8/31 Asher amps yukky 351, +3.5 218, pmps of 272

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Morning kids: ~O)
We’re in this bounce thing, I think, hate seeing these pink numbers. Scares me anytime he is over the renal threshold :cry:

Three days ago: amps 298, +6 124, pmps 354 (yuk!), +5 248
Our last thread from that day: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=78012&p=843353#p843353
Two days ago: amps 278, +7 176, pmps 229, +3 201
Yesterday: amps 216, +8 306 (wtf), pmps 301, +3.5 180
Today: amps 351 :evil:

We are hanging with the 3 units to see if he goes low again and needs a reduction. (5 days ago he went low at night (51) and I fed him, maybe I shouldn’t have to see if he’d go low enough to reduce the dose)

Spreadsheet is current if anyone has time to take a look. Clinical signs are good/normal. He’s hungry and naughty and watches birds, which is perfectly normal for the gray man :lol: Litter box stuff good too.

Good day to all the sugar kitties and beans out there!
 

Attachments

  • asher000.jpg
    asher000.jpg
    225.1 KB · Views: 394
Re: 8/31 Asher amps yukky 351

Hoping for better #s for you both very soon. Keep up the excellent work! Just remember... This takes time, and a whole lot of patience. Hang in there. You WILL get there. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/31 Asher amps yukky 351

Yuck on the pinks and the bounce. We are right there with you today. Good luck holding the dose. I love the picture! What a handsome boy!
 
Re: 8/31 Asher amps yukky 351

Hi Donna, what a beautiful kitty! I love that pic of Asher. Sorry about the AMPS, and hope he comes down. Asher, come down and make your MomBean happy today. He may read his condo and surprise you. Maybe put a ? mark emoticon in your heading for eyes on ss, and one of the experienced can take a look. Have a nice Friday.
 
Re: 8/31 Asher amps yukky 351

Hi guys .. love, love love the photo of asher! He looks so handsome! Sorry about the high numbers .. it's hard seeing our kitties that high, but it sounds like other then that he is feeling good, so focus on that positive ok? Have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 8/31 Asher amps yukky 351

Hi again Donna :smile:

Ok, first, a little TR Protocol Review:

"Increasing the dose:
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
--- After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
--- After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose:
--- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
--- If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
--- Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely."


If I may, I have a few queries about Asher's dosing history:
- How come you did not increase his then current dose of 3.0u, once you had waited the 3-5 day period with mixed nadirs (some sub-200, others sub-300)? (Of course, the dip into the 50s you saw after 8 consistent days on 3.0u *may* mean that you'd have had the dip earlier if you'd increased earlier - no way to be sure.)
- *Since* that visit to the 50s, Asher has had a further 4 whole days above that magical sub-120 threshold. Are you considering (or have you considered) a 0.25u increase in the next couple of days, to see if you *can* get some more mid- to upper-range greens? (If I am missing scheduling constraints that prevent close post-dosecrease monitoring, and that require a more cautious approach with Asher's dosing, please excuse me!)

Even with those visits to the blues in the past few days, I'm a little wary of those pinks (trend: rising). I understand that you are anxious for Asher not to drop *too* low, and that makes perfect sense. But looking at the trend of the past few days, he seems to be drifting gently *up*, rather than down. Because of this trend, IMHO, as long as you would be capable of monitoring well, you could consider an increase to 3.25u.

What do the others think? And what do you yourself think?
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/31 Asher amps yukky 351

When I was away and Tom was doing the dosing (roughly the 10th thru the 20th of Aug), we had a few issues (late shot/schedule screw up, low numbers) so he just kept consistent at 3 units until I got home. We were trying to get Asher back on schedule so I was shooting early 15 mins or so per day, so then I thought we shouldn’t raise and let him settle in, then make a decision.

I was thinking of raising again once we got back to a normal shot time, but on the 26th, five days back, Asher went low overnight. When he hit 51 I fed a little high carb so we could get some sleep for work the next day. Sienne mentioned maybe I shouldn’t have fed then, to see if he would go lower and would be due for a reduction.
So....I was waiting to see if we’d get low numbers again, but we haven’t, pinks have been creeping in.

So that’s my story. Dunno what to do. Willing to try an increase if folks think that’s what we need to do. It seems confusing this time around.
 
Re: 8/31 Asher amps yukky 351

Hey, Donna -

Sorry about the stinkus pinkus. I HATE those higher numbers!!!!
smiley-face-shaking-fist.gif


Kind of like the blind leading the blind here, but Jane's reasoning makes sense to me. I think if your schedule allows, you should think about increasing.

It's hard to know what to do sometimes - like feeding at (51). I kept Hershey's regular food (<6%) and HC (19%) stocked. It never occurred to me to used Oreo's (7%) food. It has done the trick on more than one occasion. So, maybe you could find a happy medium for future 51's, depending on where in the cycle they occur? Just a thought.

Hope you have a wonderful evening -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 8/31 Asher amps yukky 351

Thanks everyone. We had a +3.5 of 218 and a pmps of 272, so decided to increase to 3.25.
I feel good about it. We are home the next 3 days to test and Tom is here with him when I go on my biz trip next week.

The low numbers from 5 days ago could be from us moving his shoot time up so many days in a row. He has been sensitive to us moving him before and maybe that this insulin has a shed, that might have been a factor too?

Regardless, we see a higher numbers trend like Jane was saying, so we will try this increase and see how it goes. I plan on getting a +2 or 3 tonight just to make sure we know if we are gonna have an active cycle or not tonight.

You kind folks will be the first to know :-D
 
Good luck with the increase, I hope Asher likes it and settles down nicely for you. Its great that you will be able to keep a close watch over the weekend to catch any surprises early, these cats do like to keep us guessing. Have a great evening!
 
+2pm was 280 somethin...so I guess this ain’t gonna be an active cycle :?
Maybe tomorrow numbers will improve.

A pleasant night to all out there in kittyland! :YMPEACE: I-)
 
Maybe he's letting you get some rest before the action begins...or maybe he's lulling you into a false sense of security...That's what Hershey does to me! :lol:
 
Could be Libby. You know I will be testing later tonight for that very reason nailbite_smile @-)
He’s a cat. We need no more reason than that :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top