8/23 mocha pmps 246 +3 284

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterDevonMocha

Member Since 2009
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=22994

WCR: well, we all had a long night last night and then of course, we were bad beans and passed out most likely when she dropped the lowest. Please do not make me feel any worse, I already feel like there is a brick in my stomach because of it. I don't know what happened. The alarm was set to go off at +6.5, but I guess I didn't hear it, and peter never hears the alarm, and then before I knew it, it was +10 and peter was asking if we got up any more! We both jumped out of bed and there was mocha sleeping on the floor ... so we grabbed her and tested and got a 43 so we fed MC w/ HC gravy and then did half hour spot checks till +11 when she was coming up. I feel like she probably went super low and that 43 we got was her on her way back up .. Peter said there is nothing we can do about it now, but that doesn't make this sick feeling go away in my stomach. I am expecting a super high bounce today. Oh, and we are going to stick with the (F)1.5 at least for this morning. Until someone tells us we should go up tonight, which we are fine with. We just didn't know what to shoot.
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82

(((Devon and Peter)))
don't feel bad, under the circumstances last nite, I would of slept thru the alarm too, and I have!
So I know the feeling when you know you probably missed something, but all is ok this morning. A new day.
And a nice AMPS too.

No beating yourself up ok? :YMHUG: :YMHUG: and one for Mocha kitty :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82

This is such a strain with these tests at night...it is so hard to function when youa re sleep deprived. We can't do everything all the time...!! It is what it is...now, move on. Mocha is fine this morning so all is well!!!! :YMHUG:

I set my alarm for a +9 5am when I woke for the +7 =3am feeding. I wanted to just check Shadow to make sure he wasn't going lower towards the end of the cycle. Well, whatever happened, it never went off. I am going btb now myself. These things happen Devon...and luckily you woke and gave her the HC when you did.
I think that she probably was at the lowest when you got up...at that 43.
That's what I think.
If she went lower, how did she go up then? She would have stayed lower...with no HC then....
Yeah, I think you caught it at the right time.
She was acting fine when you woke up, right? See? It will be okay.... :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82

good morning, devon!
the over dose from last night *could* still be in play and the 82 amps is an HC induced number.
soooo, that means you're going to have to be hyper vigilant today about spot checking until we see her start bouncing.

same drill as last night. use hc gravy and MC to stay ahead of the numbers. don't wait for the numbers to drop before HC'ing, k?
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82

don't feel bad, I've slept through many test times before. Peter is right, what's done is done and Mocha is okay so don't stress over it.
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82

Jill & Alex said:
good morning, devon!
the over dose from last night *could* still be in play and the 82 amps is an HC induced number.
soooo, that means you're going to have to be hyper vigilant today about spot checking until we see her start bouncing.

same drill as last night. use hc gravy and MC to stay ahead of the numbers. don't wait for the numbers to drop before HC'ing, k?



Agrees with Jill! HC is your still your friend this morning.

Keep us posted too.
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82

Thank you everyone, yes I will be home today and will monitor extremely close ... she ate pretty well for breakfast, not all of it but as soon as she was done she wanted to play so we tossed a few mice for her until she wore herself out .. I do have MC and HC and test strips on hand today .. I will grab a +1 and keep you all updated of course ..
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82

good. i'm glad you'll be home today.
go easy on the exercise, k? we don't want exercise to lower her blood glucose.

yes, grab the +1. make sure you have plenty of strips and hc gravy. long lasting insulins can produce long hypoglycemic events... lasting more than 12 hours. we don't know if the effects of last night's shot was out of mocha's system before she was shot this morning. since we don't know... you'll have to monitor very carefully... and often.
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82

ok thanks Jill .. I will be a testaholic today! Was it right of us to stay with the (F)1.5, instead of going up to 1.75 like we had planned? (before the overdose of course)
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82

let's discuss dose later, k?
depending on how things go, you may not be shooting anything tonight in order to empty out her shed.
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82

Like Jill said, keep a watchful eye. There can be more overlap than you'd expect between last night's dose and this mornings since Mocha's shed is way too full. You and Peter are great at testing. It might be a day to bring out any HC treats if you still have any!!
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82

ok we will wait on dosing advice .. maybe we should not have shot any this morning? I guess we did not realize how long this overdose could last. I don't have any HC treats unfortunately ... besides mocha isn't big into treats .. we used to give her those when we first started giving shots and she caught on very quickly and hasn't liked any of them since!
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82

Yes, let's see how the day goes.
If you're ever not certain just post before you shoot.
Stick with the wet HC and what you do best - testaholic! ;-)
Lots of eyes on you guys this morning :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111

So I imagine this is a food spike. What do I do at this point? Retest in an hour and then possibly feed? Feed now? LC? MC? HC?
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111

.

HC gravy and MC is good, as Jill suggested earlier.

I'm inclined to suggest a +1.5
(the testaholic in me still lives!) :lol:
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111

Good luck today guys - I'd continue with the HC, if it were Mannie... I'd want to stay ahead of what you're seeing. But wait til you hear from the experts. Keep on testing

And don't fret last night - I know the feeling - fatigue sometimes wins out, and all one can do is keep on moving forward, deal with lies in front of us.
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +3 80

EDIT: +3/80, I guess you're further ahead on what time it is than I am, lol!

opps! +2/80 got it

ok, good good, doing good guys!
keep at it and thank you for updating!
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80

ok, onset is coming up - would you be able to check at +2.5?
no diving ok Mocha?
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80

You're doing great. I think alternating between gravy and MC + gravy is a good strategy for now. You may need to test more often as the insulin kicks in.

The downside of Lantus is that if you are over your dose, the effects run long. If you remember Baby's first day in LL when Nicole shot 5u vs. 0.5u, she was monitoring for well over 16 hours and at least one shot was skipped. It's a good FYI to think about. No worries though. Mocha is in very safe territory. Just keep checking back. Also, and this is for later, check in at least an hour before your PMPS. I'm not sure whether you may need to skip a shot or not, like Jill was suggesting.
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +2.5 73

ok well she dropped just a little, or maybe not at all with meter variance? I fed her some more HC gravy, but she only licked up about half of it .. what do I do if she won't eat? She is interested in playing, but I don't want her to drop so I picked up all their toys but then twix got the idea to run around like a mad woman and mocha started chasing her ...
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +2.5 73

One of the tricks I tried to get Luna to eat a little bit more is I'd follow him around with the bowl, place in front of him and voila.
It's tedious, but effective while you're steering the numbers.

You have any seafood flavours kicking around?
That may help when you really need it, but let's just see how it goes

EDIT: if you have to use a bit of seafood flavours, you'll want to top it with HC gravy

a little bit of a food at a time is good.

+3 next ok?

And try to relax, it's gonna be ok.
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +2.5 73

Hi Devon, Just wanted to pop in and offer my support. Try not to worry about whether she will eat or not eat right now. Ronnie has a good suggestion if needed and there are other things that will work. Mocha is going to be fine as long as you are there to carefully get her through the day. Most likely, if she did drop too low she would want to eat. All will be well and you can sleep later.
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +2.5 73 +3 77

Well she stayed somewhat consistent, so I fed her MC with just a touch of HC gravy mixed in, she did eat all of that. Poor girl .. as soon as it was test time and I was all ready to poke, the washing machine banged into the next cycle, the kitchen sinks started gurgling (yeah, don't ask about that!) The neighbor fired up his lawn mower, the neighbor kids started yelling for each other ... it was almost as if they knew what I was doing in here!

Thanks for the support everyone .. I wish these numbers were numbers she was giving off cause her body was working right, not cause we overdosed her last night, but it is what it is ... I will be posting before her reg shot time tonight, to double check on shot ....
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +2.5 73 +3 77

oh dear, too much noise!

glad she is eating.

rinse. lather, repeat as best as you can.
boy I wish she'd hurry up and starting bouncing already!
but not too much, lol.

the foods is helping right now...you'll be able to continue the testing this morning?

keep us posted!
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +2.5 73 +3 77

LOL. Why is that crash bang-em sounds happen right when you do not want your cat to get spooked?
In our house, I have to announce (yell) "QUIET" prior to working on one of my kitties.
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +2.5 73 +3 77

We would love updates throughout the day Devon....if you can, please let us know how Mocha is...
I would be vigilant about her numbers today!!! We are all watching and keeping our fingers crossed that today will be okay for her ...and YOU! So, would you mind updating to let us know that all is going well? :razz:
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +2.5 73 +3 77

I'm going to leave her SS open on my computer and will be stopping in so keep us posted if you can.
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +2.5 73 +3 77 +4 87

sorry for not updating sooner, my sister in law came over and it is very hard to test mocha when she is here ... but I did grab a +4 and she was at 87 so I fed her MC which she happily ate. She is now playing with the litter rocks that are on the bathroom floor.
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +2.5 73 +3 77 +4 87

Looking good...you are doing a great job Devon! Thank you for updating us....scritches to Mocha!
See you soon again, k? :razz:
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +2.5 73 +3 77 +4 87

You guys are doing a great job! Don't beat yourself up about sleeping through the alarm, we've all done it and mocha is just fine! It looks like you caught her at exactly the right time to me!
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +2.5 73 +3 77 +4 87

Lovely. :mrgreen: Keep those tests and updates comin'.
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +2.5 73 +3 77 +4 87

Like you, I can sleep through the sound of a nearby freight train passing if I'm really exhausted, but I have found that a vibrating cell phone clipped to my clothing (usually my pants waistband) works every time.

Minds out of the gutter, people.... :razz:
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +2.5 73 +3 77 +4 87

MJ+Donovan said:
Like you, I can sleep through the sound of a nearby freight train passing if I'm really exhausted, but I have found that a vibrating cell phone clipped to my clothing (usually my pants waistband) works every time.

Minds out of the gutter, people.... :razz:
haha_smiley haha_smiley haha_smiley haha_smiley

Doing great Devon! Keep it up.
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +2.5 73 +3 77 +4 87 +5 87

ok, she is staying steady .. do I continue to give the MC and HC foods to her?

MJ, well you won't believe this but, we live about 100 yards from a very well used train track, so we can honestly sleep through a freight trains horn with no problem!!
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +2.5 73 +3 77 +4 87 +5 87

HI!!

Just checking in on you guys in between paperwork crowding my desk ohmygod_smile

yes, please do continue as you have been.
still got that pesky nadir coming up - wherever it may be - lol! at this point I dunno, but you wanna stay on top of Mocha's numbers as you have been!
you never know what she might have up her sleeve, or paw :lol:
Great job!!
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +2.5 73 +3 77 +4 87 +5 87

You might give a bit more MC. If the +5 87 was after having MC, one might conclude that the +5 would have been lower without it.
I'd give MC one more time and then numbers might have you switch to LC soon.
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +2.5 73 +3 77 +4 87 +5 87

ok, I will go get her some MC .. she's sound asleep in the basket next to me, but I'm sure she will be up for a snackus!
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +2.5 73 +3 77 +4 87 +5 87

I’m not keeping up very well from work, but I wanted to pop in and say you’re doing a great job. It sounds like Mocha is enjoying the experience, playing with everything in sight. It’s funny that the one time you don’t want her to play hard, that is the only thing on her mind.

Keep up the testing and gravying. I don’t think she is surfing on her own just yet, otherwise all that HC would have caused her to bump up by now. You’re keeping her up with the gravy. I know it’s hard. It could go on for a little while. Don’t let up until you get a significant rise. You’re doing great, though, really.

Sometimes an overdose does result in a cat really kicking into great numbers for real. Let’s hope that is the case here. :smile:
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +2.5 73 +3 77 +4 87 +5 87

"Sometimes an overdose does result in a cat really kicking into great numbers for real. Let’s hope that is the case here" :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: oh my goodness ... libby, you are tooooo funny!
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +2.5 73 +3 77 +4 87 +5 87

Libby and Lucy said:
Keep up the testing and gravying. I don’t think she is surfing on her own just yet, otherwise all that HC would have caused her to bump up by now. You’re keeping her up with the gravy. I know it’s hard. It could go on for a little while. Don’t let up until you get a significant rise. You’re doing great, though, really.

you're doing GREAT, devon!
like libby said, continue with testing and offering gravy. it's the gravy that is keeping her steady right now... which is exactly what we want it to do. you'll want to continue offering gravy until we see the numbers rise significantly from the hc.

there are a lot of eyes ready to offer you support popping in and out of LL today. please continue updating throughout the day. :-D
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +4 87 +5 87 +6 124

ok she ate MC a half hour ago, is this the bounce starting to kick in?
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +4 87 +5 87 +6 124

lol! now there's a rise! :-D
could be a bounce setting in or it could be the hc has finally over powered the effects of the insulin. we'll know more as the day goes on. i'd retest at +7. please post the number.
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +4 87 +5 87 +6 124

Chiming in with big hugs and mugs of coffee for you guys! You're doing great. Don't be too hard on yourselves, okay? I'm glad Mocha is on the rise and hope it continues.
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +4 87 +5 87 +6 124

Hi Devon, I've been staying out of the way today, to let the experts stay with you. What a fantastic job you have been doing all day. Congrats!!!!! :-D
 
Re: 8/23 mocha amps 82 +1 111 +2 80 +4 87 +5 87 +6 124

124? :mrgreen:
That's so good Mocha!
I am going out cat food shopping now...hope you keep up the great work Mocha...
Oh, and YOU TOO Devon....outstanding job today!!! Keep on keeping on....will check when I get back!!
:mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top