8/26 Muffin AMPS 54 & 44/stalled/ +14.5 151/131 +1 162 +3 154 +6 266 PMPS 298 +2 289 +5 261

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sometimes stalling sees them go lower because of being hungry. Give it 20 and see where she is. If she is still to low ( it is a shootable number but you have no data shooting that low and you would have to monitor her like crazy till nadir) So that said, if you are not seeing her come up you could feed her and then test her again in a few hours and once she has come up you could shoot as long as the shooting schedule can be off by how ever many hours you are late shooting.


ETA: The 54 is shootable not the 44
 
It's been 20....at 55 and 49 Not much of an increase. Should we feed her her usual?
Shooting at a really later time is really not possible in our environment. An hour later isn't bad but beyond that presents a problem.
 
I agree with Bobbie 100%.
You can get back to schedule by 30 min/day increments in a few days.

ETA: it is important to keep testing even if you go no shot - the depot will be at play for at least half the cycle.
 
Ok we are going to feed her now, test in about 1 hour s and if all good we will shoot off schedule and bring her back to schedule by 30 minute increments. She was hungry and is eating. THANK YOU ALL!
 
From the sticky shooting and handling low numbers
If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
  • --- Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
 
@Bobbie And Bubba
In that case if she is still low I'd skip the shot and start over at PMPS.
She should be having full depot and that's make it easier to skip.
Any history of ketones?
OR do what Gill suggested and testing in 20 minutes and see if she comes up to a shootable number. But realizing she is a shelter kitty, I did not know how much monitoring was available.
 
No history of ketones that we know of. Not testing for ketones but the vet did a couple of weeks ago and ok.
We fed her 1.5 ounces which is much less than usual. Our hour after feeding she is at 88 which is a great number. I need to confirm she did NOT earn a reduction? and should we now go ahead and shoot not knowing if it the increase to 88 is food related or insulin related?
 
All the numbers you have so far, stack in the AMBG cell. Put the 2 units in the unit cell and put @ 13.5 . That way everyone knows you shot 1 1/2 hours late. Then all numbers you get for the rest of the cycle go where they would normally go.
 
Looking at her SS, she doesn't always get a food spike. So please test her at +1 because this is the lowest you have shot and test her through her nadir to make sure she is safe.
 
How long has it been since she ate and you got the 88?

She earned a reduction with the 44 so you want to give 2 units.

She ate at 9:30 tested 88 at 10:30. It's now 11:30 and she is at 151 then immediately after it was 131. We tested one after the other. So now we are going to feed, shoot 2.0 at +14.5 which is her new AMPS? We will test at +1. Kind of confused here.
 
Julie,
tonight you shoot your PM dose 12 hours after the last shoot.
Tomorrow AMPS is 30 min earlier - 11.5 hours after the last injection and tomorrow PM shoot time is 12 hours after the Am shoot.
You repeat 30 min earlier for the entire day - do not shoot 30 min earlier for both cycles, only the AM.
If you shoot today at +14.5 than it is 2.5 hours late than you'll need 5 day of shooting 30 min earlier to get back on schedule.
Does it make sense?
 
Your SS currently says 2U at 11:30.

Make it 2U at +14.5 instead - and start filling in tests just as usual after that.

ETA: the rest of the tests you got so far should be in the AMPS cell - all of them. Currently it shows 54/44 - add the rest of them into the same cell.
 
Julie,
tonight you shoot your PM dose 12 hours after the last shoot.
Tomorrow AMPS is 30 min earlier - 11.5 hours after the last injection and tomorrow PM shoot time is 12 hours after the Am shoot.
You repeat 30 min earlier for the entire day - do not shoot 30 min earlier for both cycles, only the AM.
If you shoot today at +14.5 than it is 2.5 hours late than you'll need 5 day of shooting 30 min earlier to get back on schedule.
Does it make sense?
\

Yes...that makes sense. Thanks you.
 
Your SS currently says 2U at 11:30.

Make it 2U at +14.5 instead - and start filling in tests just as usual after that.

ETA: the rest of the tests you got so far should be in the AMPS cell - all of them. Currently it shows 54/44 - add the rest of them into the same cell.

Hopefully it's right now. Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top