8/23 Juggie amps 344 pmps 295 +2 317

DenaRox

Member Since 2021
previous

did amps before heading to work. He was at 344. Gave his .5U and his can of pate.

@Bandit's Mom sorry I missed your question on previous day, I was asleep already lol. I did amps but will not be able to do another until pmps but if helpful I could do +2,+4 after pm shot
 
Ok finally home. Long day. Did his pmps and it was 295. Will get a +2 and +4 but don’t think I’ll be up past that lol. Already ready for bed haha
 
With SLGS you want to try and assess weekly how low the dose is taking the kitty, and ideally a few spot checks here and there if and when you can, to fill in some of the missing pieces. FWIW, the last curve showed you should have held the dose. From the SLGS Sticky:

After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
Nadirs from your curve were between 90 and 149.

It would be great to try and get some random spot checks now and again to see how low the dose is taking Juggie. Preshots really don't give you a full picture.
 
Hi Christie,

Dena was due to do a curve last weekend but was very unwell and couldn't do one. She therefore held the dose and I suggested she try for some spot checks during the week if she can manage it. She will do a curve this weekend. That's the only time her work schedule allows her to do one.
 
If he is flat or higher at +2, you don't need any more tests after that. :)
He’s at 317. So quite a lot higher? Is it normal to go higher after insulin? He also barely ate his pate, normally he eats 1/2 the can but he just nibbled a bit then walked away. Is that the bouncing you told me about? I haven’t caught him going pee for a while so I’ll also try to get a ketodiastix test tonight to ease my mind.
 
He’s at 317. So quite a lot higher? Is it normal to go higher after insulin? He also barely ate his pate, normally he eats 1/2 the can but he just nibbled a bit then walked away. Is that the bouncing you told me about? I haven’t caught him going pee for a while so I’ll also try to get a ketodiastix test tonight to ease my mind.
There is a meter variance of 15-20%, so I would call this flat to higher. You don't need to stay up to get more tests tonight. Let's save that for a more active cycle.

He could be bouncing from a low he saw mid cycle. Or it's possible he's just flat and high and needs more insulin. We need more data to determine that. Hopefully he will give us a good curve cycle this weekend. Till then, grab a test whenever you can.
 
The +2 is actually flat as it’s within meter variance of 20%. He might not have onset yet. For my cat that was often at +2,5. Not all cats onset at +2. I suspect you just need an increase. You will find out when you are home and able to do a curve. Don’t get discouraged.
 
Thank you guys so much for taking the time to help and share info @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee and @Christie & Maverick

I do not know where Juggie and I would be without this forum :bighug: our vet diagnosed him, gave us insulin and a quick demo on shooting and then sent us on our way. When I called a few days later to see about when we need to come back they were like if he gets worse call. That was the last we spoke because I got online(thankfully finding you all) to help Juggie myself. Still on the hunt for a good sugar cat experienced vet.

anyway, I am beyond tired, hence the mushy babbling so thank you again and good night zzz
 
Unfortunately your experience is the norm rather than the exception. That’s why this forum exists. Get some needed sleep. That always helps. Good night.
 
Back
Top