sam_j
Member Since 2022
Hello, this is my first post here. I've been keeping a spreadsheet of my cat Phoebe's glucose levels for the past few weeks.
Today she had a rather low PMPS test (160, using an AlphaTrak meter) and I'm unsure what the recommendation would be for her PM shot. Her regular dose is 2 units of Lantus. I'm not following any specific dosing protocol yet, the vet simply said to give 2 units twice a day and so that's what I've been doing. I see in the SLGS protocol one would skip a shot if the preshot value is under 150 (using a human meter), so by that rule I would skip today's shot since the AlphaTrak meter likely reads higher than a human meter.
But also, from Phoebe's past few days of data she typically has a high AMPS and then her numbers go down over the course of a day, often reaching the low 200s/high 100s in her PMPS, with her ultimate PM nadirs not being too low.
I don't want to skip a shot unnecessarily if doing so will mess up her "insulin depot" and give me wonky values for the next few days.
Here is her spreadsheet: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet..._1zOmdvZNcpAhAt4uFq4Ua1VA/edit#gid=1182885903
Today she had a rather low PMPS test (160, using an AlphaTrak meter) and I'm unsure what the recommendation would be for her PM shot. Her regular dose is 2 units of Lantus. I'm not following any specific dosing protocol yet, the vet simply said to give 2 units twice a day and so that's what I've been doing. I see in the SLGS protocol one would skip a shot if the preshot value is under 150 (using a human meter), so by that rule I would skip today's shot since the AlphaTrak meter likely reads higher than a human meter.
But also, from Phoebe's past few days of data she typically has a high AMPS and then her numbers go down over the course of a day, often reaching the low 200s/high 100s in her PMPS, with her ultimate PM nadirs not being too low.
I don't want to skip a shot unnecessarily if doing so will mess up her "insulin depot" and give me wonky values for the next few days.
Here is her spreadsheet: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet..._1zOmdvZNcpAhAt4uFq4Ua1VA/edit#gid=1182885903