8/27 LT AMPS 96; 130 @8:20 +1 201 +2 140 +3 109 PMPS 121 +1 78 +2 68 +2.5 83 +3 76 +4 104

Seeing the 96 this morning, I'm wondering what his numbers were like last night. This might affect the TR dosing protocol. Do ask for experienced advice before you increase.
Yeah, I know I made a mistake by not testing last night; just haven't been able to sleep during the day. With a 96 this a.m., I'm no longer thinking about a dose increase; going to let things sort themselves out on this dose - wait several more cycles. I'm using the Neosporin with pain relief on his ears, but I still just feel so bad that I've poked him so many times. LT has been so inconsistent on drops and nadirs that I never know if it safe to wait 2 hours instead of 1.
 
LT has been so inconsistent on drops and nadirs that I never know if it safe to wait 2 hours instead of 1.
And this is why you are poking him! Just tell yourself you are helping, not hurting him at this point. There are times when you can be confident taking pokey breaks, and times when kitty needs a poke. I'm sporadically using Neosporin, just a tiny bit. She isn't trying to clean it, and no other cat is licking her ears. The vet warned that you don't want your cat ingesting it. I think we have a good balance of healing and safety.
 
Was checking on the very round cat I'm catsitting.

Yes please. Just a tsp or two – not too much. It's very early in the cycle. Delicate balance between keeping him above 68 and keeping him hungry in case you need the big guns. Otherwise, you could be chasing him all night with HC and then waiting to see if he holds the numbers without it - though you may get there anyway.

I'll try to stick around for the +2 but am fading.

Holler if you need to.
 
Was checking on the very round cat I'm catsitting.

Yes please. Just a tsp or two – not too much. It's very early in the cycle. Delicate balance between keeping him above 68 and keeping him hungry in case you need the big guns. Otherwise, you could be chasing him all night with HC and then waiting to see if he holds the numbers without it - though you may get there anyway.

I'll try to stick around for the +2 but am fading.

Holler if you need to.
Thanks! He seems pretty pleased with himself. I'm truly not looking for a reducie at this time, so I gave him a tsp. of his LC usual food. Will be checking again at +2.
 
But you may actually need a reduction very soon. It wouldn't be normal to overfeed (on a regular basis, or normal day) just to keep from going hypo. And it looks like that is already possible tonight. And I know we must "earn" a reduction, but we obviously don't want to endanger kitty to do it.
 
He didn't actually earn a reduction (by dropping below 68) but I think it's probably a better idea to go ahead and take the reduction because it's pretty obvious that if you hadn't intervened, he would have.

If .25 doesn't end up being enough, we can always go back up but I'm betting you'd like to get some sleep (during normal sleeping hours) again in your lifetime too
 
He didn't actually earn a reduction (by dropping below 68) but I think it's probably a better idea to go ahead and take the reduction because it's pretty obvious that if you hadn't intervened, he would have.

If .25 doesn't end up being enough, we can always go back up but I'm betting you'd like to get some sleep (during normal sleeping hours) again in your lifetime too
Yep, and night time testing is pretty much up to me. DH's mom is 96 and lives by herself down the road so he watches over her, takes care of the rest of our animals, puts up hay etc. He's going trail riding tomorrow for the first time this summer. When should I test again? +3.5 or +4?
 
Back
Top