8/30 Lion - please review spreadsheet

Lion

Member Since 2021
Hello everyone, I am a new member. I may have originally increased my kitty’s insulin too fast and was having a lot of bouncing. I just placed a FreeStyle Libre on him and started the spreadsheet.

My previous numbers were a mix of Pet Buddy and Relion so I have not posted them here. In the past I only conducted two curves (now that I have FreeStyle I will do better). Generally the history is:


1 unit: 7/10/21 to 7/15/21.

1.50 unit: 7/16/21 to 7/28/21

1.75 unit: 7/29/21 to 8/5/21

2. unit: 8/6/21 to 8/13/21

2.25 unit: 8/14/21 to 8/26/21.


He started bouncing on as soon as I moved to 2.25.

With the guidance of the other board it looks like I am doing better!

Additional feedback is always welcome!

Thank you

P.S. I know I have to pick a new consistent does. I'm thinking of starting over again with 1.0. I was not really following SLGS closely due to problems with testing and 2 different monitors.
 
Last edited:
Generally the history is:


1 unit: 7/10/21 to 7/15/21.

1.50 unit: 7/16/21 to 7/28/21

1.75 unit: 7/29/21 to 8/5/21

2. unit: 8/6/21 to 8/13/21

2.25 unit: 8/14/21 to 8/26/21.


Hi! TR is a great idea! The Libre is new and I didn't even think of TR. That is a great idea. I will read up on it.

Everyone here has been tremendously helpful! The numbers are a lot better already. I did just post another thread on Lantus as you suggested.

I think the recommendation of 1.25 may have been based off the very little data I have, or it may not have been, I don't know.

I'm very happy to see the numbers may be leveling out. That is good news.

If you could add the dosing history to your SS, that would very helpful. From looking at your SS now, one cannot tell if he started Lantus on 8/27 or earlier.
And if you could also put in the BG data from say 8/20, we would have more data to advise on dosing. 2.25U to 1U may be too steep a drop in dosing but we will need to see some data to confirm that.

Dosing is based on nadirs, how low the dose takes the cat. Ignore the bounces. That is a natural reaction to lower numbers that the cat's body is unused to.

If you follow TR, you have greater flexibility to change doses - every 3-5 days vs 1 week on SLGS.

Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...to-work-dose-recommendations-for-8-30.252177/
 
Hi,

I added the dosing history to the SS, please tell me if that looks good.

The last month I was using Pet Buddy (pet numbers, not human numbers), so I don’t want to add the numbers as I think it would be really confusing.

Generally, from 8/20 on – highs were 450 (pet number) and lows started to be too low to shoot (115 pet number), I wasn’t able to shoot in the evening on 8/24 and 8/25 and 8/26.

I will definitely read TR and probably change to it as soon as possible. At this point I want to get him to the best dose as soon as possible.
 
Susan, it is important to shoot a consistent amount of insulin, every 12 hours, whether you are on SLGS or TR - unless your kitty goes below 90 (on SLGS) or 50 (on TR). You can't be changing the dosing around. Please post everyday so the experts on this site can help you - and they will if you enter all your data and post everyday. You will be amazed at how much better your kitties numbers will get if you let others on this site help you. I look forward to seeing your daily post! By the way, I am Summer and my fur kitty is Susie. Welcome to our FDMB site :)
 
Back
Top