8/23 Ahmin PMPS 117, +1 110, +2 72, +3.5 86, +4.5 110

Status
Not open for further replies.

christine&ahmin

Member Since 2011
This afternoon condo :
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=50613

Ahmin pre-shot number are lower than normal, thx for the help from Jill this afternoon.
pre-shot number drop to 99 now, should i give him 0.75u or skip this shot? i'm struggling now :?
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 99, Unusal PS number

Can you delay 15 minutes and retest to see if its a rising number? Don't feed.

I wonder if he earned a dose reduction with the 50 today. Question for the experts.
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 99, Unusal PS number

Can you stall and retest in 20 minutes to see if his numbers are rising?
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 99, Unusal PS number

This is where you really have to know your cat, and have enough data, and time to follow through on whatever you decide. The first time Stella had a 50 I dropped her dose by .25 and shot. If you look at Stella's SS I have shot very low numbers...99, 88 etc. When I shot the first one below 200 I was very nervous, but with data you know what your cat will do. Remember, it is YOUR cat, and YOUR decision. Again, be ready for anything. PS. Stella hates skipped doses, so I never do that...her SS tells me so. ;-)
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 99, Unusal PS number

Jill & Alex said:
i won't leave you alone until he's on his way up. happy you had hc in the house. you never know when you might need it.
the good news is ahmin has earned a reduction. you've had to work too hard to keep his numbers up. his new dose is 0.75 unit. :mrgreen:

Jill & Alex said:
for tonight's dose you have 2 options:

if ahmin bounces by pmps time you could shoot 1u tonight and then take the reduction to 0.75u in the morning

~ OR ~

you can reduce the dose to 0.75u tonight.:

jill adviced 2 options already, but i'm just wondering 99 is lower than today's AMPS, so still go ahead for 0.75u or should i skip it?
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 99, Unusal PS number

Test again to see if you have a rising or falling number. Then you can;
  • 1- Stall again, w/ no food, and do another test in 15 of 20 minutes.
    2- skip the shot
    3- Shoot a reduced dose

This looks like Ahmin has a really full shed and it is still influencing his numbers. How tight are you on shot times? can you afford to be a little late?
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 99, Unusal PS number

Hi there,

When is your usual shot time - I'm going to look at Ahminn ss and will return shortly. :smile:
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 99, Unusal PS number

Hi guys .. just wanted to stop in and give you support! I know it's scary shooting those first low numbers, but you got lots of people here with good advice and lots of experience, you're doing great!
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 99, Unusal PS number

shot time every 12noon & 12 midnight.
just retest ahmin, 133 now.
i can do test or shot later coz it's 12.24am now in HK,
and i dont have to work tonight or even tmr
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 99, Unusal PS number

Jill & Alex said:
i won't leave you alone until he's on his way up. happy you had hc in the house. you never know when you might need it.
the good news is ahmin has earned a reduction. you've had to work too hard to keep his numbers up. his new dose is 0.75 unit. :mrgreen:

Jill & Alex said:
for tonight's dose you have 2 options:

if ahmin bounces by pmps time you could shoot 1u tonight and then take the reduction to 0.75u in the morning

~ OR ~

you can reduce the dose to 0.75u tonight.

ahmin is 133 now, similar number to today's AMPS, i guess i should follows jill advice to give hime 0.75u, right?

AMPS 135
+2 50
+2.5 68
+2.75 64
+3.25 56
+3.75 66
+4.5 72
+5.25 101
PMPS 99
+ 0.5 133
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 99, Unusal PS number

That is a nice rise, you didn't feed did you? Are you able to test for the next few hours? Test again at 12:45 and we can get a better idea is this is a good rise. We want to see 2 rising numbers.
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 99, Unusal PS number

If Ahmin is still going up at the next test, I would shoot. We usually don't like to to stall and also shoot a BCS shot, but if you are more comfortable you could shoot a .5unit shot. Delaying the shot is like reducing the dose. You are already giving a reduction, so the 45 minutes late would act like an even larger reduction.How comfortable are you w/ staying up and testing?
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 99, Unusal PS number

he ate 1/2 small can LC food at 11.55am which is about 40mins ago.
I tested him on 11.50am, then he was meowing for food, so i fed him at 11.55am.
since PMPS is 99 only, so i stall the shot
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 99, Unusal PS number

Ah, just saw kerrie's post. So this rise is food influenced. It makes deciding a little trickier. Next time if you have a low preshot number don't feed, we want to see what the BG is doing w/out the food influence.
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 99, Unusal PS number

i'd shoot. jill already said .75, which is already a reduction. you've fed him, you say you're home to monitor and have supplies. part of working towards off of insulin is learning to shoot low. as long as you're monitoring you're ok.
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 99, Unusal PS number

Since you fed him the 133 may be inflated by food.

I agree with julie - shoot the .75u -- as long as you can monitor and are prepared to guide the cycle with food if needed.
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 99, Unusal PS number

it's daytime in the US, 9:45am for me. you'll want to get a +2 and see how it goes from there. just edit your subject line and repost your new numbers. someone will be here. i'll actually be out from your +2-+3, but here otherwise. almost always someone's on during the day.

you can set an alarm and sleep in between.
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 99, Unusal PS number

Yes, if you can stay up to test go ahead and shoot the reduction. That and the stall should take the edge off the shed. You can readjust you time by 15 minutes a cycle or 30 minutes once a day. some cats react to the bigger step though.
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 99, Unusal PS number

there ya go, christine - so at least 3 of us will be keeping an eye out for your posts today. :-D you'll do fine. so will ahmin!
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 99, Unusal PS number

just gave Ahmin 0.75u, he was 117 b4 shot

AMPS 135
+2 50
+2.5 68
+2.75 64
+3.25 56
+3.75 66
+4.5 72
+5.25 101
PMPS 99
delay shot time 55mins
new PMPS 117
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 99, Unusal PS number

super!

so go ahead and edit your subject line of the first post of this thread so it reads:

8/23 ahmin pmps 117

and at +2, add it on like this:

8/23 ahmin pmps 117 +2 100 (or whatever)

and if you get scared and want instant attention, just include that "help" or whatever. otherwise i know people will keep an eye on your subject line and jump in if you need it. basically you're just hanging out waiting for ahmin to go below 50, then you're going to do what you did last night: give a tsp of gravy, wait 15-20 minutes, test again.
 
Re: URGENT!! 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 99, Unusal PS number

OK, you shot basically an hour late and had your earned reduction as well. Still keep a close eye on him. He is down already from that food spike, i would check at least hourly until +6. I know it sucks in the middle of the night, sorry. :?

Has he had all is food now? Besure to post every test and show when you feed as well.
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 117

he ate b4 midnight, so i guess he may want to eat around 2-3am if he's not sleepy.
thx for helping me & supporting me! I'll keep u guys updated :smile:
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 117

No worries, Tess is low so i am dancing attendance on her too! :roll: But at least it is daytime for us.
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 117, +1 110

AMPS 135
+2 50
+2.5 68
+2.75 64
+3.25 56
+3.75 66
+4.5 72
+5.25 101
PMPS 99
delay shot time 55mins
new PMPS 117
+1 110 (1/2 small can LC canned food @ +0.5)

Ann & Tess said:
No worries, Tess is low so i am dancing attendance on her too! :roll: But at least it is daytime for us.
you & Tess are doing great :-D
absolutely not a problem to me for staying very late at night, i usually go bed around 4-5am b4 Ahmin DX ;-)
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 117

Don't give him too much food too early or he may not be hungry when you need to get some food into him quickly. Since he is still dropping this early you may need to get more food in later.

How often do you usually feed? A lot of us give several small meals instead of one or two larger ones. It spreads the carbs out so when the insulin kicks in it has something to work on.
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 117

Ann & Tess said:
Don't give him too much food too early or he may not be hungry when you need to get some food into him quickly. Since he is still dropping this early you may need to get more food in later.

How often do you usually feed? A lot of us give several small meals instead of one or two larger ones. It spreads the carbs out so when the insulin kicks in it has something to work on.

he usually wants to eat 1/2 to 4/5 small can every 2hrs after DX, i'm not sure if this amount is small or large for him actually, i just feed him whenever he asks for it
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 117, +1 110

so no problem getting him to eat! :lol: But that sounds like a lot. How many cans a day?

He will probably start eating less as he becomes regulated. Diabetes prevents the proper absorption of nutrients from food. How much Ahmin eats depends on his weight, the calories in the food, his activity level and some cats have just gotten used to eating more. Depending on the cat between 18 and 30 kcal per pound. How much does Ahmin weigh?
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 117, +1 110

he eats 10-12oz per day, depending on his appetite.
he's 4.1kg at the vet when DX, and i can see he gains some weight recently, now his body shape seems as same as he was b4 diabetes
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 117, +1 110, +2 72

AMPS 135
+2 50
+2.5 68
+2.75 64
+3.25 56
+3.75 66
+4.5 72
+5.25 101
PMPS 99
delay shot time 55mins
new PMPS 117
+1 110 (1/2 small can LC canned food @ +0.5)
+2 72

still in control, right? I'm thinking should i start to test every 30mins from now on til his nadir (his nadir usually around +5) ?
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 117, +1 110, +2 72

Yes, that would be good. You could give him just a touch of LC food or even a half teaspoon of gravy to slow him down a little.
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 117, +1 110, +2 72

AMPS 135
+2 50
+2.5 68
+2.75 64
+3.25 56
+3.75 66
+4.5 72
+5.25 101
PMPS 99
delay shot time 55mins
new PMPS 117
+1 110 (1/2 small can LC canned food @ +0.5)
+2 72 (1/2 teaspoon HC gravy)

haha....he loves the gravy soooooooooooo much, he's meowing for more, dont worry i would not give him more unless his bg drop more ;-)
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 117, +1 110, +2 72

AMPS 135
+2 50
+2.5 68
+2.75 64
+3.25 56
+3.75 66
+4.5 72
+5.25 101
PMPS 99
delay shot time 55mins
new PMPS 117
+1 110 (1/2 small can LC canned food @ +0.5)
+2 72 (1/2 teaspoon HC gravy)
+2.5 76
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 117, +1 110, +2 72

I don't know what food you are feeding Ahmin, so no idea how many calories per ounce . Most cat foods are between 25 and 40 kcal/ounce, Fancy Feast is usually about 31 as an example. If your food is on the list you can find the kcal/can on the far right. Some list it on their cans or on their website. since foods vary so much in calories, just going by ounces doesn't work.

Ahmin weighed about 9 pounds at dx and you say he has gained a little, now probably between 9 and 10 pounds. So, between 180 and 300 kcal/day.

This is a good discussion on how much to feed your cat.http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31942&p=545134#p545134

Also check out Dr. Lisa Pierson's site and Max's House for more information on cat nutrition.
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 117, +1 110

christine&ahmin said:
he eats 10-12oz per day, depending on his appetite.
he's 4.1kg at the vet when DX, and i can see he gains some weight recently, now his body shape seems as same as he have diabetes

Hi Ann, do u think he's eating too much now?
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 117, +1 110, +2 72

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: Very nice surf starting there, just not too much food if he needs more later.
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 117, +1 110, +2 72

Do Lou and I are just stopping by to offer support you are doing super :mrgreen: and you have lots of great help with you today
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 117, +1 110, +2 72, +3.5 86

my sweetie Ahmin is doing great :lol:

AMPS 135
+2 50
+2.5 68
+2.75 64
+3.25 56
+3.75 66
+4.5 72
+5.25 101
PMPS 99
delay shot time 55mins
new PMPS 117
+1 110 (1/2 small can LC canned food @ +0.5)
+2 72 (1/2 teaspoon HC gravy)
+2.5 76
+3.5 86
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 117, +1 110, +2 72, +3.5 86

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: Purrfect! No need to feed this one, but test again in an hour.
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 117, +1 110, +2 72, +3.5 86

looks like everything is going super!

ann, i'll check back at 2:45 to see how things are as well.
 
Re: 8/23 Ahmin PMPS 117, +1 110, +2 72, +3.5 86

Ann & Tess said:
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: Purrfect! No need to feed this one, but test again in an hour.

YES, Captain :mrgreen:

julie1220 said:
looks like everything is going super!

ann, i'll check back at 2:45 to see how things are as well.

Thanks Julie :mrgreen:
 
AMPS 135
+2 50
+2.5 68
+2.75 64
+3.25 56
+3.75 66
+4.5 72
+5.25 101
PMPS 99
delay shot time 55mins
new PMPS 117
+1 110 (1/2 small can LC canned food @ +0.5)
+2 72 (1/2 teaspoon HC gravy)
+2.5 76
+3.5 86
+4.5 110

Have a question, nadir of PM cycle came earlier than before, is it because of the shooting time delay & the reduction of dosage?
 
my guess would be that the addition of the high carb gravy at +2 changed the story line that followed. i wouldn't make any assumptions about nadir from this cycle.

the food - insulin relationship is so inter-related that when you change the pattern of one, it affects the other. does that make sense?
 
You were manipulating her numbers w/ food, so the food was controlling where the nadir ended up. The very full shed was what caused the dropping numbers at preshot.

If you can stand it, I'd get one more test in an hour, Ahmin's nadir can be anywhere from +4 to +6. But since you haven't fed in over 2 hours he may stay up. If it were me I would get one last test to make sure the numbers stay up w/out food.
 
i'm sorry that because Ahmin kept meowing loudly for food, i just fed him 1/2 small can of LC canned food :sad:
i believe tmr i'll doing better coz i learnt a lot today.
i'll do the test at +5.5 again
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top