8/25. Elmo AMPS. HI. +2 533 +4. 436 +6 284 +8 255+10 244 PMPS248. +2 200 +3 271 +4 292

Beth 73

Member Since 2016
Good morning , LL . Getting ready to feed . If not eating will syringe . Acting lethargic but alert . Kinda like me ;) Will probably shoot 1 u in 30 minutes unless advised otherwise.
 
Beth --

I get nervous whenever I see someone post that their cat is lethargic. Have you been testing for ketones? If Elmo has been grappling with an infection, the risk for ketones, especially with high numbers, increases. It also sounds like he's not been eating well. I'd really encourage you to test for ketones if you're not already doing so.

I'd also encourage you to get at the very least, a before bed test during the PM cycle. Without the test, you're missing half of your data.
 
Beth --

I get nervous whenever I see someone post that their cat is lethargic. Have you been testing for ketones? If Elmo has been grappling with an infection, the risk for ketones, especially with high numbers, increases. It also sounds like he's not been eating well. I'd really encourage you to test for ketones if you're not already doing so.

I'd also encourage you to get at the very least, a before bed test during the PM cycle. Without the test, you're missing half of your data.
Hi Sienne...ketones negative , thank goodness . Yesterday when numbers were falling his appy was great . I continue to assist with his Whole Earth duck and giving livershake several times a day . Thank you for input .
 
Good morning Beth and Elmo!

Beth, one difference between Vetsulin and Lantus is that you don't need the wait period between feeding and the shot. As long as you are sure Elmo will eat then you can give him his shot. Many of us shoot while kitty has their nose buried in their bowl. Obviously Elmo is not eating well on his own, which makes me concerned too. Is Elmo not eating on his own because of the tooth issues or is something else going on? Has he had GI upset from the antibiotics? I'd definitely grab some ketostix and check for ketones.
 
Good morning Beth and Elmo!

Beth, one difference between Vetsulin and Lantus is that you don't need the wait period between feeding and the shot. As long as you are sure Elmo will eat then you can give him his shot. Many of us shoot while kitty has their nose buried in their bowl. Obviously Elmo is not eating well on his own, which makes me concerned too. Is Elmo not eating on his own because of the tooth issues or is something else going on? Has he had GI upset from the antibiotics? I'd definitely grab some ketostix and check for ketones.
Thanks , Linda :bighug: Checking daily for ketones and are negative . Has always been a finicky, graze all day eater. He will eat off my hand as well and afterwards licks and cleans himself .
 
Tech support ( aka our son :))is working on ss kinks. Will post on ss when he is finished . +2. 533
 
He will eat off my hand as well and afterwards licks and cleans himself .

I initially read that as "eat my hand off" and was confused in the context of being a finicky eater. Time for more :coffee::coffee::coffee:!

Welcome back Beth, hope Elmo's infection clears up quickly and his stay on insulin is a short one!
 
You might want to put a note in the "Comments" section of your spreadsheet with the results of. your ketone tests. (Otherwise, I suspect I'll forget and keep asking!!)
 
Hi Beth and Elmo! I wanted to send a quick message, since I saw you are feeding Whole Earth duck. My boys loved that food, but for the last few months, there has been a shortage, and I haven't been able to get it, so we have had to find something else as their main meals. I went on the Whole Earth foods website today to see if there was any mention of a reason for the shortage, and saw many other posts regarding the shortage, but also references by a few people that the formula has changed, and apparently it now has higher phosphorus and carbs. It appears what is now being supplied may not be 4% carbs anymore, but slightly over 10% based on one person's comment on the website.

You may want to call them and double check whether the formula has indeed changed, I don't want to assume that other people's comments are true. It may not be the direct reason why Elmo has come out of remission, (I think you mentioned infection?) but if Elmo is carb sensitive, I would think the difference between 4% and 10% foods would be noticeable in his blood sugar levels.
 
@Christie & Maverick Thank you big time , Christie !!! I definitely will call tomorrow !! It has been impossible to get so stockpiled it for a bit . What food did you switch to ? Thanks again for the heads up !:bighug:Guess it's a good idea when numbers start inching up to contact food manufacturers and see if formulas have changed . Sheesh :banghead:
 
Last edited:
It looks like Elmo bounced this morning from the skipped shot last night/blue number and has been clearing the bounce all day today. If PMPS is lower than the +10 you got, you could have an active night tonight. You'll need to get a +1 and a +2 tonight if the PMPS is the same or lower than +10.
 
@Christie & Maverick Thank you big time , Christie !!! I definitely will call tomorrow !! It has been impossible to get so stockpiled it for a bit . What food did you switch to ? Thanks again for the heads up !:bighug:Guess it's a good idea when numbers start inching up to contact food manufacturers and see if formulas have changed . Sheesh :banghead:
You are very welcome Beth :bighug:. I can't remember what it was like before, when I didn't worry about formulas changing, needing to research carbs and phosphorus :p...but that seems to be our reality. I'm glad you have a stock pile ;), you might be working with the older formula if it did indeed change, I would hope at least the packaging would be different? That's what happened with Wellness way back when...I managed to collect a small pet store's worth of the old label, then was lucky to find WE. My guys prefer pates, though I have tried in the past Rawz which is good, but expensive. That, plus Mav seems to do better with 4-5% carbs, and Rawz was minimal, around 1%. So, long story short we are back on Wellness at the moment, they seem to really like the Turkey and Salmon, and I'm trying to offer snacks now of Stella and Chewy's instead of FF classic pates, just to try and balance things out.

As for Milo's cycle today, sometimes on Lantus we see a flat yellow cycle indicating a more active cycle to follow...tonight might be interesting.
 
It looks like Elmo bounced this morning from the skipped shot last night/blue number and has been clearing the bounce all day today. If PMPS is lower than the +10 you got, you could have an active night tonight. You'll need to get a +1 and a +2 tonight if the PMPS is the same or lower than +10.
Carla, what do you mean by " active night" ?
 
You are very welcome Beth :bighug:. I can't remember what it was like before, when I didn't worry about formulas changing, needing to research carbs and phosphorus :p...but that seems to be our reality. I'm glad you have a stock pile ;), you might be working with the older formula if it did indeed change, I would hope at least the packaging would be different? That's what happened with Wellness way back when...I managed to collect a small pet store's worth of the old label, then was lucky to find WE. My guys prefer pates, though I have tried in the past Rawz which is good, but expensive. That, plus Mav seems to do better with 4-5% carbs, and Rawz was minimal, around 1%. So, long story short we are back on Wellness at the moment, they seem to really like the Turkey and Salmon, and I'm trying to offer snacks now of Stella and Chewy's instead of FF classic pates, just to try and balance things out.

As for Milo's cycle today, sometimes on Lantus we see a flat yellow cycle indicating a more active cycle to follow...tonight might be interesting.
Active cycle ? Not so sure I know what that is ...describe please :nailbiting:
 
What you want to look for in an active cycle is what the +2 reading is compared to your preshot. If you see the same number at +2 or lower, you should continue testing. For me, if I see a number lower at +2, it just means that I need to keep a closer eye on that cycle, and with Mav I tend to feed earlier then a little snack, to try and slow down the possible drop. Since you don't know much about how Elmo responds yet to Lantus, it is important to get a feel for where he onsets, nadirs, and what kind of duration he gets. So, that's why if the +2 is about the same or lower, you'd want to check again at +3, and go from there. For what it's worth, I found +1 for Mav wasn't that useful, because he always gets a good food bump, but certainly I watch more closely if I see a lower +2. If the +2 is higher than preshot, you may still see Elmo come down over the cycle, but it won't be as "active". Does this help?

This link gives a lot of extra info, I kind of summarized what I look for, but that's based on Mav ;), the link is worth a quick read for extra info
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/
 
Since Elmo's PMPS is about the same as his +10, you'll need to get a +1 and a +2 test to see if he's going to stay flat or slide down.
 
Have I told you two lately that you are the BEST ?!?:bighug::bighug::bighug: Giving him his SQ and thyroid meds with some food to distract during fluids :stop:
You are a fabulous mama, SQ and meds in the mix, been there but not for a long while...the insulin needles seem so small compared to the SQ...Elmo is so lucky to have you!
 
We are empty nesters and bi coastal parents as our kids live in NYC and San Francisco so we have lots of free time to inflict ourselves upon our poor felines :eek:
 
Should I give him bit more food or leave well enough alone for now ? What would be a good number for him to be at at +4 and/or +5 that would show he's safe for the evening ?
 
He'll likely stay flat now, but just to be sure he's not changing direction and dropping...the fact that he went from 200 to 271 in one hour makes me think he's not going to drop, but since you are still gathering data, it would be interesting to see another test. Glad Elmo is out of the yucky higher numbers today :)
 
Back
Top