8/24 Clare AMPS 232;PMPS 292;+1-322;+2-359;+4-325;+5.5-357

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgette and Clare

Member Since 2014
Hello, Lantus Land Friends!

Yesterday's Condo

Today's News:

AMBG (no shot yet): 106
+0.5 232

Shot (0.25) Given at 7:45
+1: 166
+2: 87
+3: 77
+4: 53 :o
+4.5: 68 :mrgreen:
+5: 116
+6: 276 confused_cat
+7: 239
+11.5: 328

PMPS: 292
+1: 322
+2: 359
+4: 325
+5.5: 357

Today is the first day that we have a low pre-shot number for Clare. It's what we've been waiting for, but we're nervous nevertheless. nailbite_smile

Do you have any advice as to how to handle this? We will be delaying her shot until 7:30, because of last night's delayed shot. The current (106) test was taken at 6:30 and Clare was fed then. She's had a good breakfast.

Thanks, as always, for guiding us this far!!

Healing wishes and hugs to anyone who needs them this morning.
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 106 First Low Pre-Shot Number

You have 2 choices, you can stall and re-test in 20 - 30 min to see if numbers are going up or you can shoot. If you shoot, please be sure you have a supply of strips and high carb food on hand and that you'll be around to monitor. You'll want to get early tests (i.e., a +1 and +2) if you're shooting lower numbers than you're used to.

You might want to take a look at the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky, as well.
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 106 First Low Pre-Shot Number

Thanks, Sienne,

We'd decided to stall anyway, because we had missed the PM shot last night and then shot 2 hours late; and Clare was very hungry from not having had any food after +7. So we'll get another test now to see what's happening.

Thanks for being there!

We'll be around all day and can monitor her. We have strips and HC on hand.
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 106 First Low Pre-Shot Number

Morning Georgette! Our first PS under 200 today too! Looks like we'll be hanging out and monitoring together today. I'm in no position to give advice but I'll be here with you. Safe vibes for both kitties!!
Jen
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 106 First Low Pre-Shot Number

Georgette --

If you shot 2 hours late last night, your AM shot time is 12 hours from your shot time last night. You don't want to shoot earlier than 12 hours if you've got this kind of low number. (Shooting early is an option if numbers are high, not low.)

I didn't see the comment on your SS about the late shot.
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMBG 106;+0.5-232 First Low Pre-Shot Number

Jen, hi! It's good to have company!

Sienne, I made a comment on Clare's SS for yesterday -- it's at the end of my comments. We shot at 8 PM in the end, instead of 6 PM.

We just tested and she's at 232, so it looks like she's bouncing. :cry: Should we shoot today at 7:30, in order to start getting her back on track, or wait until 8?
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMBG 106;+0.5-232 First Low Pre-Shot/Bounce!

Hi Sienne,

We split the difference and shot at 7:45. We'll test at +1 and +2.

Thanks again for being there!
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232

Shooting 30 min. early is fine. I was concerned you were going to shoot 2 hrs early given the late PMPS. If Clare is bouncing like crazy this cycle, can you grab a test at AM +11.5? You may be able to shoot early depending on what the numbers look like.
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;+1-166

Hi Sienne,

We're on the way down again today! She's clearing the bounces quickly these days.

We'll get a +11.5 and let you know how it goes.

Thanks -- it looks like you're handling quite a few questions and issues today. I'm very grateful! :-D
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;+1-166

Given what Clare's looking like and the speed at which she's clearing the bounce, we'll really need to look hard at whether shooting early is a good idea. Clare seems to have a plan in mind and she's not sharing exactly what she's thinking!
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;+1-166;+2-87;+3-77;+4-53

Clare is still on her way down. She usually has her nadir at 4.5 or so, so we'll start testing more frequently. We just gave her some HC for the first time in 2 days. Hurts us to do it, because we think it might be contributing to her bounces; but we want to keep her safe.

Any suggestions for the rest of the AM cycle or the PM cycle tonight would be much appreciated!

Do we take a reduction and try the 0.1 again?

Thanks!
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;+1-166;+2-87;+3-77;+4-53;4.5-68

No dosing advice from me but I would have given the hc as well for what it's worth. :smile: come on up a bit now Clare. You are already on your way to OTJ so no need to keep trying to impress us.
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;+1-166;+2-87;+3-77;+4-53;4.5-68

Clare and I thank you for the encouragement, Elise and Max!

She listened, and came up for her 4.5. Will you tell her not to bounce too high now? I think she listens better to you and Max than to me.

I checked the protocol, and since she stayed above 50 I guess she didn't really earn a reduction. Patience pants! :roll:
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;+1-166;+2-87;+3-77;+4-53;4.5-68

Georgette and Clare said:
Clare and I thank you for the encouragement, Elise and Max!

She listened, and came up for her 4.5. Will you tell her not to bounce too high now? I think she listens better to you and Max than to me.

I checked the protocol, and since she stayed above 50 I guess she didn't really earn a reduction. Patience pants! :roll:

Clare no bouncing today!
Georgette, You are right we are in the same dance! hope very soon those pancreas start working (no more sleeping) :smile:

Judy
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;+1-166;+2-87;+3-77;+4-53;4.5-68

No problem. Consider it done. I must warn you though that Max won't listen to me. Don't fret about not earning a reduction too fast. The longer she stays under 120 the better to allow for her pancreas to heal. It also should lead to less bouncing but Max hasn't read that play book very well yet.
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;+2-87;+3-77;+4-53;4.5-68;+5-116;+

+6 is 276. Yikes!

Are these short bursts food spikes or are they bounces? Maybe it doesn't make a difference, except that maybe we could do something about the food spikes.

At least she was in the normal range for 4 hours this cycle. Hey Clare's pancreas - are you resting up?
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;+2-87;+3-77;+4-53;4.5-68;+5-116;+6-2

It's too big to be a food spike I think.
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;+2-87;+3-77;+4-53;4.5-68;+5-116;+6-2

Okay. It's good to have a calm and experienced person look at this while we're (temporarily) :-x at the bounce!

To add to our data, I'll get the +11.5 you suggested.

Onward! :arrow:

Thanks,

Georgette
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;+3-77;+4-53;4.5-68;+5-116;+6-276;+7-

That's interesting. Does this current 35+-point slide mean that some (relatively small) part of the spike in numbers was from food; but mostly it was from bouncing? The last time we fed Clare was at +5.
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;+3-77;+4-53;4.5-68;+5-116;+6-276;+7-

Georgette and Clare said:
That's interesting. Does this current 35+-point slide mean that some (relatively small) part of the spike in numbers was from food; but mostly it was from bouncing? The last time we fed Clare was at +5.

It could be but it also could be meter variance which if my sleepy mind is remembering correctly can be 20%. It's impossible to know for sure. I think that's why we look for trends.
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;+3-77;+4-53;4.5-68;+5-116;+6-276;+7-

looks like a bounce to me - food spikes don't usually go that high.

hindsight usually makes clear what's going on. it's possible with the +7/239 that she's already beginning to clear the bounce and it was very short-lived. it's possible it's just meter variance and essentially the same number as +6/276. i wouldn't worry about it.

i'd encourage you to use the + post icon when you have questions so they don't get missed. most of us look first for the question mark, then check other condos if there is time.

you'll find the ? in the line of post icons that includes the 911 and OTJ icons when you're writing or editing your first post of the day. then if you take it off once you've gotten your question answered to your satisfaction, you can put it back up again if you have a new question and it will get noticed.

eta - i wouldn't reduce the dose.
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;+4.5-68;+5-116;+6-276;+7-239;+11.5-3

Thanks for your thoughts, Elise and Julie,

It looks like Clare's continuing to bounce. In the past few cycles, the next round of insulin has appeared to do the trick to clear the bounces.

So tonight, our situation is that we're still working off a delayed PM shot from last night. It was delayed two hours - we shot at 8 instead of 6. We shot at 7:45 this morning, and fed Clare at the usual time - 6 AM.

Because Clare's going up now, should we shoot earlier tonight? When do you think we should shoot? Should we feed her dinner when we shoot, or at the usual time? She usually has dinner at 6, so this latest test was 1/2 hour before her normal dinner. Do we need another test before dinner or before we shoot?

Just thinking that it would be good to have a plan (I'm a planner by [retired] profession).

Thanks for your help and advice,

Georgette
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;+4.5-68;+5-116;+6-276;+7-239;+11.5-3

I wouldn't feed until just before you shoot. If you feed her early, that'll just add to the jump in the PS numbers. I know, kitties hate delays to dinner. :lol: I think with that jump up you could shoot 1/2 hour early tonight, at 7:15.

I wouldn't decrease either - Clare's liver need to learn that spending time in green is good.
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;+4.5-68;+5-116;+6-276;+7-239;+11.5-3

Usually we don't shoot more than 30 minutes early but one of the pros will help with that decision.

Are you a retired teacher by any chance?
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;+4.5-68;+5-116;+6-276;+7-239;+11.5-3

Thanks for the guidance, Wendy and Elise. Clare just came in to complain about her dinner being late! She's standing in front of the computer to get her point across. Ooops, now she's upchucked the grasshoppers she just caught on our walk!

We'll wait until 7:15, test, and assuming the number is the same or increased from 11.5, will feed and shoot the 0.25.

Elise, how did you guess? I taught for 17 years (accounting and economics) then on the side, because my position was tenured but not full-time, I started my own practice as a CPA/Financial Planner. I moved into doing that full-time after a few years. I specialized in socially responsible and sustainable investments. It was a fulfilling but somewhat nerve-wracking profession to be in over the past 27 years or so. I think it was preparing me to be a mamabean for a diabetic cat! :-D

Well, I gotta go clean the carpet now. Thanks for hanging in with us!
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;PMPS 292;+1-322

georgette, was that you who said a couple of days ago that having the ss be "ccc" instead of "pub" makes it load more slowly?

sometimes cats have what's called a "double-dip" with Lantus, meaning that they drop a little at the end of the cycle. As long as it's still higher than the nadir of that cycle (53) then typically, you're safe to shoot.
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;PMPS 292;+1-322;+2-359

Hi Julie,

No -- sorry, that wasn't me who talked about the loading speed of the ss.

A question for you or others who might be checking in: It looks like we've got a real bounce going, although Clare's eaten quite a bit in the beginning of the cycle so it might be that. We've had several cycles recently where the bounce has cleared in the early hours. Is it possible that Clare might clear her bounce say, at +3 or +4 or +5? What if we go to bed so we're not awake to make sure she's okay?

How do we best monitor a situation like this so that she's safe?

Thanks for your advice!
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;PMPS 292;+1-322;+2-359

good question, but i'm not sure i have a great answer. i shot punkin at 7am/pm and didn't go to bed til 11:30 (+4.5). His nadir was usually around 12:30, so +5.5. I could tell by +3 where he was typically headed, so i planned the rest of my evening from that.

when a bounce is clearing it's pretty impossible to predict what might happen. if you have the ability to leave food out for her, that's one possibility. some people use a timed feeder during the nights. I did that a few times. honestly, i wish i could say you could just go to bed and not worry, but she's clearing her bounces really quickly. I'd probably either set an alarm and get up and test, stay up late and test, or make sure food was available to her.

the good news is that she's clearing bounces quickly! that means she's getting accustomed to being back in normal numbers, and she's on a very small dose. all good signs.
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;PMPS 292;+1-322;+2-359

Hi Julie,

We decided to stay up until we're comfortable with where she's headed. We just don't have the history with Clare to be able to predict early on what she's going to do. We're working on it, though!

We have a timed feeder we can use for insurance later on, if we need to. She's just learned to use it.

Thanks for giving us a realistic picture of our choices,

Georgette
 
Re: 8/24 Clare AMPS 232;PMPS 292;+1-322;+2-359

we love our kitties! just want to keep the little ones safe, even when it means losing some sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top