8/23 Tootoo numbers ok but won't eat!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tooloo

Member Since 2013
AMPS 129; PMPS 102. Numbers have been ok, but Tootoo won't eat much today. Nibbled a little. Possible dental issues. But civvie Looloo doesn't seem to be eating much either. I'm worried about Tootoo losing weight too fast. Down to 14.5 on my scale (measures to nearest .5). He was 15.8 when he was diagnosed mid July. He's also acting unusual. Lethargic and uncomfortable.

I'm going to call vet tomorrow - a new one I've never used - and try to get both cats in. Civvie has been coughing some, but really worried about Tootoo. I'm going to print out the info on tight regulation protocol for vet so they know what I'm doing with him. Hoping this one will be supportive.

Any suggestions?
 
Is the weather hot where you are? That may be a cause.

Are you testing for ketones? If not, I'd suggest that you do. Even though Tootoo's numbers look good, if there's an inflammation/infection due to dental issues and he's not eating, it could be a scenario where he's more vulnerable to ketones developing.
 
I think it's a good idea to call your vet if TooToo isn't eating by tomorrow. Have you tried to put any bribe foods on his food like freeze dried chicken dust, Parmesan cheese, or anything similar that might bribe him to eat?
 
I did try some freeze-dried salmon treats. He ate a little. He's just acting so funny. He's not his happy playful self and looks uncomfortable. I made a vet appointment for early in morning for him. This vet sounds more supportive than last vet. I'm bringing his spreadsheet and copies of the info on protocol so she knows what I've been doing with him. Also, have fish gravel in his box so I can test ketones. If he'll pee in it. Took hours last time I tried it. Shares with civvie but I know she doesn't have ketones, so it shouldn't matter.

Thanks for the advice. I'll keep you posted.
 
I'm sorry Tootoo isn't eating much.
Bad appy is more stressful for beans than high numbers.... :sad:
I hope the vet can tell you what's going on with Tootoo, and make him feel better.
Sending tons of healing and good appy vines.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top