? 8/22 Prince PMPS 306. Dose increase tomorrow?

Prince’s Mom

Member Since 2020
It’s been 7 days already. Still pretty flat. Do I need to increase to 3.75 tomorrow or do I give this a few more days?
 
I’d take him up tomorrow. You haven’t seen blue since you increased last time. Work it Prince.
 
Let’s hope!!! I feel like his numbers looked better at 3.25 than they do at 3.5. What if increasing gives us worse numbers?
 
Last edited:
Hi Lisa, just looking back through Prince’s SS I see in mid May the ER vet got you to reset the dose at 1 unit down from 2.75 units. Why did he do that.?
That is rarely a good idea and often the cat will start showing ketones in the urine when the insulin is reduced like that, especially if the cat is also unwell or not eating. I see you noted he was drinking and peeing a ton….this is from reducing the insulin so much.

Have you thought about switching to TR?
You are testing enough?
With increases more frequently, you might start to see better numbers.
I see you have listed YA Zero Mature. Do you feed much of that? . Maybe you could switch to a feeeze dried treat instead, if that is what is stopping you switch to TR
 
I’m not sure why the ER vet wanting us to decrease. At the time, I was willing to go with her advice. I have completely stopped the YA at this time. I’m really hesitant to try TR.
 
Back
Top