

Hi Sienne...ketones negative , thank goodness . Yesterday when numbers were falling his appy was great . I continue to assist with his Whole Earth duck and giving livershake several times a day . Thank you for input .Beth --
I get nervous whenever I see someone post that their cat is lethargic. Have you been testing for ketones? If Elmo has been grappling with an infection, the risk for ketones, especially with high numbers, increases. It also sounds like he's not been eating well. I'd really encourage you to test for ketones if you're not already doing so.
I'd also encourage you to get at the very least, a before bed test during the PM cycle. Without the test, you're missing half of your data.
Thanks , LindaGood morning Beth and Elmo!
Beth, one difference between Vetsulin and Lantus is that you don't need the wait period between feeding and the shot. As long as you are sure Elmo will eat then you can give him his shot. Many of us shoot while kitty has their nose buried in their bowl. Obviously Elmo is not eating well on his own, which makes me concerned too. Is Elmo not eating on his own because of the tooth issues or is something else going on? Has he had GI upset from the antibiotics? I'd definitely grab some ketostix and check for ketones.
Checking daily for ketones and are negative . Has always been a finicky, graze all day eater. He will eat off my hand as well and afterwards licks and cleans himself .He will eat off my hand as well and afterwards licks and cleans himself .


!Will do , Sienne ...soon as my techy son gets probs worked out . I laugh as tell him it's the least he can do since I did give birth to himYou might want to put a note in the "Comments" section of your spreadsheet with the results of. your ketone tests. (Otherwise, I suspect I'll forget and keep asking!!)

You and me both, CarlaI hope Elmo eats good for you today and perks up.![]()
Please send some of your carfurby prayers this way 
Thanks, Auntie LindaThat yellow is looking a lot cheerier.....keep going Elmo!![]()


Guess it's a good idea when numbers start inching up to contact food manufacturers and see if formulas have changed . Sheesh 
It looks like you tested every 2 hours today. If his AMPS is not too low tomorrow, you can try filling in some of the blanks to see what he's doing.Question: How often should I test tomorrow ? Every 2 or 3 hours to establish pattern ?
You are very welcome Beth@Christie & Maverick Thank you big time , Christie !!! I definitely will call tomorrow !! It has been impossible to get so stockpiled it for a bit . What food did you switch to ? Thanks again for the heads up !Guess it's a good idea when numbers start inching up to contact food manufacturers and see if formulas have changed . Sheesh
![]()
. I can't remember what it was like before, when I didn't worry about formulas changing, needing to research carbs and phosphorus Carla, what do you mean by " active night" ?It looks like Elmo bounced this morning from the skipped shot last night/blue number and has been clearing the bounce all day today. If PMPS is lower than the +10 you got, you could have an active night tonight. You'll need to get a +1 and a +2 tonight if the PMPS is the same or lower than +10.
Active cycle ? Not so sure I know what that is ...describe pleaseYou are very welcome Beth. I can't remember what it was like before, when I didn't worry about formulas changing, needing to research carbs and phosphorus
...but that seems to be our reality. I'm glad you have a stock pile
, you might be working with the older formula if it did indeed change, I would hope at least the packaging would be different? That's what happened with Wellness way back when...I managed to collect a small pet store's worth of the old label, then was lucky to find WE. My guys prefer pates, though I have tried in the past Rawz which is good, but expensive. That, plus Mav seems to do better with 4-5% carbs, and Rawz was minimal, around 1%. So, long story short we are back on Wellness at the moment, they seem to really like the Turkey and Salmon, and I'm trying to offer snacks now of Stella and Chewy's instead of FF classic pates, just to try and balance things out.
As for Milo's cycle today, sometimes on Lantus we see a flat yellow cycle indicating a more active cycle to follow...tonight might be interesting.


He could dip lower tonight. An active cycle is one where the cat's numbers drop and you need to monitor.Carla, what do you mean by " active night" ?
Just went looking for Furball, glad to see she was having a nice time last night and today, happy to help, you get your rest, you get up way earlier than I do@Christie & Maverick I'm glad you'll be around. I won't be able to stay on late like last night because I have to work tomorrow.
You are a fabulous mama, SQ and meds in the mix, been there but not for a long while...the insulin needles seem so small compared to the SQ...Elmo is so lucky to have you!Have I told you two lately that you are the BEST ?!?Giving him his SQ and thyroid meds with some food to distract during fluids
![]()
Yes...he gets baby food meat when gets SQ....gave livershake with meds then 10 minutes later baby food with SQLooks like he is coming up a bit, was his snack FF with his meds?