but I tended to ignore that with Neko - as she had acro treatment done and didn't typically fail her reductions. Binx, not treatment yet, so it's just the normal pulsing of the acro tumour. I'd lean to 5.5 units, but wait for your answer on reduction criteria to see if I change my mind.
Thanks for jumping in, Wendy. Up until diagnosis, I was 3 limes and a 0.25 reduction but now unless there’s something dropping him quick (like the diarrhea), I’ve been operating 1 lime and a 0.25 reduction (even at the higher doses, 0.25 seems to make an impact).

He never gets enough green to earn a reduction that way.

Might try the 5.5 like you said, now that the depot has hopefully depleted a little from the half doses.
 
Back
Top