8/28 Harley PMPS 352

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley and Pattie

Member Since 2010
Don't know what is going on with Harley. New dose 7.0. All he has done the last couple days is cry for more food. Today he had breakfast, and kept crying for more. I did not feed him anymore until now and his bg is even higher that this AM

AMPS 338
+4 388

Makes no sense to me and I don't know what to do. Oh, and I gave into the crying and gave him 1/2 can FF ocean fish (0 carbs). I cannot keep feeding him every time he cries, he will gain weight and need even more insulin.

Pattie


viewtopic.php?f=9&t=23442
 
Re: 8/28 Harley AMPS 338 New dose, bg climbing

remember that when you increase the dose, for the first few cycles some of the insulin has to go toward increasing the shed. That's part of the reason we have what we call "New Dose Wonkiness," where the numbers often get higher the second day of a dose increase. It's annoying, but normal.

Forgive me for not remembering, but did we talk about spreading Harley's food around in the cycle? You could feed a little less at PS, then feed the rest an hour or two later. Experiment with timing to see what works. If he's hungry enough to be crying, he probably does need more food but it might not mean MORE food, just timing it differently so get gets snacks. How much are you feeding?
 
Re: 8/28 Harley AMPS 338 New dose, bg climbing

Harley weighs (last time he was in) slightly over 12#. The vet would like him to weigh only 10# and has suggested 2 cans FF and 1 snack of about 30 calories. I have not been able to acheive that at all.

Right now, I think he is getting 1/2- 3/4 can AM, the rest when I leave for work at +2. I come home about noon - snack of 1/4 can FF or 1/2 oz cooked chicken. 4:00-4:30 same as noon snack. 1/2- 3/4 can PM, 1/4 can at +3, cooked chicken 1 oz at +7 and same at +10.

Pattie
 
Re: 8/28 Harley AMPS 338 New dose, bg climbing

Libby's right -- don't rule out new dose wonkiness (NDW).

Before restricting Harley's food, how much were you feeding him? If you've eliminated a fair amount of food over a short period, it's probably why he's so hungry. Check out the section on obesity on the feline nutrition[/b] site. Dr. Pierson provides instructions on how to gradually reduce caloric intake.
 
Re: 8/28 Harley AMPS 338 New dose, bg climbing

Do you add a little warm water to his food too Pattie?
Shadow could not get his fill at the beginning...but,, his appetite normalized later.
I know it is upsetting to hear him cry8ing, but you said that when you give him more food, he stops. I have noticed that Raja has slimmed down since she went OTJ which adds to my feelings that they do return to a more normal appetite eventually. I wonder whether he would too....
I add warm water and top if off with freeze-dried chicken, 0% carbs. Maybe splitting his meal as Libby suggests would help too.
But he is obviously hungry....is loosing weight right now as important as nourishing his body? He might not gain much weight nowadays if you feed him enough...it is worth a try to feed him now and see if he gains all that much. then, when his numbers are better, maybe you could shave some calories then....just thinking out loud here....I hate to think of him crying like that and upsetting you too....
 
Re: 8/28 Harley AMPS 338 New dose, bg climbing

when alex was first diagnosed she ate around 12oz (4 - 3oz cans) of lc wet food a day and would have eaten more had i let her. her numbers were lower than harley's. initially, she did gain weight. however, once her numbers were consistently lower, i gradually decreased the amount of food she was getting. over time, she did lose the extra weight. i understand your vet doesn't want harley to gain weight, but until his numbers are consistently lower, harley will not utilize his food properly. he's hungry.

just wanted to share our experience...


edited to add: currently, alex consumes approximately 4 - 6 ounces per day and has maintained her weight. this amount is slightly higher than when she was OTJ. when OTJ, she consumed about 4 - 5 ounces per day.
 
I guess not a bad day. Harley stayed pink all day but coming down. Got him EVO food to eat (0-1 carb). he really ate it up but still crying.

AMPS 338
+4 388
+6.5 394
+10 389
PMPS 352

Have a good night

Pattie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top