8/24 Muffin pmps 122 +1 108 +2 100

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=23116

Good morning LL!

I fed Muffin at +11 this morning. Shot 15 mins early and running out the door to take a friend to dr appt. Even though she is going down, I'm confident that she'll be fine, especially with early food on board. All other cats are outside, so leaving plenty of food out for her. Will check back when I get home. Hope all is well for everyone!
 
Re: 8/24 Muffin +11 90 amps 82

What food tricks you tried this morning, looks like it's working!

Yesterday we were well on our way to helping Anne compile a new resource book: "101 Ways To Get a Cat To Eat Right!"

Here are my entires for today:

1. Put the bowl of hard food into a zip-lock bag with an open can or bowl of soft food, and leave it for 10 minutes. Try to mix the smells.

2. Pulverize the hard food into dust with a chicken mallet or blender. Sprinkle the dust on the wet food.

:mrgreen:

Anne, to your knowledge, did Muffin ever have a bad experience with soft food? Eat something nasty outside somehwere? Just curious.

Hope you surf the day away, Muffin!
 
Re: 8/24 Muffin +11 90 amps 82 +2.5 72

Came home this morning to another "reduce" number (72@+2.5) Tomorrow morning I will set the alarm for 630 (+9) and feed her then. From her SS, it looks to be taking about 5 hrs for the food to hit. So I'm thinking stick with this dose and try the new feeding schedule and see what happens. Unless you guys think I should shave the dose again, as this is 3rd reduction number on this dose (eek, maybe I should shave it.

Kathy: :lol: on the book - love the title! And thanks for the entries - I've tried putting whole kibbles on top of canned, but never pulverized, so I'll try that. And to my knowledge, Muffin has never even sampled canned food (of her own free will anyway ;-) ). She did used to go outside sometimes when she was younger, so who knows - maybe she did have a bad experience. I never noticed her being sick or anything tho.

Pat: She ate every bit of it, so she should be in the blues shortly :-| (it was dry food)
 
Re: 8/24 Muffin +11 90 amps 82 +2.5 72 +3.5 104

+9 136
+10.5 119

Put out a fair amt of dry food at +9, most of which is gone by now, so we'll see what happens with her early cycle this evening. Good news is, I put the food directly on the desk at the base of a bowl of canned food, and she is eating even in this close proximity to the nasty stuff! No idea if this will lead anywhere, but it is an improvement - usually I have to scoot the dry a certain distance away from the wet before she'll touch it.

(Note to self: This is Sophisticat Supreme Liver & Chicken Dinner. This is the only place to write that so I KNOW I won't lose it! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/24 Muffin +11 90 amps 82 +2.5 72

Anne&Muffin said:
Came home this morning to another "reduce" number (72@+2.5) Tomorrow morning I will set the alarm for 630 (+9) and feed her then. From her SS, it looks to be taking about 5 hrs for the food to hit. So I'm thinking stick with this dose and try the new feeding schedule and see what happens. Unless you guys think I should shave the dose again, as this is 3rd reduction number on this dose (eek, maybe I should shave it.


I understand why you want to hold the dose (trust me, I do, Jill claims that I held onto doses longer than anyone else she has ever seen, though I dispute that!). But IMHO, it is too risky to run such low numbers on a cat that you can't count on being able to bring up with wet food.

Don't forget that the reason we aim for higher numbers on AlphaTrak is that Dr. Rand noted that it reads up to 30 points higher than human meters in this range. That means that the 63 you caught yesterday at +2.25 could have been as low as 33 on a human meter. I would make anybody reduce for a 33, especially one at +2.
 
Re: 8/24 Muffin +11 90 amps 82 +2.5 72 +3.5 104

That's a really good point Libby. When I was using both meters side by side, there was actually only one instance when the difference was 30 points. Most times it was a 40-50 pt difference. The lower readings had the smaller differences, but now I'm kind of scared, so I will shave some off the dose tonight. Thanks for looking out for us! :YMHUG:
 
pmps 122
+1 108
+2 100
Definitely dropping slower tonight. Will get a +3 (bedtime check), set alarm for +6 (no promises) and +9 (will feed again).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top