8/27 Callie AMPS 113, +3 123, +5 115 - advice needed

Jessica A

Member Since 2021
previous: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-29-callie-amps-129-at.266436/#post-2982468

Callie hasn't been feeling well the last couple of days :( and I'm guessing that's why she has been running high. I thought maybe I gave her a fur shot a couple of nights ago but now I think she may just have been getting sick.

Rob and I both recently had COVID and even though we tried to be as careful as we could with Callie, I think she may have gotten it too - she's sneezing a lot, lethargic, eating okay but not with her usual gusto (and occasionally licking her lips.) I hope it is just a regular URI... but I'm pretty worried.

Anyway, we're keeping a close eye on her and I'll talk to the vet Monday or take her into an ER before if she stops eating/ gets significantly worse. In the meantime, I'm wondering if I should increase her dose to .1 given these numbers?

Dosing is a little complicated by the fact that I started a new job on Monday so my schedule is very different and not nearly as flexible for testing and closely monitoring Callie. I am working from home but am in training for the next 16 weeks and I only get a few short breaks at specific times throughout the day.

I could really use some advice... @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee what do you all think?
 
I’m sorry you all have been sick. When are your breaks? You could try an increase tonight and tomorrow if you can monitor. I hope she doesn’t have Covid. Sounds like she could be nauseous. I take it your vet isn’t open today?
 
I hope you and Rob have recovered from Covid? I think it's safe to take Callie up in dose. Her nadirs have been higher for the last week/10 days. Paws crossed that she gets well soon and doesn't need a trip to the ER/vet. :bighug:
 
I’m sorry you all have been sick. When are your breaks?
Thanks, Elise. It’s been a tough few weeks — Rob and I are much better now but I am worried about Callie.

We moved her shot time to 5:15 am so I could get a +2.5 test in before I start at 8am. My first break is then at her +5… my fear is that when Callie drops far/fast, it is usually in the early part of her cycle and close monitoring between +2.5 and +5 is going to be tough. But I guess I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it. I can always just feed her higher carbs to hold her til I can test and feed again.
Sounds like she could be nauseous. I take it your vet isn’t open today?

That’s what we thought with the lip licking too. She isn’t doing it all the time and she is eating though so I’m hesitant to add more meds to her already full cocktail if not needed. With all Callie’s health stuff, it is so hard to know what to do to help and not hurt more sometimes.

Our vet doesn’t normally work weekends but I can try to reach him if it is an emergency and the ER is great, though extremely $$ (and Callie hates it!)
 
I hope you and Rob have recovered from Covid? I think it's safe to take Callie up in dose. Her nadirs have been higher for the last week/10 days. Paws crossed that she gets well soon and doesn't need a trip to the ER/vet. :bighug:
Thanks, Bhooma. We’re mostly better, just lingering (annoying!) coughs. Now we just have to get the baby better!!!

We’ll increase tonight as you and Elise suggest.. and I’ll keep you all posted. :bighug:
 
Hello Jessica. Sorry to hear you and Rob got Covid. Hope you are feeling better soon. Positive vibes that Callie’s sneezing and lethargy is associated with temperatures and pollen. Wondering how they diagnose COVID in felines. Take care of yourselves and congratulations on the new job.

if you get a spare moment, let Callie listen to the video I made of our Cali yesterday, she sounds like Linda Blair in the Exerocist [old movie of girl possessed]. Cali was letting our new kitty know how much she loves him. NOT! Today she added action to verbal. Didn’t realize how the old gal can still move [thanks to the Meloxicam daily].
Take care
 
That’s what we thought with the lip licking too. She isn’t doing it all the time and she is eating though so I’m hesitant to add more meds to her already full cocktail if not needed. With all Callie’s health stuff, it is so hard to know what to do to help and not hurt more sometimes.
I looked up Tanya's website for Lip Licking and this is what it says:

Lip Licking or Lipsmacking
Symptoms and Possible Causes More Information and Possible Treatments
Gastric hyperacidity Appetite Loss, Nausea and Vomiting
Anaemia All About Anaemia
Side effect of capromorelin (Entyce) Persuading Your Cat to Eat
Dehydration Regulation of Fluid and Urinary Imbalances
Side effect of metoclopramide (rare) Appetite Loss, Nausea and Vomiting

I hope Callie feels better soon. I know you will do everything you can to get her there. :bighug:
 
Jessica i can recommend using bluetooth headset, my husband tests Chico even during meetings and nobody even notices. I understand that being in a training is different but thought it might help. Get better and hopefully Callie will as well get better :bighug:
 
Back
Top