8/30 Tip ... PMPS(471) +1(467) +2(469) +4(283) +6(244)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindy & Pets

Member Since 2012
8/30 condo

AMPS - 462
+3 - 388
+9 - 441
PMPS - 471
+1 - 467
+2 - 469 - syringe-fed 4cc of food

Hello everyone! Things have been super hectic, didn't get to bake Tips chicken yesterday, so I'm doing that for sure.

My question is, should I increase her to 5U? I'm really nervous again with how high her dose is getting. Should I get the number for that specialist my vet said I might need to go to for her? Or am I fine? I'm partly hesitatant to want to increase too because I'm not sure where her nadir is anymore. I have a feeling it changed, but I'm not 100% sure. Plus her day-time cycles are higher due to stress from change. So when this weekend comes, and I'm home to help ease her stress a little, I'm afraid she might drop a lot.
 
Re: 8/30 - Tip - AMPS(462), +3(388), +9(441); Dosing help

Letting everyone know, Tip is sick, she peed herself(GIANT puddle), has white gunk coming out of her eyes, is acting sleepy, is not warm. thankfully, and has a bG of >500. So she is definitely going to the vet. Will update when I get back.
 
Re: 8/30 - Tip - AMPS(462), +3(388), +9(441); Not eating

She was diagnosed with some sort of bacterial infection, and she isn't eating! Meep! Should I give her a reduces dose? She tested at 470.
 
Re: 8/30 - Tip - AMPS(462), +3(388), +9(441); Not eating

She was diagnosed with a bacterial infection of sorts, temp of 104.7. Should I give her a reduced dose or skip? Going to have to be going real soon, I'm tempted to take her down to just a flat 4 again until this passes.
 
Re: 8/30 - Tip - AMPS(462), +3(388), +9(441); Dosing help

looks like we posted at the same time.

I'll go pm Sienne and Marje so they can come tell you.

I would think so since she won't eat.
I don't know that's why I'm flagging others.

What did they give you or the infection?
How did they determine it?
And bacterial in the urine???
Your profile says prone to UTI's.
 
Re: 8/30 - Tip - AMPS(462), +3(388), +9(441); Not eating

Thanks.

They gave her amoxicillin and tested through blood. Couldn't get urine because she let it all loose right before. Tested for ketones, none. Nothing in the urine, but white blood count was high.
 
Re: 8/30 - Tip - AMPS(462), +3(388), +9(441); Not eating

Meep. ): I'm going to have to make a quick decision....I think down a whole unit just in case, I can always work her back up. My family is really pushing to be out the door, but I don't think I can give her insulin any later. Sorry.....
 
Re: 8/30 - Tip - AMPS(462), +3(388), +9(441); Not eating

well. they will all be telling you later.

I'd be nervous about leaving Tip alone for more than an hour.
 
Re: 8/30 - Tip - AMPS(462), +3(388), +9(441); Not eating

Yes, I am nervous about leaving her there, but thankfully the place we're eating at is very close by. I also left plenty of food out just in case. I wish I could be at home, but it isn't the case...
 
Re: 8/30 - Tip - AMPS(462), +3(388), +9(441); Not eating

The risk for ketones developing is increased with an infection present. The basic recipe for ketones is:
Ketones = infection + not enough insulin + not eating
Tip qualifies on all counts. Had I gotten the heads' up sooner, I would have suggested increasing Tip's dose to 5.0u. There's a good chance that you'll need to reduce the dose once the amoxycillin kicks in and the infection starts to clear. However, in the mean time, she needs more insulin to knock the numbers down and prevent ketones from developing.

Is Tip eating? If not, you're going to have to work at getting her to eat. You may need to syringe feed. Karrie/Maverick is our "go to" person when it comes to eating issues. There is a feline assist feeding group on Yahoo if you want to take a look. You may actually need to increase Tip's caloric intake both to offset the increase in insulin and the potential for ketones.
 
Re: 8/30 - Tip - AMPS(462), +3(388), +9(441); Not eating

Sienne and Gabby said:
The risk for ketones developing is increased with an infection present. The basic recipe for ketones is:
Ketones = infection + not enough insulin + not eating
Tip qualifies on all counts. Had I gotten the heads' up sooner, I would have suggested increasing Tip's dose to 5.0u. There's a good chance that you'll need to reduce the dose once the amoxycillin kicks in and the infection starts to clear. However, in the mean time, she needs more insulin to knock the numbers down and prevent ketones from developing.

Is Tip eating? If not, you're going to have to work at getting her to eat. You may need to syringe feed. Karrie/Maverick is our "go to" person when it comes to eating issues. There is a feline assist feeding group on Yahoo if you want to take a look. You may actually need to increase Tip's caloric intake both to offset the increase in insulin and the potential for ketones.
Sorry I didn't get to this until now. So should I increase tomorrow? Or when does the amoxycillin kick in?

She still hasn't eaten and shown no interest. I have a feeding syringe and am about ready to mix up a batch to give to her. While doing that, I'll offer her a different flavor though. Just in case she decides to eat that.
 
Re: 8/30 - Tip - AMPS(462), +3(388), +9(441); Not eating

I had one day where mine didn't want to eat and I had to open 6 different flavors before she accepted one of them..... ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 8/30 - Tip - AMPS(462), +3(388), +9(441); Not eating

Thank you for the link. Just finished the video, very helpful to improve my technique of assist feeding. I've had to do it once before when Tip got in to some mint chocolate. Threw her bG through the roof.

She seems 100% uninterested in food. So I'm going to test her real quick, assist feed her, then update everything. I do not have high-calorie food on hand. ): Didn't think to have it.
 
Re: 8/30 Tip AMPS(462) ... PMPS(471) +1(467) +2(469); Fever

Alright....she's been syringe-fed 4cc of food. It was a mixture of boneless, skinless chicken, and Special Kitty super supper. I also caught her in the act of peeing, so I went ahead and caught another ketone test. Negative for ketones, so that's good news. But now she feels like she's burning up. ): Anything I can do to get her fever down?
 
Re: 8/30 Tip AMPS(462) ... PMPS(471) +1(467) +2(469); Fever

That is a start but you need to syringe a LOT more. I can't remember how much we fed Zener but I am thinking something like 18, 10 cc syringes per day. He weighs about 12 lbs. I did it about 5 or 6 days and then he started eating on his own. Hopefully Tip won't take that long.
Liz
 
Re: 8/30 Tip AMPS(462) ... PMPS(471) +1(467) +2(469); Fever

Well, I was told that if she isn't eating on her own by tomorrow morning by the vet, to call and set up an appointment to figure something out to get her feeling better. I will be feeding her more. Just wanted to update and report things back here and then keep going. Give her time for the food. Despite her being pretty level, I should keep feeding, right?

I'd call, bu they closed 2 and a half hours ago. I can call the emergency vet though. So I'll do that and hopefully that'll make her comfy enough to eat on her own.
 
Re: 8/30 Tip ... PMPS(471) +1(467) +2(469) +4(283) Update

Yes...you need to get calories in her. The Iams Max Cal is a really good choice if you can find it. It has 330 calories/can and is not that bad on %carbs. It would be really good supportive care for her. As Liz said, you want to syringe feed her something other than her regular foods so she doesn't develop an aversion to her normal food.

You can put damp, cool cloths on her to try and bring her fever down. It's going to probably take at least 24 hours for the AB to kick in. And yes, she needs the increased insulin as Sienne said to get those BG numbers down. Also, you should be checking her very closely for ketones, ok?
 
Re: 8/30 Tip ... PMPS(471) +1(467) +2(469) +4(283) Update

Alright....seems she's started dropping and fast. I've only gotten 8cc's of food in her, got another 4 ready to go to bring her up to 12cc's. Also took her temp and it came in at 103.6. Decided I'd look through the medical supplies stuff and lo and behold, I found a rectal thermometer. So it is down a little, some of it I think is stress, vet said that it increases from stress, that's correct, right?
 
Re: 8/30 Tip ... PMPS(471) +1(467) +2(469) +4(283) Update

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Yes...you need to get calories in her. The Iams Max Cal is a really good choice if you can find it. It has 330 calories/can and is not that bad on %carbs. It would be really good supportive care for her. As Liz said, you want to syringe feed her something other than her regular foods so she doesn't develop an aversion to her normal food.

You can put damp, cool cloths on her to try and bring her fever down. It's going to probably take at least 24 hours for the AB to kick in. And yes, she needs the increased insulin as Sienne said to get those BG numbers down. Also, you should be checking her very closely for ketones, ok?
I'm not sure if I can go out tonight.... ): Uhm....hm....only other thing I have is friskies, and looking at Binky's list, it's about the same amount of calories. And I don't get off work until 5pm....is there anything else I can do to increase the calories at home, like, stuff I can add to it? Since I can use the friskies to prevent the food aversion, but not bring up the calories. I have been adding chicken to it, does that add to the calories?

Alright. I've been testing her for ketones every time I catch her. So far negative. Should I increase her tomorrow morning? Also, she just tested at 283....
 
Re: 8/30 Tip ... PMPS(471) +1(467) +2(469) +4(283) Update

I don't know about temp and stress but BG levels can rise from stress. It's good to see those numbers coming down.
 
Re: 8/30 Tip ... PMPS(471) +1(467) +2(469) +4(283) Update

Same here. Am wondering when it's okay for me to sleep though. Classes have not been fun today because of how little sleep I've been getting(partly because of sleep problems).
 
Re: 8/30 Tip ... PMPS(471) +1(467) +2(469) +4(283) Update

I don't think chicken will add to the calories significantly but getting food in her is the most important thing. The Iams MaxCal might be prescription so I'd check with my vet tomorrow.

I agree with Sienne that you need to take her dose to 5u tomorrow morning but you MUST get food and water in her.

Sienne and Gabby said:
I would have suggested increasing Tip's dose to 5.0u.
 
Re: 8/30 Tip ... PMPS(471) +1(467) +2(469) +4(283) Update

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I don't think chicken will add to the calories significantly but getting food in her is the most important thing. The Iams MaxCal might be prescription so I'd check with my vet tomorrow.

I agree with Sienne that you need to take her dose to 5u tomorrow morning but you MUST get food and water in her.

Sienne and Gabby said:
I would have suggested increasing Tip's dose to 5.0u.
I can look around for the food tomorrow after I get out at her +11.

If she still isn't eating without assistance, should I still increase the dose? I'm gone from her +1 to her PMPS tomorrow during the day. I'll also be shooting earlier to get her back on schedule. She's ~30-45 minutes off schedule.

Also, I've gotten ~20cc's of food in her now. If I test her now(+5.5) and she turns out okay, am I fine to go to bed? I haven't checked her temp again yet, but it feels like it's lowered a bit more. She's still not eating on her own.
 
As I understand it, you can adjust your schedule by 30 minutes a 24 hr cycle.

either 15 minutes each shot time or (I think) you can do one time adjustment of 30 minutes.
I'd love for someone to come confirm the one time 30 minute adjustment.
 
That's what I've heard as well. I was thinking that since my grandpa is awesome enough to drive me to school, I won't have to bother with the bus, so now I don't need to be there until ~8:30(or normally Tip's +2.5), I can just do the 15 minute increments. Especially since tomorrow(today? I'm not sure, I've been up for 19 hours) is friday.

But I've almost got 32cc's in her. She did eat a fairly big breakfast(~6-7oz's) because Christmas wasn't feeling it and Tip just gulped down the rest of Christmas's(in turn, Christmas made up for it by wolfing down and getting a fairly big dinner).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top