8/28, Binie AMPS 500, +3 387

Heike & BInie

Very Active Member
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-27-binie-amps-499-3-360-increase.293507/#post-3202789

Good afternoon,

today we started with the increase to 1.5 IU. I hope it is just ndw but Binie was high all day. :(

I think the last days I wrote, that her wound seems to be finally better. Today I saw this:
upload_2024-8-28_16-58-14.jpeg


There may be more under her arm and on her breast. I don't know what is happening. I sent the picture to the vet and she offered me, to rinse it and to put local antibiotics inside. It feels we did that a hundred times since last year october. As Binie is taking antibiotics now anyway, I decided to wait till the end of the week if it gets better or not. I just can't imagine to put her in her box again and to drive to the vet. She is not doing well and still hiding from time to time and I feel it is enough for her already. I start to feel really hopeless. I devoted the biggest part of my time, energy, love and money to Binies recovery this year. But it seems we can not overcome what is going on in her body. There is always one step in the right direction and three steps back.

Anyway I keep on doing my best and to stick to my protocols and treatment plans. What else can I do.

I hope everyone is having a happy day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-8-28_16-58-14.jpeg
    upload_2024-8-28_16-58-14.jpeg
    49.1 KB · Views: 100
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-27-binie-amps-499-3-360-increase.293507/#post-3202789

Good afternoon,

today we started with the increase to 1.5 IU. I hope it is just ndw but Binie was high all day. :(

I think the last days I wrote, that her wound seems to be finally better. Today I saw this:
View attachment 70871

There may be more under her arm and on her breast. I don't know what is happening. I sent the picture to the vet and she offered me, to rinse it and to put local antibiotics inside. It feels we did that a hundred times since last year october. As Binie is taking antibiotics now anyway, I decided to wait till the end of the week if it gets better or not. I just can't imagine to put her in her box again and to drive to the vet. She is not doing well and still hiding from time to time and I feel it is enough for her already. I start to feel really hopeless. I devoted the biggest part of my time, energy, love and money to Binies recovery this year. But it seems we can not overcome what is going on in her body. There is always one step in the right direction and three steps back.

Anyway I keep on doing my best and to stick to my protocols and treatment plans. What else can I do.

I hope everyone is having a happy day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Oh no Heike :(
I’m so sorry to see this wound. It is new I think, correct??
Have you found any more??
Is she licking it like the previous wound?
I’m so sorry you are going through this and the vet doesn’t seem too helpful.
I know you’re doing everything possible to help Binie.

Did you ever speak with the online vet for another opinion?
I wonder if anyone else has a I ideas of what is going on. I wish I had more advice to give you :(
Any thoughts ladies?
@Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie @Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Sending you love and support, Heike :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh no Heike :(
I’m so sorry to see this wound. It is new I think, correct??
Have you found any more??
Is she licking it like the previous wound?
I’m so sorry you are going through this and the vet doesn’t seem too helpful.
I know you’re doing everything possible to help Binie.

Did you ever speak with the online vet for another opinion?
I wonder if anyone else has a I ideas of what is going on. I wish I had more advice to give you :(
Any thoughts ladies?
@Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie @Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Sending you love and support, Heike :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Staci, the "original wound" was in her armpit. This wound is not really new but it was almost healed well. The vet looked at it last thursday. But the location is a bit strange because this area was not affected from the surgery so there can't be an allergical reaction from the threads. Everything which is going on is a bit strange...

Tonight Binie is better and also the bg is going down. What gives me hope is, that she has a really good appetite. Whenever I visit her on the terrace she checks me out if I have a snack. :cat: And I noticed that she stopped licking her private parts, so it seems she is not in pain anymore.

Thank you so much Staci, for caring about us! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci, the "original wound" was in her armpit. This wound is not really new but it was almost healed well. The vet looked at it last thursday. But the location is a bit strange because this area was not affected from the surgery so there can't be an allergical reaction from the threads. Everything which is going on is a bit strange...

Tonight Binie is better and also the bg is going down. What gives me hope is, that she has a really good appetite. Whenever I visit her on the terrace she checks me out if I have a snack. :cat: And I noticed that she stopped licking her private parts, so it seems she is not in pain anymore.

Thank you so much Staci, for caring about us! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I’m very glad she is spending time in her happy place on the terrace. And it is good she’s eating and looking for more food from you.
That’s great her bg is down, I see she hit yellow :)

I didn’t realize the wound in the picture wasn’t new. I hope it will heal so she feels better. I can’t imagine how confused you must be from all the strange things happening and how to manage them.
You’re doing so much to help Binie. I admire your dedication, Heike! Ivy and I are here to cheer you both on :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Does Binie have any hair loss/thinning or other skin condition than this sore? Other than the avatar, not sure I remember a recent full size picture of her. Would you describe her as having a pot belly? Just trying to eliminate some possibilities.
 
Oh no Heike :(
I’m so sorry to see this wound. It is new I think, correct??
Have you found any more??
Is she licking it like the previous wound?
I’m so sorry you are going through this and the vet doesn’t seem too helpful.
I know you’re doing everything possible to help Binie.

Did you ever speak with the online vet for another opinion?
I wonder if anyone else has a I ideas of what is going on. I wish I had more advice to give you :(
Any thoughts ladies?
@Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie @Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Sending you love and support, Heike :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I have the same questions as Wendy.
 
@Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie

Thank you so much for checking on us!

To answer your questions:
1. Skin conditions: So far Binie had some episodes of dandruff when she was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism and when she was diagnosed with diabetes. She also had chin acne in the past but that changed when I switched all her bowls to china/porcelain. We had another skin issue when I injected to often in the same places and her skin got a little bit hard. When she took antibiotics in July (Cleorobe) she reacted with itchy skin on it and she was licking her whole body. Besides that she never had skin issues. She also has no hair loss/thinning or overgrooming.

2. Binie always had quite a belly as we were always struggling with her weight. The belly is soft and I thought it is just fat. I took a picture this morning, if you need one in another position, let me know. There is a shaved spot on her belly, that was for the ultrasound when they took her urine.

upload_2024-8-29_19-56-7.jpeg


Maybe the story how this whole wound-thing started is also interesting:

As Binie always spent lots of time outside and had fights from time to time, I always watched out for her licking spots more frequently. That was usually a sign, that something was painful. We had multiple bite-wounds through the years and other wounds and it always healed after cleansing at the vet, pain meds and sometimes antibiotics without complications. She never licked her wounds after they have been treated.

Last October I saw her licking her armpit quite frequently. I was alarmed and checked it up but I couldn't see more than tiny micro injuries in her armpit, like from a needel. I decided not to go to the vet directly because I thought it is unlikely she gets bitten in her armpit. When the licking didn't stop for two days I went to the vet (not my vet as she was on holiday) and this vet said it was maybe a small injury from a fence and not bad at all and not worth treating. When the licking didn't stopped and I saw that bigger holes developed I went to my vet. She also said it doesn't look bad, rinsed it and I hoped it would go over soon. But it didn't. Sometimes Binie wasn't licking for weeks and than it started again and I went back to the vet. In April my vet said, that some kind of fistula developed and that Binie needs surgery. She said it may be an eosinophilic granuloma in an unusual place. After the surgery in may she told me, that she had to take out lots of tissue which even grew into the muscle. She was quite surprised and said she has now clue, what it was. She sent the tissue to the pathology and they said it is neither eosinophilic granuloma nor something cancerous. They thought it was a foreign body influence. So my vet suspected it may have been a bite wound but she wasn't sure. After the surgery Binie wore a cone and the wound looked really good. We removed the cone and she was not licking at all and all healed well. Suddenly, after a few weeks, Binie started to lick again. Same places as before. I went back to the vet multiple times and she thought that Binie reacts allergic to the thread material. In the last weeks it became overall better and my vet checked last week and said everything looks and feels fine. So I hoped we finally resolved this issue and I couldn't believe Binie started to lick again. There is something, which seems to bother her. Some kind of pain.

I think my vet has no idea anymore what to do. Me either. So I would be really grateful for any ideas. Thank you so much and sorry for the long text! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-8-29_19-56-7.jpeg
    upload_2024-8-29_19-56-7.jpeg
    48.4 KB · Views: 55
In the US a common hazard for pets that go outside is a weed we call foxtail https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Foxtail_(diaspore)

Idk if there’s a plant (weed) like this in Germany or if she goes out in an area it might be. I live in a rural, wooded area and pets around here often come home with a foxtail problem

Thank you so much! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I don't live in a rural area but I've seen stuff like that growing in neighboring gardens and I know that my neighbors dog had a thing like that removed at the vet. So it might be, that this nasty stuff was the initial reason for the wound. Sounds more likely that she got a foxtail in her armpit than a bite. I just wonder, if that could cause ongoing problems, even after surgery and what to do about it. But it is really a quite logical explanation for the "initial" wound. Thank you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you so much! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I don't live in a rural area but I've seen stuff like that growing in neighboring gardens and I know that my neighbors dog had a thing like that removed at the vet. So it might be, that this nasty stuff was the initial reason for the wound. Sounds more likely that she got a foxtail in her armpit than a bite. I just wonder, if that could cause ongoing problems, even after surgery and what to do about it. But it is really a quite logical explanation for the "initial" wound. Thank you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
It may be worth discussing with your vet. The appearance of her wound is similar to a draining sinus tract I’ve seen in humans and to me (NOT A VET) seems consistent with a foxtail —dogs are who usually get them bc cats are usually indoor pets in areas with foxtails (we see them in yards around here), so it’s either dogs hiking with their humans or working dogs out in the pasture with herds. They can get them in their noses, throats (that’s a real emergency), even urinary tract.
Best wishes to you and Blnie!
 
It may be worth discussing with your vet. The appearance of her wound is similar to a draining sinus tract I’ve seen in humans and to me (NOT A VET) seems consistent with a foxtail —dogs are who usually get them bc cats are usually indoor pets in areas with foxtails (we see them in yards around here), so it’s either dogs hiking with their humans or working dogs out in the pasture with herds. They can get them in their noses, throats (that’s a real emergency), even urinary tract.
Best wishes to you and Blnie!

Thank you so much! I will mention that to my vet! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top