8/28-29 Trinity Combined Condo enclosed...Feedback please?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoeyB

Member Since 2013
8/28 AMPS 73 NO SHOT
+3/360 SHOT 1.75u
+6/336
PMPS 344 SHOT 2u
+4/197
+5/136
+6/129

8/29 AMPS 381 SHOT 2u
+4/303
+6/263
PMPS 299 SHOT 2u

I'm starting to like where these numbers are going. Trinity continues to eat 80-90% wet that is 9% carbs or less, and the 10-20% dry food she eats is relatively LC as well at only 8%.

I was a little freaked by the 73 AMPS 8/28, so held the shot until I got a much higher result +3. Is it possible that the reading was correct, and she jumped that drastically in so little time? I did a test on myself just after the 73 result, and got a normal 90something myself. It was a weird day overall I guess. I was pleased with her set of late night numbers at PMPS +4-6 later in the same day, thinking she is finally settling into this dosage.

Overall I'm pretty happy with progress, and wondering if there's anything I'm missing here? Carb intake is 8% and lower in most of what she eats. Her appetite has been better lately, as well as her overall PPPPP. Pooping, peeing, preening, playing, and purring!

5 P's, something I picked up in another thread...I LIKE IT! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/28-29 Trinity Combined Condo enclosed...Feedback pleas

I see quite a drop today, 63? :o

I'm betting you're in TR and have plenty of eyes on Trinity right now. If not, you should be. At that point, it calls for more tests to make sure she's not going too low and possibly 'steering' her with food.

Let us know how she's doing. Hang on, it can be a bumpy ride. ;-)

I just checked and you aren't in TR. That 63 @+8 needs to be watched, where are you Joey?

I also noticed her high amps this morning. She hasn't done that in several days, is there any possibility that she may have gotten a fur shot last night?

I'm concerned, let's us know what's happening hon.
 
Re: 8/28-29 Trinity Combined Condo enclosed...Feedback pleas

nckitties3 said:
I see quite a drop today, 63? :o

I'm betting you're in TR and have plenty of eyes on Trinity right now. If not, you should be. At that point, it calls for more tests to make sure she's not going too low and possibly 'steering' her with food.

Let us know how she's doing. Hang on, it can be a bumpy ride. ;-)

I just checked and you aren't in TR. That 63 @+8 needs to be watched, where are you Joey?

I also noticed her high amps this morning. She hasn't done that in several days, is there any possibility that she may have gotten a fur shot last night?

I'm concerned, let's us know what's happening hon.

My last post in TR was 8/24 with a combined condo of 8/22-23. It elicited not a single response so I've stayed here, while mostly running a TR with my Trinity. The +8 63 result was a quick stop during work, and I did give her a couple heaping tablespoons of some HC gravy to ensure she went no lower. The result, and incredible climb to 321 4 hours later. I'm learning that Trinity is VERY sensitive to the carb content of her foods.

I'm keeping a close eye on my baby so as not to let her drop too far. Her clinicals as of late have been amazing, PPPPP good. (Pooping, Peeing, Preening, Playing and Purring!) I LOVE THAT SO MUCH!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Overall she has taken well to the regimen, and I'm happy to see her feeling better.

Fur shot last night? Not likely. She did eat much more then usual of the dry food overnight, so that was probably what kicked her up so high this morning.
 
Re: 8/28-29 Trinity Combined Condo enclosed...Feedback pleas

I've a list including the 5 Ps in my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools, along with other assessments you may wish to make.

Thirst & urination definitely change with the level of diabetes control. Gallons drunk and swamps of wet litter transition to occasional sips and modest balls of clumping litter. (Note: if glucose is controlled and lakes of wet litter persist, check for renal disease and hyperthyroidism.)

Hunger may be increased in diabetes and hyperthyroidism; tends to decrease in renal disease.

Weight will be lost if uncontrolled or gained if control is improved. Renal disease and hyperthyroidism may result in weight loss too.

Breath odor
- if it smells like nail polish remover - acetone, a ketone - the cat may have ketones.
- if it smells like urine, moderate to severe renal disease may be present.
- if it smells rotten, check for oral disease such as an abcess or decayed teeth.
 
Re: 8/28-29 Trinity Combined Condo enclosed...Feedback pleas

BJM said:
I've a list including the 5 Ps in my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools, along with other assessments you may wish to make.

Thirst & urination definitely change with the level of diabetes control. Gallons drunk and swamps of wet litter transition to occasional sips and modest balls of clumping litter. (Note: if glucose is controlled and lakes of wet litter persist, check for renal disease and hyperthyroidism.)

Hunger may be increased in diabetes and hyperthyroidism; tends to decrease in renal disease.

Thirst and urination have both been decreasing over time. This is one of the clinical symptoms I keep an eye on daily.

Her hunger has risen in the last 4-6 days, and I attribute that to her BG levels becoming closer to normal as time passes. I've read a few horror stories of others and the amount of food a recovering diabetic eats due to her lack of proper nutritional absorption. Trinity seems to be in that area of her recovery right now.

Thanks for the heads up on the other possibilities along the way that Trinity seems to be avoiding for the time being! ;-)
 
Re: 8/28-29 Trinity Combined Condo enclosed...Feedback pleas

JoeyB said:
...My last post in TR was 8/24 with a combined condo of 8/22-23. It elicited not a single response so I've stayed here, while mostly running a TR with my Trinity.
Hi Joey,

You are doing an amazing job with Trinity! :-D :-D

Sorry about what happened in Lantus Land. I've had threads before that never got bumped. In fact I think my first official "condo" here in relaxed got zero reads that day, let alone a response. It happens. I used to think I couldn't get help in the TR group because I couldn't post every day, or because I wasn't really doing TR. I even suspected I couldn't post there because I didn't fit in or because was already posting here in "Rebellion" Lantus. All those things were wrong (well it's true I don't really fit in) but eventually got all my questions answered.

Once I finally figured out who to ask. :mrgreen:

Feel free to post up there any time you might need to. As Debbie noted, it's always good to have more experienced eyes looking in. If you have anything needing a timely response, put a 911 on your thread or you could PM Marje she's around almost every day but Wed. And of course Debbie is often here.

Besides all that it looks like you are off to a great start. Learning fast. Any questions we've missed, fire away! :smile:
 
Re: 8/28-29 Trinity Combined Condo enclosed...Feedback pleas

Thanks Joey, I feel better knowing she's doing well.

Remember, anytime they go to those lower numbers, there is a good chance they'll bounce afterwards. So don't be surprised. :shock: It's not just the carbs that causes those higher numbers after a low, but counterregulatory hormones that they produce because they aren't accustomed to those lower numbers. That's the bounce.

Some cats bounce more than others. My Lucian being King of the bounce! :lol: Of course, he does much better now on Levemir. ECID AGAIN. :roll:

If Trinity is that responsive to carbs, maybe go for a medium carb food, rather than high carb when you need to 'feed up'. With Lucian, med carb does just fine keeping him from dropping without having that 'carb load' effect afterwards. That way the bounce may not be so high later.

You did the right thing though, since you had to leave. I had to go to court under those circumstances a couple weeks ago, no getting around that and fed up before I left and it all worked out, although I was nervous while I was gone. nailbite_smile

I'll try to help keep an eye on you and Trinity, keep us up to date as much as you can. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top