8/3 Phoebe Squeak -- need advice -- decision made. Thank you!

J.J. and Phoebe Squeak

Member Since 2019
This morning Phoebe Squeak's AMPS BG tested at 40 (on At2 meter). I retested right away and got 77. She is acting fine, but I felt I couldn't take a chance in case the 40 number was correct so I gave her DM food (her normal breakfast). When I retest in 1/2 hour, I know the number will be influenced by the food so I'm not sure how to proceed in terms of her shot. Should I reduce by .25 in case the 40 was correct? Should I skip this shot?
Any and all advice appreciated.
Thank you!
 
I believe you're supposed to hold the food and test again in 20-30 minutes to see if she comes up on her own. Either way if the AT2 meter is an animal meter not a human meter (sorry I'm not familiar with that meter), isn't the cut off 90 if so it's too low if it's an animal meter to shoot at all. You might want to think about delaying to see if she comes up and shoot in an hour, but then your schedule will be all changed for tonight. Will you be home today to watch/test her? It's also possible that the strip was bad; wonky meter, etc.
 
@Sue and Luci Thanks very much for your help. Yes it is an animal meter and the take action number is 68. So even though if she is below 130 I usually wait and don't feed, just in case the 40 was correct I fed her. Good point about the strips/meter -- I used 2 different strips -- one got the 40 one got the 77, but I also have another meter so I'll get that out for the next test. Thanks again.
 
Last edited:
Since you fed you're numbers will be food influenced. When you stall you'e not supposed to feed. I think you should skip the shot just to be safe since you are using the AT2 meter. The 117 is food influenced which means she didn't come up very much. You'll still need to test for a little while this morning to make sure her numbers come up because of the depot.
 
With a reduction type of number at pre-shot, I always fed. If numbers are low, like a 40 (and especially a 40 on an AT), it's wise to feed. You don't know if numbers are heading up or down and if you stall, you could end up having numbers heading into dangerously low territory. IMHO, stalling in this scenario (i.e., a dose reduction level pre-shot) doesn't apply.

You might want to consider getting a +3 (or later) test during the PM cycle. It looks to me like Phoebe's onset is a bit later than +2. There's a good chance her numbers dropped overnight.
 
Thank you.
Since you fed you're numbers will be food influenced. When you stall you'e not supposed to feed. I think you should skip the shot just to be safe since you are using the AT2 meter. The 117 is food influenced which means she didn't come up very much. You'll still need to test for a little while this morning to make sure her numbers come up because of the depot.
Thanks very much, Carla. I really appreciate your help. Hope Furball sees some blue or even green today.
 
With a reduction type of number at pre-shot, I always fed. If numbers are low, like a 40 (and especially a 40 on an AT), it's wise to feed. You don't know if numbers are heading up or down and if you stall, you could end up having numbers heading into dangerously low territory. IMHO, stalling in this scenario (i.e., a dose reduction level pre-shot) doesn't apply.

You might want to consider getting a +3 (or later) test during the PM cycle. It looks to me like Phoebe's onset is a bit later than +2. There's a good chance her numbers dropped overnight.
Sienne, Thank you, Thank you!!! I'm so glad you think feeding was the right choice this AM. We kept testing, and 2 hours after she'd eaten a couple bites of food her BG was 152 so we shot a reduced dose of 1U. I wouldn't have reduced the dose if her AMPS was really 77, but because she also tested at 40, I figured I'd rather be safe in case the actual number was below 68. I am around to test her today and I will take your advice about PM tests. You have always had good advice for us and Phoebe Squeak & I appreciate your help! Happy Weekend!
 
Hi :)! I use the AlphaTrak 2 as well & if I see a # like that I ALWAYS feed like Sienne suggested & then keep an eye on the #s. I will also reduce insulin like you did if there is ever a concern because at the end of the day avoiding hypo & keeping him safe is more important to me than anything else.
 
Thank you, Jenn.
Perry, orange kitties don't look good in red! Come on down! Green is a great color for you!
He'll come back down. We skipped his shot last night because he was at 81 at +11. :woot:

By the way, your shoot-or-feed call today ... Perry's done this a few times, too. We waited to retest to see if he'd go up, and instead, he dropped because he was hungry and needed some noms. It's hard to know what to do when they aren't following the rules!
 
Hi :)! I use the AlphaTrak 2 as well & if I see a # like that I ALWAYS feed like Sienne suggested & then keep an eye on the #s. I will also reduce insulin like you did if there is ever a concern because at the end of the day avoiding hypo & keeping him safe is more important to me than anything else.
Thanks, Amy! I agree-- safety first. Thanks for the support. By the way, I don't know if I ever told you that I think Mr. t is SO HANDSOME!!!
 
He'll come back down. We skipped his shot last night because he was at 81 at +11. :woot:

By the way, your shoot-or-feed call today ... Perry's done this a few times, too. We waited to retest to see if he'd go up, and instead, he dropped because he was hungry and needed some noms. It's hard to know what to do when they aren't following the rules!
Yes, they keep it interesting for us, don't they?! The red is surely a reaction to the missed shot, but you kept him safe. Happy Weekend to you & Perry!
 
Thanks, Amy! I agree-- safety first. Thanks for the support. By the way, I don't know if I ever told you that I think Mr. t is SO HANDSOME!!!

Thank you! You too! We love Phoebe Squeak! My husband was asking if she "squeaks"/how she got her name! We have another Ragdoll who "Meeps" vs meows so we call him Meepers a lot vs his real name!:)
 
There's also the 18 hour cycle option. Where you would shoot 18 hours after the last shot, skip the regular PM dose and the resume normal schedule the next morning. That's usually for kitties that really do need insulin no matter what because of DKA.

Just another option I thought I'd share.
 
Thank you! You too! We love Phoebe Squeak! My husband was asking if she "squeaks"/how she got her name! We have another Ragdoll who "Meeps" vs meows so we call him Meepers a lot vs his real name!:)
Your husband is right -- she squeaks instead of meowing so my hubby wanted to name her Squeak, but I love the name Phoebe and marriage is compromise, so she is officially (even in her vet records) Phoebe Squeak.
Love Meepers!
I assume Meepers is a civvie. How do you handle feeding them different food? Especially if you use an auto feeder?
 
There's also the 18 hour cycle option. Where you would shoot 18 hours after the last shot, skip the regular PM dose and the resume normal schedule the next morning. That's usually for kitties that really do need insulin no matter what because of DKA.

Just another option I thought I'd share.
Wow, thank you! I've never heard of that. Good to know for the future!
 
In cases where you get two conflicting test numbers, best to do a third tie breaker. If you get too little blood, it’s possible the strip read low. I did have to do the third test a few times. Hard to do when kitty wants food NOW! If Neko was in the 40’s (human meter) at AMPS, always the morning!, she would be up 15 minutes later without food. 40’s AT, and on Lantus, would have been a different story.

Good luck with the new dose.
 
In cases where you get two conflicting test numbers, best to do a third tie breaker. If you get too little blood, it’s possible the strip read low. I did have to do the third test a few times. Hard to do when kitty wants food NOW! If Neko was in the 40’s (human meter) at AMPS, always the morning!, she would be up 15 minutes later without food. 40’s AT, and on Lantus, would have been a different story.

Good luck with the new dose.
Oh wow, I wouldn't have thought of doing a tie breaker! Thanks so much, Wendy. That's great advice!
 
Your husband is right -- she squeaks instead of meowing so my hubby wanted to name her Squeak, but I love the name Phoebe and marriage is compromise, so she is officially (even in her vet records) Phoebe Squeak.
Love Meepers!
I assume Meepers is a civvie. How do you handle feeding them different food? Especially if you use an auto feeder?

That's a great compromise & you guys ended up with such the perfect name for her :)!

Meeps is a civvie! We actually just feed them the same food since the lower fat & calories works for them both. The only difference is T eats pretty much 99% wet while Meeps has never eaten & still absolutely refuses to touch wet food! Neither strays from what they eat. I have food envy when I see how people on this board have cats that will eat various types/flavors of food! Meeps is literally disgusted by wet food & was even as a kitten. His breeder said she tried & tried & he refused to eat it. I will work on him next, but too busy with T to add that project in the mix right now. He has exams with bloodwork bi annually & all is normal with him (thank God & knock on wood).
 
Back
Top