8/29 ELIAN - amps 92; 61 +8.25; 64 pmps; 66 +3

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/29 ELIAN - amps 92

If you want to take a step before the trial - you could start by giving one drop (yes one drop of insulin). you will need to practice what that is like - essentially it's putting it on the 0 line and pushing hard so one drop squeezes out. Of course, you can skip this and start a trial instead if you want.

Decision is yours. And you can start this next amps or pmps time......

And when on trial instead of writing amps or pmps - you write ambg or pmbg - since there is no shot being given....... nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

hmmmm decisions, decisions....... nailbite_smile

guess as decisions go, not a bad one to have to decide upon.....
:-D :-D :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 8/29 ELIAN - amps 92

Thanks so much Hillary - such mixed emotions about all of this! I would hate to see us fail but I understand its a real possibility. I keep hoping his amps and pmps while on this dose were just a bit lower even though these are acceptable. I'm just worried he'll shoot up again without that little bit. I'll see if I can manage the one drop first. Thanks so much for your support and help - I really appreciate it!
 
Re: 8/29 ELIAN - amps 92

How many drops are in .1u?
 
Re: 8/29 ELIAN - amps 92

Susie and Elian said:
I would hate to see us fail but I understand its a real possibility.

Don't worry - just like "failed" dose reductions there's always next time . . . if it doesn't work the first time, it doesn't mean it will never work. Just keep doing whatever he needs. Elian is already doing great and all those greens are pretty much reason for a party, even ON the juice, compared to his earlier numbers!
 
Re: 8/29 ELIAN - amps 92; 63 +3

Thanks Amy - I know it's crazy to worry. Worst that can happen he goes back on a low dose. Gonna think positive. I love his SS the past month or so!
 
Re: 8/29 ELIAN - amps 92; 63 +3

Elian is lookin' just great! Keep it going, Elian! Don't be nervous Susie. If it doesn't work, it only means that Elian gets to stay on insulin support for a little while longer and then try again. His numbers on the very low dose are excellent.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/29 ELIAN - amps 92; 63 +3

Susie look at where he was and where he is now! What are you worried about? You're hardly giving E any insulin at all as it is. Ya knowwww, he wouldn't be a 'failure' if he did have to go back on insulin again and either would YOU! Diabetes is a medical situation... it's not like a marriage. No one 'fails'.

You are both ALREADY winners ..can you wrap your head around that? :razz: :razz: :razz:

xoxo
 
Re: 8/29 ELIAN - amps 92; 63 +3

Elian is looking GREAT!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Caryl is right, you should give yourself a big pat on the back.

You are worrying about Elian, but you are following a protocol which has seen a lot of kitties go OTJ. At this stage of the journey, unless Elian drops below 50, the protocol suggests caregivers give insulin for a week (14 cycles) at the .1U dose before reducing further (to zero, some people go to a drop). From the protocol sticky, bolding is mine:
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
.
For an example of a recently OTJ kitty that followed this part of the protocol, take a look at Linda's Lucky's SS. Elian's SS too is showing a whole lot of normal BG numbers lately! :-D
 
Re: 8/29 ELIAN - amps 92; 63 +3

Thanks Caryl and Wendy - I'm just worried about him doing so well now with no fluctuations - would hate for him to go off and then have his bg numbers jump again. I know he's on very little insulin now but it might be all he needs. Who knows - a few more cycles and we'll give it a try with all fingers and paws crossed! I'm going to practice to if I can manage to get one drop in case it's necessary. Please don't get me wrong - I'm totally thrilled for him - I'm hoping he can get OTJ and stay off.
 
Re: 8/29 ELIAN - amps 92; 63 +3; 61 +8.25

There is no rush to try a trial, if you are more comfortable continuing with .1 for a few more days - do it! No hard and fast and rules that says you must go on trial.

PS - Maui failed her first trial cause she got into dry food and needed insulin for a few days and then we did it again and she is still OTJ.

This is why it's called a trial. To see if he really is ready to go off insulin completely.

Think about it over the weekend, continue with the .1 and then next week decide what you want to do.
 
Re: 8/29 ELIAN - amps 92; 63 +3

Susie and Elian said:
Thanks Caryl and Wendy - I'm just worried about him doing so well now with no fluctuations - would hate for him to go off and then have his bg numbers jump again. I know he's on very little insulin now but it might be all he needs. Who knows - a few more cycles and we'll give it a try with all fingers and paws crossed! I'm going to practice to if I can manage to get one drop in case it's necessary. Please don't get me wrong - I'm totally thrilled for him - I'm hoping he can get OTJ and stay off.

I hope so too, Susie. Everyone hopes so when they go OTJ. It's a big deal. Alex never got the opportunity. But it's not the end of the world if he ever has to go back on now that you know how to take care of him. Unfortunately, E will always be a diabetic...even if he goes OTJ, which it appears that he will. There's always a chance of him needing to go back on for a few days, a month, a year or forever. Or maybe never. The thing is...he is doing great NOW. You can't keep him on insulin for fear that he may need it if you take him off (of one drop twice a day)? You gotta continue to be brave. That's how you got him to this point, isn't it?
 
Re: 8/29 ELIAN - amps 92; 63 +3; 61 +8.25

Sending lots of support vines to Susie. Elian is doing fantastic right now. If this was as good as it gets, it's still fantastic. Think back and remember how sluggish he was and how he had lost his spark. Look at him now and he is screaming at you with every action, every day, how much better he is doing. It's all because of you Susie. Don't forget that you have been a wonderful caregiver for Elian and the close bond this awful disease has made between you and Elian. We wish that close bond could have developed another way, but it's one of the rewards of treating this diabetes and helping our extra sweet kitties not be so sweet anymore.

Let us know what you decide on as your next step. We will support you no matter what you decide to do. You know that by now.

p.s. Wink flunked his first OTJ trial too. He got another UTI/diarrhea bout and his numbers spiked a little. Even then, he only went back on 0.1U. Wink has been OTJ for 5 months now. Mommabean Deb wishes she could sleep in, but that kitty alarm clock still starts up at 5-5:30 AM. The no more shots and only once a week pokies are great though. Wink misses his treats, and would like them more often. That's about the only downside to this remission in his opinion. ;-) :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: ;-)
 
Re: 8/29 ELIAN - amps 92; 63 +3; 61 +8.25

Thank you so much Caryl and Deb - your support, encouragement and kind words (along with a few kicks in the butt!) mean so much to me - I can't even tell you. Nobody else understands what we go thru! In fact my friends just left - they have a sugar kitty (along with another kitty and until recently, 3 dogs). They had Cuddles on insulin but never home tested. They are highly intelligent people but they took him off of insulin when they felt he was too difficult to shoot (I pet sit for them and NEVER had a problem giving him his shot - and that was before E was diagnosed. Anyway, she constantly tells me that he's in remission and that she has him on a high protein dry food and he's fine. She rolls her eyes at me when I talk about E or TRP or leave the room to test or hurry home for a shot. They never told me about shots needing to be 12 hours apart when I cared for Cuddles - just twice a day. Now when I think back, and knowing what I know now, I could've killed him. I shudder at the thought. Thanks for being here for us and guiding us on our journey.
 
Re: 8/29 ELIAN - amps 92; 61 +8.25; 64 pmps

Thanks Hillary - it helps to hear what others have been thru!

I just played around with a syringe and realized that what I was giving has turned out to be either one drop or nothing! It's deceiving but I put it at the mark I've been using as .1 and of the 10 times I tried 7 were one drop and the other 3 ended up having absolutely nothing. Oy! But on the positive side it means Elian is doing even better than I thought!!!! He's on cycle 10 I believe so by Sunday, if I can focus on him with my busy work schedule, I will start his trial. Or Tuesday at the latest. Wish us luck!!!!!
 
Re: 8/29 ELIAN - amps 92; 61 +8.25; 64 pmps

Yes! My crystal ball is working for Elian!

Elian was on my short list, and Sunday was the day!

Let's see if others agree.
 

Attachments

  • crystal ball smiley.jpg
    crystal ball smiley.jpg
    1.3 KB · Views: 236
You are too funny, Deb!!! Looks like Sunday could definitely be the day. It's gonna be so weird after 243 days of the same routine to all of a sudden change it up. But he'll be an even happier camper without me poking him all day and night although he's into such a routine I don't know if it'll be weirder for him or me!
 
Oddly enough, both he and you will miss the routine. Bob and I did. But you, and he, will "get over it". :lol:
One thing for sure, whatever type of bond you've had with him, it's only going to get stronger from here on out.

I love watching this happen! It never gets old :-D
 
Thanks Carl! He and I have always had a special bond - even when I had five (we've lost 2 in the past 2 years) he was my special guy. He was always my hider and never played. But he always came out for me - not my kids or my ex. And he has always slept with me. After my divorce I would snuggle with him and my daughters would tell me that I need a boyfriend and I would joke and tell them Elian - or E-man as we sometimes call him- is all the man I need. So they started calling him daddy and tell me my husband is waiting for me or my husband is hungry, etc. Silly but true and I absolutely adore him. So yes, this whole diabetes thing has only made us even that much more connected. And his amazing cooperation for every poke and stick still just blows me away - and it came about without being bribed with treats! He'll walk over, meow, lay down and let me know its time. Amazing!!!
 
Susie --

I agree with you and Wendy. Stick with what you're doing for a full 14 cycles. The protocol has research to support it and, IMHO, gives a kitty the best chance for a successful remission. You're giving Elian's pancreas the support it needs.
 
Thanks Sienne - gonna stick with the protocol and give it two more days. But as I posted earlier - I honestly don't even know how much, if any insulin, he's been getting after playing around with the syringe to see what one drop is like - what I've been drawing up as .1 has been one drop or nothing at all. Oops! But he continues to stay in good numbers so hopefully he'll continue!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top