8/29 Bj AmPs(173), +6 (99), PmPs(222), +2(205),+3(231)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/29 Bj AmPs(173)

I got 8 hours! I still can't believe it. And I think Bj probably hit high green last night after +3.
 
Re: 8/29 Bj AmPs(173)

Hi Mike, Hmm, this should be interesting! Glad you got some sleep and hope your bite is healing OK. Maybe Bj got into green last night, maybe not, if you didn't see it you cant worry about it. If knowledge is power and ignorance is bliss, when you can't have both would you prefer to be strong or happy? :lol:
 
Re: 8/29 Bj AmPs(173)

I'm like a cat, Leslie. I prefer to be napping :smile:

Hi, Dian. Well, we got a green number +5 (99)
Still microdosing. Giving us both a break on testing. Unless there are any suggestions otherwise, I'll just test again at PMPS. Maybe I should be testing more, I dunno. If I'm slacking off please let me know. I won't lie, I wouldn't mind a slack couple of days. My girlfriend is away til Friday so I can get some guilt-free rest/sleep and maybe read or something. I'll check back here in a couple hours.
 
Re: 8/29 Bj AmPs(173), +6 (99)

til friday huh??? :roll:
think you are doing fine. as long as you are getting the nadir we will know how the .1 is working. at least am.pm, nadir and before bed
you can, if you want to play a game, test,shoot feed. get a +1 and see if mr.P has kicked in a little and a +2 to see if things are working mp, that is. maybe tomorrow. sometime. let him get used to these numbers. he is doing quite well so far.
as you are my friend. JWD.
I am off to bed
 
Re: 8/29 Bj AmPs(173), +6 (99)

I understand you are weary from several intense days. It may be helpful to get a +2 when you can, that gives early clues how the cycle will go while you see how this dose works out for Bj.
 
Re: 8/29 Bj AmPs(173), +6 (99)

Alrighty.

PmPs (222)

Pretty disappointing. I'm not entirely certain but there is some chance that he got into our other cat's HC/MC food the last two days. We feed our other cat, Pyewacket, in a separate area but my girlfriend hasn't been here to keep him out of it. (I'm still working on getting her to stop feeding that.) Anyway, I have that situation under control.
 
Re: 8/29 Bj AmPs(173), +6 (99), PmPs(222)

Hi Mike

Yup, good idea to cut out that HC/MC! (You could always just do it now while your DGF is away :mrgreen:) Sorry about that yellow PMPS. As I recall, I mentioned the quick succession of reductions BJ has gone through and the shed needing to catch up. I still feel that's a valid point, but even so - if BJ still shows you mostly blues with a few yellows thrown in after another day or so, you may need to consider going back to 0.25u after all, and giving BJ a bit longer on that dose (barring obvious incidents), until you try the 0.1u again.

But let's wait and see a little - he may surprise us yet!
Jane
 
Re: 8/29 Bj AmPs(173), +6 (99), PmPs(222)

Okay... He was doing so good, Jane :sad:
What do you think of things overall?
 
Re: 8/29 Bj AmPs(173), +6 (99), PmPs(222)

Just back from reviewing BJ's SS and some of your past condos. Here's what I think overall:

BJ is an unusual cat in that he learned to *stop* bouncing more quickly than many other kitties do. His DX was mid-July, his SS begins in late July, and now it's late August, and you're already seeing almost only blues and greens and are down to a micro-dose! So the first thing I think, overall, is that you can go ahead and repeat exactly the to yourself ad infinitum:

"I have a cat who learned to stop bouncing in weeks, who then settled into healthy BG ranges despite being on a tiny dose, and who has every chance at going into remission."


I *know* it's discouraging to see a yellow after such a lovely run of low blues and lots of greens. But what you have every reason to focus on, rather than zeroing in on this little blip in BJ's otherwise undeterred progress, is how well you and BJ are *already* doing, after such a short time. Going back to 0.25u may feel like a terrible set-back, but it isn't one. It's simply a logical choice that, *if* it ceomes clear that is must be made, would be made to give BJ an even *better* chance at holding this penultimate insulin dose of 0.1u. I'm emphasizing that it's the penultimate dose because you, as do we all, know what comes after that, ideally.

Some cats are very, very lucky, and need only an incredibly short time on insulin before they get to pack their bags and move to the Falls. Some cats even do it twice, like Karre - and remember, I still freak out about any not-green number, even though I *know* he's now 16, not 12, and I *know* it's normal for him to be slightly higher with his average BG, and I *know* how damn lucky we are to even have him go OTJ that first time, let alone the second time. I think BJ is one of those very, very lucky kitties. What he's doing now is showing, via BGs, that he didn't feel quite right about skipping through those reduction so quickly. This is *normal*. He *may* still rally and go back to the beautiful low blues and mostly greens if he's given another day or so. Or he may show clearly that he wants to try the 0.25u again, just to have a chance to settle into that properly beofre trying the 0.1u again.

Keep in mind that we have every reason to believe that what we are all working towards, with BJ, is *more* than regulation - it's remission! - and that we all have good reason, although of course there are never any guarantees no matter how promising things look, to take that as a realistic and achievable goal. Many beans don't get to say this about their cats. You and BJ are very lucky indeed :mrgreen: So, patience pants, and repeating that mantra or whichever one works for you, and we'll re-assess where to go next after another cycle or two, IMHO.

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/29 Bj AmPs(173), +6 (99), PmPs(222)

Thanks for the lowdown. I really didn't expect to see a whole day of greens out of the blue like that. Looking at his chart before this week looks insane. I guess I just wanted to get an idea of where we're at. I was not at all prepared for where we are now and it came suddenly - before I could even ask "what happens next"?

I appreciate the feedback, J.
 
Re: 8/29 Bj AmPs(173), +6 (99), PmPs(222), +2(205)

Yeesh, 231bg. If he ate bad kitty food earlier it wouldn't last this long would it?

Hitting the sack, have a good night.
+3 (231)
 
Mike,
Kibble can stay in their systems as long as 3 days but I doubt Bj's will last that long. You're both SO LUCKY!!! We're one of those that Jane talked about above:

Keep in mind that we have every reason to believe that what we are all working towards, with BJ, is *more* than regulation - it's remission! - and that we all have good reason, although of course there are never any guarantees no matter how promising things look, to take that as a realistic and achievable goal. Many beans don't get to say this about their cats. You and BJ are very lucky indeed

I doubt we'll ever achieve 'remission' altho' that doesn't stop me from trying every day!

Hope you get some decent sleep....
 
nite dear!!!

I agree with what jane said 100%. she does have a way of summing it all up.
I will just add to that equation that MAYBE/IF he had some MC<HC that would screw things up a bit. hide that stuff for sure. in some cats, it does not take much more than a few bites of illegal food to throw them out of remission and some never make it back

wheezer went OTJ but a tooth infection threw him out. treated but slowly by vet, sigh and he toyed with remission again but it never happened. even with me dosing TID with levemir. he is very carb sensitive too. I can get a 30 and feed 1TBS food and go to bed knowing he will be in the high 100's if not 200's when I wake.Lots of test in the past to confirm this and he tells me when he is low. comes up in my face and meow meow meow til I listen
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top