8/28 - Fitzel - PMPS-244/+3.5-65/+4.5-36/+5-51

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yesterday's condo to come

To recap:
8/26 AMBG-116 (no shot)
+9.5-234
PMPS-239 (1 drop)

8/27-AMBG-113
+8-212
PMPS-216 (1 drop)
+3-89

8/28-AMPS-239 (.25u)

The Pirate ate this morning. We had a heart to heart last night and it was either eat or the vet.

I've increased Fitzels insulin this morning back to .25u. We'll see what happens. I'll be picking up ketone strips today and begin testing. Are there any suggested guidelines with this? Like whether it should be done so many hours after eating or before or after insulin?

Thank you to everyone who stopped by and helped last night -you are all amazing and I am grateful.

Shai
 
Re: 8/28 - Fitzel - AMPS-239

Hey Shai

I owe you an email :-D When we tested for ketones, since Karre is an outside cat (like all our cats), we would just stalk him any time of day or night hoping to get a test in. I think *getting* the tests is the first priority. As far as I know, you need not be too concerned about the time relation between mels and ketone urine tests (though there may be info I simply do not have).

You're doing great overall with your pirate!
Arrrr!!!

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 8/28 - Fitzel - AMPS-239/+3-92

Hi Jane - no worries about return email. You saw how fast I get to my mail. :lol:

Thank you for the info on testing for ketones. Keep fingers crossed that the test stick and the Pirate have a successful rendezvous. nailbite_smile
Shai
 
Re: 8/28 - Fitzel - AMPS-239/+3-92

I agree with what Jane says regarding ketone tests. Neko has a large bladder, and generally pees but once a day. You just test when you can. Good luck with the stalking! If you are lucky, Fitzel has some sort of schedule for her LB use.
 
Re: 8/28 - Fitzel - AMPS-239/+3-92

Shai, Glad Fitzel decided to eat this morning instead of going to the vet, good girl! :-D Its unfortunate your vet is not supportive of home testing, wonder what it would take for him to see the value. Good luck with LB reconnaissance and sample acquisition, hope the test strip shows no ketones. Have a great evening!
 
Re: 8/28 - Fitzel - AMPS-239/+3-92

Hi Shai,

Good luck with the new dose. I hope it works out this time. As far as I know there are no guidelines about eating with the ketone test.

Melanie &j Racci
 
Re: 8/28 - Fitzel - AMPS-239/+3-92

since you increased Fitzel's dose, please be very vigilant with testing. Remember that we base Lantus dosing on the nadir, and you don't know what her nadir was on 0.1u. You know it was lower than 89 since that is where she was at +3 last night, and that was probably not her nadir.

To bring her numbers down, a better approach might be to stay with the 0.1u and go back to shooting twice a day. She is not getting enough duration from once daily shots. Giving a higher dose *might* extend the duration a little bit, but it is also going to drop her lower.

You're going to need some mid-cycle tests, especially on an increased dose.
 
Re: 8/28 - Fitzel - AMPS-239/+3-92/+7-99/PMPS-244

The Pirate's languishing in the not so mellow yellows at night and in the morning these days.

@Wendy - I hope Fitzel's bladder is a bit smaller than Neko's. I'd hate to pin an entire 24 cycle on that kind of luck. ;-)

@Leslie - It's amazing when they prove they really DO understand every word we say, isn't it? The Pirate HATES going to the vet. Being at the vet isn't fun, but she can't stand the carrier. Even the nice soft one with fleece padding. I've tried to talk to this vet about home testing and the value I believe it has. But someone here pinned it right when they said he's got white coat syndrome. I don't want to make him too upset because he's one of the few vets who will spay/neuter ferrals for me at a moment's notice.

@Melanie - I sure hope the extra juice helps smooth her out. She was floundering with the 1 drop. And her numbers just kept a steady climb. I don't know if this is the right thing to do for her, but I felt I had to do something. The ketone - peeing expedition might be a bit more of an adventure than I'd originally thought. We use covered LB. Not the best for getting the strip in the stream. Might have to get a new LB w/o a cover.

@Libby and Lucy - I hear you regarding the increase in testing needed. Especially mid-cycle. Like I mentioned to Melanie, I have no idea if increasing her insulin was/is the right thing to do. Maybe I should have used what you suggested and just shot at .1u twice a day. Fitz has had three shots at the new dose. I've gotten +3's morning and night and a +7 this afternoon. I'm going to try and get some numbers tonight as well. I'm not sure where Fitzel's nadir is. Sometimes it's been at +3 or +4 and other days not until almost +7. Now that I've started her on this new dose, I'm thinking I'm locked into it (unless she throws some hideous numbers one way or the other) for a week. I do feel like I'm throwing darts at a constantly moving bullseye. Not the best feeling in the world, that's for sure.

shai
 
Re: 8/28 - Fitzel - PMPS-244/+3.5-65/+4.5-36

If giving up was an option - I'd sign up at this point. ohmygod_smile

Staying at the lowest dosage wasn't a good idea.

Increasing dose doesn't look exactly promising.

At this point I'm too tired to even think straight and Fitz is in misery here.

I've given her a bit of HC food - with gravy. She's eating, so her appy is good. But I can see that look in her eyes and I just know.

Too bad it's the only thing I do seem to know.

I'm just venting - I think I've gotten all the good advice everyone has to offer. I can't seem to make the puzzle pieces fit - even if I have them all in front of me.

Well, nothing to do but stay up and test. ~O) ~O) ~O)

Wait and see.

Shai
 
Hi Shai

Wow, a visit to the 30s! You're doing fine, good job in giving HC, and I'm glad Miss Pirate Grrrl is eating it. Re-test 30 minutes after last test, please.

To recap what Libby suggested: I'm looking at the SS too, and agree with Libby completely. Fitzel is not getting the duration needed to keep her out of those yellows and high blues.

The dip into the 30s requires you to reduce the dose back to 0.1u.

Try shooting twice daily again (though from your SS it seems you *have* been shooting 12-hourly on the 0.25u? Explains the dip into the 30s: Not just an increase in dose, but an increase in shot frequency. Double whammy :mrgreen:), with the 0.1u, and see if it takes better this time.

Are you ok with that plan?

Hugs
Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top