Re: 8/29 Bj AmPs(173), +6 (99), PmPs(222)
Just back from reviewing BJ's SS and some of your past condos. Here's what I think overall:
BJ is an unusual cat in that he learned to *stop* bouncing more quickly than many other kitties do. His DX was mid-July, his SS begins in late July, and now it's late August, and you're already seeing almost only blues and greens and are down to a micro-dose! So the first thing I think, overall, is that you can go ahead and repeat exactly the to yourself ad infinitum:
"I have a cat who learned to stop bouncing in weeks, who then settled into healthy BG ranges despite being on a tiny dose, and who has every chance at going into remission."
I *know* it's discouraging to see a yellow after such a lovely run of low blues and lots of greens. But what you have every reason to focus on, rather than zeroing in on this little blip in BJ's otherwise undeterred progress, is how well you and BJ are *already* doing, after such a short time. Going back to 0.25u may feel like a terrible set-back, but it isn't one. It's simply a logical choice that, *if* it ceomes clear that is must be made, would be made to give BJ an even *better* chance at holding this penultimate insulin dose of 0.1u. I'm emphasizing that it's the penultimate dose because you, as do we all, know what comes after that, ideally.
Some cats are very, very lucky, and need only an incredibly short time on insulin before they get to pack their bags and move to the Falls. Some cats even do it twice, like Karre - and remember, I still freak out about any not-green number, even though I *know* he's now 16, not 12, and I *know* it's normal for him to be slightly higher with his average BG, and I *know* how damn lucky we are to even have him go OTJ that first time, let alone the second time. I think BJ is one of those very, very lucky kitties. What he's doing now is showing, via BGs, that he didn't feel quite right about skipping through those reduction so quickly. This is *normal*. He *may* still rally and go back to the beautiful low blues and mostly greens if he's given another day or so. Or he may show clearly that he wants to try the 0.25u again, just to have a chance to settle into that properly beofre trying the 0.1u again.
Keep in mind that we have every reason to believe that what we are all working towards, with BJ, is *more* than regulation - it's remission! - and that we all have good reason, although of course there are never any guarantees no matter how promising things look, to take that as a realistic and achievable goal. Many beans don't get to say this about their cats. You and BJ are very lucky indeed :mrgreen: So, patience pants, and repeating that mantra or whichever one works for you, and we'll re-assess where to go next after another cycle or two, IMHO.
Hugs
Jane