8/31 Austin AMPS 354, PMPS 134, +1 316

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara and Austin (Aussie)

Member Since 2010
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=23695&start=0

830pm +1 reads 316 - breathing a large sigh of relief. Phew. I have a LOT to learn. Honestly my cat would be a wreck w/o this board. Thank you so much to everyone from both of us!!!


Got home and his PMPS is 96. He is eating now, but I'm really confused if I should shoot still. I don't want to keep skipping shots and Im trying to get him back on track but he keeps swinging so low. This is really low for him too. Can someone please advise?


This morning I said:
Last nights PMPS was 250 - which made me feel a little better. Shot 1 unit and am back to 1 again. Shot 1 this morning and will stick with the tight protocol.
 
Re: 8/31 Austin AMPS 354

Ahhhh! Deep breath! A fresh new, more relaxing start. I think that was a great decision to go back to 1u. I'm excited to see how Austin progresses. :cool:
 
Re: 8/31 Austin AMPS 354

Settle down now Austin....you will be getting the 1.0u each shot time now...so use it well boy! Looking for some nice yellows soon, ok?
Good job Tara...hope you have a good day! :razz:
 
Re: 8/31 Austin AMPS 354, PMPS 96

BUMP

Got home and his PMPS is 96. He is eating now, but I'm really confused if I should shoot still. I don't want to keep skipping shots and Im trying to get him back on track but he keeps swingingso low. This is really low for him too. Can someone please advise?
 
Re: 8/31 Austin AMPS 354, PMPS 96

ok, so you fed already?

normally you want to hold food so that you can re-test a lower than usual number, but since you fed, he may start to rise at the next re-test

could you re-test 15 to 20 minutes after the 96?
 
Re: 8/31 Austin AMPS 354, PMPS 96

I could re-test now. It's 20 minutes later and he has eaten. Is that ok that he's eaten and will be on the rise - or did you mean to re-test in a situation without the food?
 
Re: 8/31 Austin AMPS 354, PMPS 96

re-test now then

this is called stalling, when you have a lower than usual preshot number.

you hold food until you see where the number is going.


but thats ok, it's done, so now you re-test.
 
Re: 8/31 Austin AMPS 354, PMPS 96

You are doing great-Told you that 1.00U is starting dose-Just knew it would work for you--
Let's s what next mnumber is--Pleanty of peeps here to help you! Dont worry, you have strips, food, and you are home--
No worries, You are in control!! Right? Yes you are!!! HUgs!
 
Re: 8/31 Austin AMPS 354, PMPS 96

First, a 96 is not a number to panic over. It is in the normal BG range. It may be unnerving in terms of your PMPS since you've not had a green pre-shot number but it's not something to worry about.

Given that you're stalling, do you have any flexibility with your schedule? Remember, your AM shot will be 12 hours from when you shoot tonight. How far off schedule can you afford to be?
 
Re: 8/31 Austin AMPS 354, PMPS 96

If I have to be late I have to be late that's ok. He usually gets his shot at 630pm so this is 45 mins after anyway. That's not really my concern. I'm not in a panic either, the 96 - is fine by me if it was all the time! I just thought for 1 unit this morning with almost a 400 AMPS it was a big swing. I don't want to keep messing with his shed, but at the same time I don't want to OD it either. Thanks for all the help. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/31 Austin AMPS 354, PMPS 96

Sienne and Gabby said:
How much and what did you feed? Was it LC?

He got his usual 2 cans of LC Fancy Feast, which he gobbles up. He will leave a tiny amount for himself. I'll shot 1 unit and get a +1.
 
Re: 8/31 Austin AMPS 354, PMPS 96

Your PMPS isn't a 96. It's the number you shot on --the 134. I'm guessing the 96 would be Austin's +12.

You did good! And you're right, it's a good sized swing from his AMPS. This may happen until Austin graduates Liver Training School (LTS). What probably happened is that Austin started to bounce after the blue AMPS yesterday. His numbers were gradually creeping up until this morning and were then coming down by PMPS tonight. As he spends a greater amount of time in the blue and green ranges, the bounces should become flatter and less frequent.

I would plan on getting a +1 and a +2.

Just a thought... You may want to spread that food out over the cycle. That's a lot of food at pre-shot. How big of a kitty is Austin?
 
Re: 8/31 Austin AMPS 354, PMPS 96

ohmygod_smile I still remember my first time...After this you will stand tall and say "I can do anything" sending Angels and green healing light and remember BREATH ;-) ~O) :YMSIGH: Kath
 
Re: 8/31 Austin AMPS 354, PMPS 96

Please post your +1 when you have it

I see what Sienne is getting at -- Tara it's a good idea to spread out food into smaller snacks.
Instead of a huge amount in one sitting

Make sure he has access to to it for the next hour as well.
 
Re: 8/31 Austin AMPS 354, PMPS 96

Sienne and Gabby said:
Your PMPS isn't a 96. It's the number you shot on --the 134. I'm guessing the 96 would be Austin's +12.

You did good! And you're right, it's a good sized swing from his AMPS. This may happen until Austin graduates Liver Training School (LTS). What probably happened is that Austin started to bounce after the blue AMPS yesterday. His numbers were gradually creeping up until this morning and were then coming down by PMPS tonight. As he spends a greater amount of time in the blue and green ranges, the bounces should become flatter and less frequent.

I would plan on getting a +1 and a +2.

Just a thought... You may want to spread that food out over the cycle. That's a lot of food at pre-shot. How big of a kitty is Austin?

I definitely need to spread his food out over a cycle. I have a timed feeder on order. He will eat what I put in front of him asap. He's always been that way though. He's a big boy. We adopted him at 27 lbs. Now he is 20. The vet recommended feeding him 400 calories or so. I took him down to 300 once and she said it was ok to give more. I weigh him weekly. He is trained to get on his baby scale. :lol:

So the 134 is still the PMPS even if he ate 2 cans of cat food just prior to me taking that? Also I am going to be an hour off schedule now...how does this work out tomorrow night. I can't stay until 730am in the morning more than once or twice.
 
Re: 8/31 Austin AMPS 354, PMPS 96

Yes, I stalled an hour total.

I guess I always thought feed and shoot - because in the beginning they wanted to always make sure he had a full stomach before I shot anything - just in case. So in my mind I think PMPS means PM - pre-eating too. You are right about the 134. Thanks!

Not that I've tested so many times and done many curves but historically his +12 is his lowest number. He is washing now like no big deal. :roll:
 
830pm +1 reads 316 - breathing a large sigh of relief. Phew. I have a LOT to learn. Honestly my cat would be a wreck w/o this board. Thank you so much to everyone from both of us!!!


Tara

when you have an update do a reply to the last post, ok?

editing your first text box won't bump your thread.

you should only be updating the first subject line post with new numbers, and adding a reply to the last post.

next time ok? it gets easier!

if you can, please see if you can also update your spreadsheet.

One more thing --- please get a +2

this +1 is pretty high - might be all that food piggy Austin ate! :lol: doesn't mean he's off the hook thou.
+2 ok?
:razz:


.
 
He is a huge pig. That's one of our nicknames for him! (along with many others) :lol:

Definitely getting a +2 in and a few more if possible. I would love to update the spreadsheet but unfortunately this laptop I work off of at home is a piece of junk and will shut down.
 
Might have to wait it out for a bit and see what happens tonight.

A good tip thou - if you can, post a +11 number tomorrow (one hour before AMPS)

That can help give others a heads up.

(Spreadsheet: ok, got it...I keep forgetting, lol...then you will just have to keep posting your numbers here, but remember to post a reply at the end of the thread so you get the bump.

It's gonna be ok. Others will be around this evening to guide you along.

Oh make sure he has some LC food for the next hour as well and post your +2 when you have it.
 
You have a choice regarding shifting shot times. You can move the time by 15 min. each cycle or 30 min. per day. If you are concerned that you're not home to test, I'd move the time 15 min. earlier each cycle. Remember, an early shot acts like a dose increase (although 15 min. really isn't a problem).

There are times that you can shift by more than 30 min. If you're moving the shot earlier, it's probably best that you're home to monitor, though.
 
Re: 8/31 Austin AMPS 354, PMPS 134, +1 316 +2 355

Thanks Sienne. I think I'll test tomorrow AM and see where we're at. BTW, I love your cat's face in the profile pic :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top