8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - we're home

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Member Since 2010
Well, I couldn't bring myself to skip the shot completely. I kind of made up my mind at some point that if her PS was over 100, I'd shoot a reduced dose. So, I measured level on the first line ("0 line") and shot that tiny droplet. Usually I measure something like a fat (or extra fat) version of that for my idea of a .1 unit. I figure even if it she had shed action today, I'm hoping she'll be ok at the vet since she won't be going under sedation/anesthetic till around +7 or later. But tonight, not sure how much I'll be able to convince her to eat for her PM shot...

She only ate around 1 Tbsp for breakfast, which is fine. She also had a +9 snack of around 1 tsp or so FF. I've read that cats (and other carnivores) are supposed to have much faster metabolisms than us omnivores because you don't really want meat to stay in the system longer than necessary or ... well, maybe this isn't breakfast talk. Suffice it to say - it's not pretty. So, I'm guessing that kitties process food faster than we do, which may be part of why my vet told me to feed and shoot as usual.

I'm worried about my little girl going under anesthetic today. Send safe thoughts for her...

Yesterday
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - token dose

:YMHUG: Sending perfect dental procedure vines to Kasha today.
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - token dose

I've read that cats (and other carnivores) are supposed to have much faster metabolisms than us omnivores because you don't really want meat to stay in the system longer than necessary

That is true. Another reason why a raw meat diet is safe for cats but not for humans, the shorter digestive time and differences in enzymes and bactieria in the digestive system make cats (carnivores) resistant to many food-bourne infections.

Good luck with the toofus cleaning today! :-D
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - token dose

Sending Happy Dental Day thoughts to you both. We are going also....I hate Dental Days! But, it is important for them to have Happy Mouths! We wish you both well today...I will be thinking of you too across the miles! :mrgreen:
Sending vines for a successful procedure and happy gums and teeth in a few hours! :thumbup
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - token dose

Hi Krys,
Good luck today with Kasha at the Vet! I will be thinking of you and Kasha and sending positive vibes. She will be fine; I was nervous, too, but all the Beans on LL reassured me, too! Maggie sends hugs, and especially to Blue, too! Take care. Kasha's dental is in the afternoon, right!
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - token dose

I'll be thinking and praying for Kasha that her dental goes well.
Keep us updated.
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - token dose

good luck at the vet's today, I will be sending good dental thoughts your way!
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - token dose

I will be thinking good thoughts for you and your girl all day!
Keep us posted.
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - token dose

Hey Krys,
I was super nervous for Shadoe on her dental day; it was her first ever, and I am not very trusting of vets.
I made sure that I tested her at home before I left, then when we got to the vet office. I left her meter there and told them I wanted her numbers at the start and end of the procedure on HER meter, and to call me as soon as she could come home or that I could see her. I took food with me because, sure enough, she needed some. She did not go low till the pm, and dipped into green for the whole cycle and I skipped her am shot the next day. Keep an eye on her numbers when she gets home, just to be sure she is ok.
I found that Oliver was low too after his Xrays. I had taken food for him and he is the type that gets very LOW at the vet I think. He may find it traumatic and it affects his numbers.

I am sure the dental will go fine, but be sure to take your sunglasses so you are not blinded by those sparkling pearly whites in Kasha's mouth!
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - token dose

Well, I dropped her off - I'm at work feeling nervous and sick now... I hate leaving her there. As soon as I signed the release form, she started growling.

My vet tech, Amy, checked us in and went over everything that she and I had already spoken about. No Metacam - she'll get bupe and maybe oral bupe for pain afterward. I did bring some food for her, they have it there in case she needs it. She's having some blood work first and then I asked if they could do a chest x-ray while she's there just to kind of check her out, see if any signs of asthma (which I have been told may or may not show up on a chest x-ray) or anything funky. Amy said that they could do that when she's knocked out or whatever. Since Kasha is already on an A/B they aren't giving additional A/Bs.

Anyone know anything about "Oxyfresh"? It's something they give to put in water to prevent dental problems. My vet tech had mixed feelings about it but told me to check it out today and see if I want it.

Her BG was 72 when we left for the vet. I didn't take my meter - there would have been no real way to test her there - not for me, at least. She was a little growling, angry beast. I thought about asking them to test her, but I was afraid I'd just end up with a lost meter.
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - token dose

Good luck Kasha on your dental visit! I hope all goes well. I have not heard of Oxy-fresh, but we have started using Plaque-off, but too early yet to tell how effective it is.
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - token dose

Good vines for Kasha's dental. Gabby has one scheduled next week and I'll be a wreck.

I'd put a note in Health about the Oxyfresh.

Kasha may very well be hungry when she gets home. Most cats are. Some of the sedative drugs that are routinely use have the effect of an appetite stimulant. Remember, though, to feed in small amounts. The anesthesia slows gastric motility and if you give too much food, you end up with scarf-n-barf.

Also, remember to get a test as soon as you get home. Anesthesia can also lower BG numbers. You'll want to have a comparison between your in-the-door test and PMPS.

If she has any extractions, the usual treats may not be a great idea if they're chewy or chunky. Think about baby food as a treat.
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - token dose

I know how hard today is going to be on you Krys, as well as several others here....I can really sympathize with you. Spot gets two dentals a year now and it doesn't get easier. You just have to remember that this is what is best and all will be ok!

Sending good vettie bean vines, good dental vines and be safe vines to your baby girl. She will be ok, I just know it!!

Hay, Kasha....your first dental visit, is this? Oh, I am a pro at this...you will be alright, girlfriend! I had three toofies pulled last month...I'm tellin' ya, even tho it hurt like *&%# those nasty toofies hurt worse! Just so you know, you may not be able to do anything for a day or two. I was pretty wasted when I got home and layed around a lot..and the vettiebean gave my bean some pretty good drugs to give me, so that was pretty nice...not to much pain. But the bestest thing about dentals is that your nummers will go down and you will be getting all kinds of praise and treats for this ;-) Anyway, I'll have to keep my eyes on the puter to see how your are doing...Good Luck and be safe......Spot
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day updates

Ok - got 2 texts from Amy with updates on Kasha:

1st one (9:05 am): Kasha is relaxing (?) in her cage. Blood is drawn and she didn't fight. Noisy, but all "bark".

2nd (9:36 am): Bloodwork looks great. White blood cells NOT elevated, kidney values lower than last time and glucose 140. Yeah!!!
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - token dose

Hey Kasha, I'm thinking good thoughts for your dental today. I'm going to have one in a few weeks, so I want to know all about it. See you later, and don't be afraid. It will be fine and you'll have nice, clean teeth.

Stu
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - token dose

The vet tech I spoke with this morning gave me some C.E.T. Oral Hygiene Rinse and I am going to give that a try.
Shadow seems to need two dentals each year too. He had one years ago when we lived on the Cape and the vet told me to be SURE to give him LOTS of dry food to keep his teeth clean! He loved canned but I was sure to give him only 1/2 can AM and PM and leave out the dry Hills Science Diet for both of them all day long. :sad: Raja became a carb addict and they both ended up with FD. The dry food of course did not keep his teeth clean at all for 12 years!
I had gotten the Pro Dent awhile back but stopped using it when they both ended up with fur problems...I think that was from the beef in a certain brand of food though. I guess I will try using it again.
Does Kasha drink a lot of water? My two do not...not now anyway. So anything added to their water would do nothing for my two.

So, you and I will sit and wait now until we hear from our vets. I really hate dental days soooo much. But I know that Shadow's numbers will improve a lot once his teeth are cleaned. Hoping we all make it through the day okay....Hugs to you in the meantime.
Our kitties are sleeping now so they are fine. It's just the two of us sitting here waiting that is the problem! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - token dose

sending good vibes your way for Kasha' dental let us know how she dose :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - token dose

Sending easy dental vibes to Kasha & hope it goes well & Quick--Moonie has had 2 dentals & yes-the anesthesia does lower the BG's so when she gets home, I recommend you monitor a bit--Moonie experienced the nom nom effect where the anasthesia ate her bgs at home & that nite she dropped real low(see my ss date 11/18/09)--I'm sure Kasha will be JUST FINE--Please send update when you hear--Hugs from Us!
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - token dose

Well, Kasha won't be in for her dental till afternoon - she's just lounging around thinking hateful thoughts right now. She's also supposed to get an ugly sebaceous cyst removed from her head as well today. So - it's a busy day and my stomach is going to be in knots.

I will monitor her closely tonight. Is checking her hourly sufficient (unless she drops really low, of course)? She should be getting home just before she's due for food and shot.

Crazy day at work - the director of our organization called a surprise meeting for everyone - kind of stressful, cuz no one knew why he was doing it so we braced for bad news. Turns out, he went to a retirement seminar yesterday, something clicked and he filed his retirement papers effective tomorrow. So - he's outta here. And that's what the big news was... That just gave me some ideas - but it will be several more years before I can act on any of them!
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - token dose

Sending positive dental vibes for Kasha! Let us know how it goes, ok? Try not to stress too much....I know, it's hard not to though! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - token dose

Hi Krys,

Ollie had a dental a little over a month ago. He's doing great now despite needing 4 extractions (1 canine). My only word of advice is to completely trust your gut. You know your kitty better than any vet ever could. Ollie wasn't on the proper AB (they sent us home with Clyndimyicin (sp?) - the most bitter substance in the world, that was fun trying to get down him) when I picked him up and developed a raging infection with body temperatures above 104 F. He wouldn't eat or drink days after the procedure (and this was when he was on the kitty crack!) and went downhill from the moment I picked him up from the vet. My vet said this was par for the course in an older diabetic cat and not to worry. I did worry, made 2 trips to the ER vet, got sub-q fluids to admin at home, a new AB (Clavamox), began force feeding with a syringe, and finally, after one week of constant nursing and a single dose of appetite stimulant he began eating and drinking on his own. Two days later he was better than before (I think his teeth were really bothering him). The moral of the story is two-fold: 1. Kitties with bad teeth NEED dentals. Ollie HAD to have a dental and I'm so glad that we did, he felt so much better after he healed. 2. Trust your gut.

I'm SURE Kasha will come out with flying colors!! Especially with you by her side. And she will be happier than ever to have what's bothering her in her mouth taken care of. :mrgreen: Try not to worry, Ollie and I are sending good thoughts and healing vibes your way for a speedy recovery!! Go Kasha! Get those teeth clean!!

Best,
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

I asked for chest x-rays just because I wanted them to check her out. The vet just called - Kasha is under anesthesia and they are continuing the procedures... but they found a mass in her chest. Don't know if it's a tumor/cancer/what - but it's visible on 2 views... She doesn't think it's currently causing any real issues, but may be having an immune-suppression effect. I have to decide to have the films sent to a radiologist or take them myself and schedule an appt with the internal med vet in Akron (45 min drive).

I'm kind of devastated. Kind of in shock.

I have to go to a meeting now.
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

Oh ((((Krys)))) I don't know what else to say. Hang in there, we are all here for you.
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

oh Krys, I'm so sorry about this news. You've had so much to deal with lately I can't imagine how this is effecting you.
But at least the vet doesn't believe it's been effecting her, a little silver lining to this news.
I'll keep you both in my prayers.
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

Oh, Krys! So many people are right here with you sending support and love to both you and Kasha. ((((((Krys and Kasha)))))))
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

Ugh, sorry about the news, but I think it is lucky you found out now, when in for the dental and the other mass. If she was not there for other reasons, you would not have known and now you could be lucky to catch an issue before it becomes a problem!
I am sure you will make the right decision; which way would be the quickest?
I hope the other procedures all go well today.
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

I'm so sorry Krys... This is a terrible shock. I'll pray for benign results. Please take care of yourself. Sending lots hugs to you. (((((Krys))))))
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

(((Krys))) I am so sorry to hear this. I hope you can get her in to see the IM vet. They may want to do an ultrasound to get a better image. (((Kasha))).
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

Keep us updated with how she is I know this has to be such a shock praying and sending healing vines for her and (((((HUGS))))) for you
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

((((Krys)))) I am so sorry for this shocking news. I hope the specialist will find out that it is nothing. Sending prayers for Kasha and you.
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

(((Krys)))
One step at a time with this. X-rays may not tell the full or accurate story. A board certified radiologist is a good person to involve. If the x-rays are digital, they can be e-mailed to the radiologist. Hopefully, they can do a needle biopsy in order to tell you what you're dealing with but the first step is for someone who spends his or her time studying films to give an opinion.

Vines and snowflakes for the dental to be uneventful and for good news on all other fronts.
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

Oh my gosh! That is some shocking news...so glad you're going to involve a radiologist to read the films. That sounds like a smart move. Praying for you both!
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

I'm so sorry to hear this, but I agree with Sienne (she always has a level head!) x rays are not telling the full story right now so wait and see what the radiologist says.
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

I'm so sorry Krys.
Hope you get answers soon, hang in there ((((hugs)))
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

((((Krys & Kasha)))) I'm so sorry to hear that you got such bad news. I don't know what else to say.
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

I called - they said she's really groggy and out of it - they told me to plan on picking her up around 7... I said that she'd be missing her shot and they checked with her vet - she doesn't want her to have any insulin right now - suggested giving a 1/2 dose later on ... Well, not only would that mess up her schedule, but what's 1/2 of zero anyway? So... I'm thinking I'm skipping her evening shot...
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

Dear Krys, We are thinking good thoughts and sending prayers that whatever it is is not serious. Give your girl a hug for us when you get her home. (((((Krys & Kasha)))))

Ella & Stu

p.s. just read your most recent post that crossed with mine. Thank goodness she's finished with the procedure. I agree that you should skip the shot. Why add more stress? Much love to you and your sweet kitty.
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

Krys,

Thinking of you guys :YMHUG: That is definitely shocking news. Keep your head up, miracles happens. This could very well be benign or nothing at all. I would definitely get a second opinion. Praying for you both. Keep us posted.


Nicole
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

((((((KRYS))))))) Sorry about the news you got today, but there are many other variables involved here--True, you do need to see a radiologist, specialist, and have all the proper tests...We all are here behind you, and sending our green Healing vines to dear Kasha--HUGS tonite to all of you.
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

kryskat said:
I called - they said she's really groggy and out of it - they told me to plan on picking her up around 7... I said that she'd be missing her shot and they checked with her vet - she doesn't want her to have any insulin right now - suggested giving a 1/2 dose later on ... Well, not only would that mess up her schedule, but what's 1/2 of zero anyway? So... I'm thinking I'm skipping her evening shot...

Sounds about right to me. I wouldn't give a shot tonight either. It is a such tiny dose to begin with (0.1u) and she's had a long day without food. (((Kasha and Krys)))
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

(((Krys & Kasha))) Oh Krys, I'm wrapping you up in positive thoughts right now. I hope you can see the specialist soon and get some good answers. I'm glad the dental went well...and I bet you can't wait to pick her up! She'll be so happy to be home.
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

Checking in with big hugs and healing vines. For what it's worth, we found a mass in Purrcie's chest four years ago when x-raying him for asthma. Had him x-rayed about three months ago and it's still there and hasn't changed. It hasn't affected him (yet paws crossed anti jinx) so maybe Kasha's is the same.

So glad to hear she is out of the dental and will be home soon.
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

((((Krys)))) I agree with the others, take one step at a time. The radiologist sounds like a good idea, and then go from there. Myla's post is very encouraging too.
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

Oh Krys....I am so sorry to read this......but how good it was that you wanted this xray today while she was out...now you can find out what is going on by going to a specialist. You are such a good Mama...Kasha is so lucky to have you.
Now, hopefully tonight she will rest up after her big day....good that you won't be bothering with the shot tonight!
I agree with Sienne...

One step at a time! You will need to find out more about this....try not to worry now....
Sending healing vines to Kasha....and hugs too! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

I am sorry to rad this - what a shock. Mannie and I send many positive thoughts. I agree - refer to a specialist, try not to worry til then.
 
Re: 8/3 Kasha AMPS 105 Dental Day - some bad news

Just checking in to see if you are home yet. {{{Krys}}} {{{Kasha}}}
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top