8/26/20 Sissy AMPS 325, +1 252, +2 177, +4 97, +6 102, +9 167 PMPS 181, +2 215, +3 193

Mandy S

Member Since 2020
Switching to TR because my schedule will allow it.

Moving to 1.5 unit dose this morning. I'm nervous but want to get her where she needs to be.
 
Last edited:
Amazing! I know greens can be nerve wracking, but also exciting! The greens help heal Sissy’s pancreas.
As long as you have middle carb and high carb food, and karo or honey then you will be in control of Sissy’s numbers. You will eventually learn how to feed her curve to keep her surfing in greens.
 
Amazing! I know greens can be nerve wracking, but also exciting! The greens help heal Sissy’s pancreas.
As long as you have middle carb and high carb food, and karo or honey then you will be in control of Sissy’s numbers. You will eventually learn how to feed her curve to keep her surfing in greens.

Man, I hope so. Right now it's all pretty confusing. I have Karo, and I have her old kibble she was on that is higher carb. I don't know if it's considered middle carb or high carb though. It's the Natural Balance limited ingredient chicken and pea. I do have her old rx food too that I know is high carb.
 
Okay, I need help....I just did her PMPS and she's 181. I've never shot lower than 197 I think...and this is her first day on the new dose. I am scared to shoot honestly.
 
10% carbs or less is Low Carb (LC)
11%-14% carbs is Middle Carb (MC)
15% + is High Carb (HC)
Have you seen this Food Chart? It tells you the approximate % carbs in a wide range of foods. When you are trying to bring up low BG numbers, you want to use MC or HC wet (depending on numbers and Sissy's sensitivity to carbs), and/or Karo. The dry food can take too long to bring numbers up. So have some cans/pouches of wet MC and wet HC around. The carbs are generally found in the gravy of the foods, not the meat.

I will also just leave this hypo toolkit link here, in case you haven't put one together yet. :) Not trying to scare you! Having these items at the ready should give you peace-of-mind that you are fully prepared to deal with Sissy's low numbers. And of course the wonderful people here will help you through testing and feeding until you get the hang of it!
 
Okay, I need help....I just did her PMPS and she's 181. I've never shot lower than 197 I think...and this is her first day on the new dose. I am scared to shoot honestly.
Technically you can shoot anything over 50. However, I am not comfortable helping you decide what to do. It looks like her numbers have been going up and she's in a bounce. Lemme tag a couple of people for you
@thebigfuzz @tiffmaxee are you still around?
 
For future, when you are faced with a low pre-shot number, something you aren't comfortable shooting, you stall for 20 minutes, & do not feed, then re-test in 20 minutes. You can post here for help. If you feed, you can influence her BG numbers.
 
No, just asking. Would you say she is eating a normal preshot meal?

Probably not...but I could entice her to eat if I put some freeze dried chicken shredds on it. She just went and laid down on her bed...she hasn't been as interested in food today as usual. She didn't eat as much overnight last night and not as much through the day either.
 
For future, when you are faced with a low pre-shot number, something you aren't comfortable shooting, you stall for 20 minutes, & do not feed, then re-test in 20 minutes. You can post here for help. If you feed, you can influence her BG numbers.

Shoot, I knew that...I read that...I just forgot. :/
 
If you are around to test at least a +2 or +3 to determine if later tests are needed and have the ability to monitor... You have a rising number... On TR which encourages shooting lower numbers over 50 'shoot low to stay low'

You have LC, Karo, kibble and HC DX food...

Do you think anything else is taking her appetite away? Any reason she might not eat later if you need her to?
 
These are some of the questions to ask ourselves...

What would you like to do? TR does encourage shooting lower than SLGS. It's scary at first :bighug:
 
She usually will eat kibble, i'm not sure the carb content on the one I have. It only has the guaranteed analysis food on it or their website and I think you're not supposed to use that in the carb calculator? It's the Natural Balance chicken and pea. I have one small can of the pate of that version too.

I can be around to test. I can't guarantee she'll eat later if needed. If I took food away now, she might eat kibble. She's been missing that I think. but honestly, I just don't know. She's just recently started eating again after weeks of boycotting almost all food.
 
These are some of the questions to ask ourselves...

What would you like to do? TR does encourage shooting lower than SLGS. It's scary at first :bighug:

If I shoot do I shoot the full 1.5 units? Or a smaller amount. I want to do what's best for her but it's terrifying. I don't know if I could get her to eat later if I had to...
 
It's a lot to take in at once. I have cheat sheets all over the place. This sticky helped a lot. Did you shoot 1.5?

I haven't given her a shot yet. We were supposed to shoot 22 minutes ago, so I need to get myself together and make a decision. I just don't know what to do honestly.
 
Keep with the LC wet for now. Kibble would exclude you from participating in TR. I assume she has not been eating kibble recently. It's ok to know that you have it in your toolbox though.
 
Last week I think it was she had a 100 drop then another hour later another about a hundred drop...and that was on a dose I was familiar with...


edit...just looked it was on the 14th and it was a couple hours apart, but still would be scary now.
 
Do what you're comfortable with.:bighug:If I was faced with a 181 and rising numbers before that, I would shoot my cat. But Sissy is your cat. I've shot lower numbers before and you just started TR. You need to be okay with monitoring her cycle.
 
That' will be 4:30a.m here....idk. If I have to for her I would
Now that she’s bouncing I doubt you will have to but I can’t promise. I’d get a +2 and 3 and see from there. Yes the insulin wearing off and the food are all part of it. If you are shooting sooner than later is better.
 
So her level right now is from the insulin wearing off and not from eating? If it was food it would go back down, right?
 
I just went ahead and shot the 1.5, 50 min late though.

I'm really sorry I am so hesitant. I feel almost panicky now, but it's not about this board or the advice, I appreciate that so much. I just have an anxiety/panic disorder and this is SO stressful I feel like I'm going to come unglued. It's really hard to make decisions because of it and as much as I agonize over making a decision...now I'm agonizing over whether I should have shot the full dose. I'm not sure TR is for me because of this issue of mine. I feel like I'm really not knowledgeable enough about all this to be able to handle it if she does go too low. I can't stand the thought of hurting her. But I felt like that before too. I feel like such a nutcase.
 
Back
Top