8/22 Luci AMPS 299-vomiting all day! PMPS 371,2+311 - seems better now

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue and Luci

Member Since 2017
Anyone have any ideas? Why all the vomiting? She's NEVER vomited all day. What might cause this? Last test was over 300 (numbers are upstairs)...and she hasn't been able to keep food down all day - what about PM shot with no food???

Latest update at PMPS: 371 - stayed in the utility room for an hour after eating a pouch of FF brothy delights (whatever that is)...no evidence of puking! Thank god!

She's eating now (FF chicken feast and a little bit of brothy delight, salmon flavor) - will be giving her 1 u in just a few minutes.

Yesterday-Chasing sharks - earned a reduction

Well, Luci is full of surprises - seems like I'd get used to that?:eek: NOT.

She decided to take a quick plunge in the lagoon...and I wasn't watching to see if she'd eaten the HC/MC combo I gave her - well she didn't and continued to dive...hope it was the right thing to do by taking her down another .25. We'll know soon enough.

Last night she gave DH a scare by diving fast and furiously to 76 by +4...:eek:

We'll see if today she behaves and is a good girl...working her juice nice and slow - I must be delusional...this girl never does anything nice and slow...speedy, speedy all the way!:facepalm:

Sending vines and hugs to everyone here in L&L land. Prayers to those in need with sick kittiehs.:bighug:
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Yesterday-Chasing sharks - earned a reduction

Well, Luci is full of surprises - seems like I'd get used to that?:eek: NOT.

She decided to take a quick plunge in the lagoon...and I wasn't watching to see if she'd eaten the HC/MC combo I gave her - well she didn't and continued to dive...hope it was the right thing to do by taking her down another .25. We'll know soon enough.

Last night she gave DH a scare by diving fast and furiously to 76 by +4...:eek:

We'll see if today she behaves and is a good girl...working her juice nice and slow - I must be delusional...this girl never does anything nice and slow...speedy, speedy all the way!:facepalm:

Sending vines and hugs to everyone here in L&L land. Prayers to those in need with sick kittiehs.:bighug:
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Luci is sick today... tossed her food x 2...
Not sure what’s up with that..
 
Ahhh I'm sorry luci isnt feeling well, sending lots of :bighug::bighug::bighug:
It must be all the running around she doeso_O
 
I hope 1u works this time around. It's good Luci is staying high if she's not keeping her food down. Hopefully she's done puking. :bighug:
 
Do u think maybe she got into something (human food)
Pancreatitis causes vomiting. How is she acting
 
Last edited:
Not to be too graphic, but are you sure it's her food she is vomiting? How many times has she vomited. True confession, I keep a vomit log. :oops: And also notes of food changes, if any. At one point Neko's GI system told me she could no longer handle the wheat in some HC's.
 
Not to be too graphic, but are you sure it's her food she is vomiting? How many times has she vomited. True confession, I keep a vomit log. :oops: And also notes of food changes, if any. At one point Neko's GI system told me she could no longer handle the wheat in some HC's.

@Bellasmom, @Wendy&Neko - Luci has only tossed her own cat food today. I saw and smelled (ugh) the FF beef that I fed her AMPS along with a freeze dried chicken snack with her shot. All of that was deposited on my bathroom rug downstairs which I discovered within the hour ...cleaned that up...

Tested her at 2+ and fed her a very small amount of the same FF beef - she tossed that up shortly thereafter per DH downstairs on the carpet.

I tested her at 6 or 7+ (my notes are in the kitchen); fed her a small amount of brothy type FF in the pouch and locked her in the downstairs bathroom - she puked on the bathmat (just a terry towel mat)...another item into the washer...

Finally put her in the utility room and came back a short time later - clearer vomit this time - I heard her heaving and watched the poor thing gagging it up...of course on a throw rug I had in front of the washer (why do they always want to puke on rugs!!!???)...anyway, no food on board now...she's down there in the utility room resting on the window sill - I opened the window for her so she'd have some fresh air -but I'm hesitant to offer any more food...so it's been going on all day...I'm worried because I had some yarn out that I was sorting through and am thinking maybe she ate a 'string' of loose yarn??? I asked DH to check to see if she'd used the LB today - he never responded so I'm going to go check that now...

I'm worried because it's only 3.5 hours until PMPS - and I'm thinking that it would be better to skip insulin tonight if she's not going to be able to keep anything on her stomach...at what point do I call the vet? This is very unusual for her...she has of course puked a time or two in the past - mostly hairballs...but never repeatedly puked up all her food...

Update: LB looks normal for 24 hours.
She puked again on the mat in front of the LB...mostly clearish but some brownish (like her FF beef)...still coming back. She was resting in a bin of towels/cloths used for cleaning and purred when I petted her...then she went over and jumped back on to the windowsill...she let me pet her some more there...I asked her what was wrong...she didn't answer... :( :( :(
 
Last edited:
Poor Luci! Cats can have a day where they are nauseous for no apparent reason, just like us humans. I hope she feels better so you can get some food in her and she keeps it down so you can shoot.
 
Poor Luci! Cats can have a day where they are nauseous for no apparent reason, just like us humans. I hope she feels better so you can get some food in her and she keeps it down so you can shoot.

That would be a first. First time giving her food and waiting to see if she keeps it down before shooting. Basically she has nothing in her stomach at this point...and I'm very nervous about giving her insulin with no food on board...If I'd known she was going to puke up her breakfast I'd probably have been reluctant to give her a shot this am....so now I know what's coming...very, very apprehensive about this evening...The last thing I want to do is add to her troubles...she's obviously not feeling well...and I give her insulin? Which will take her to hypo if she doesn't eat..or eats and throws it all up...what to do, what to do...?????
 
Not all insulin is used to counter the carbs in food. Kitties undergoing anesthesia, and unable to eat, get 1/2 dose. If she's sky high, you might want to give her a token dose of something.

Is she drinking water? Could you try something like plain babyfood chicken. Try something other than beef. I would call the vet tomorrow if she's not better. I'd be worried about something blocking her if not better by then. I had a locum vet once tell me that a large number of the vomiting situations clear within 24 hours on their own. Which is why vets encourage you to bring the cat in right away, and they look like heroes the next day. :p

Any pain to touch on her sides?
 
Not all insulin is used to counter the carbs in food. Kitties undergoing anesthesia, and unable to eat, get 1/2 dose. If she's sky high, you might want to give her a token dose of something.

Is she drinking water? Could you try something like plain babyfood chicken. Try something other than beef. I would call the vet tomorrow if she's not better. I'd be worried about something blocking her if not better by then. I had a locum vet once tell me that a large number of the vomiting situations clear within 24 hours on their own. Which is why vets encourage you to bring the cat in right away, and they look like heroes the next day. :p

Any pain to touch on her sides?

I'll check. Put down water for her - but it was a big fresh bowl - did not observe her drinking from it. She feels a bit 'deflated' to me today - abdomen is soft - usually she's such a little pig, her tummy feels full and big to me..but not today...poor thing reminds me of me when I have the flu... :( . I'm going to feed her one of those brothy pouches to see if she can keep it down - unfortunately that'll happen at 11+ (6 p.m. our time) an hour before her test time. I'll test and if she's on the moon - she's been going up all day - maybe shoot .5 or .25 only - first lets see if she can avoid puking up the brothy pouch thing...DH and I compared notes and she hasn't kept any food down all day...stay tuned.
 
I am thinking that whatever you steered with yesterday to bring her up has caused some GI upset for her. Look back and see if what it was and maybe she has decided to be sensitive to something in the HC. My cats both got so sick, vomiting and diarrhea from a formula that my ex-vet recommended to have extra fiber and it had corn in it. Did you steer with corn syrup by any chance?
 
I am thinking that whatever you steered with yesterday to bring her up has caused some GI upset for her. Look back and see if what it was and maybe she has decided to be sensitive to something in the HC. My cats both got so sick, vomiting and diarrhea from a formula that my ex-vet recommended to have extra fiber and it had corn in it. Did you steer with corn syrup by any chance?
Nope, no corn syrup....just a dab of HC and a dab of MC with a sprinkle of freeze dried chicken - once I realized she hadn't eaten it! She needed to eat at 4+ but snubbed it...and I didn't check...and she went lower... :( So then I added a tad more MC and some crushed freeze dried chicken...

The latest report: She's in the utility room laying on the soft rug that I've laid on top of the dryer (a fav spot of hers)...ate most of the brothy pouch...and no vomit in the room - yet. It's been 30 minutes since she ate. Hope that's a good sign. I'll go down and get her in 30 minutes - test, feed another brothy pouch - and then prep her insulin - I suspect she's going to be even higher this evening than she was earlier today...whatever it was has certainly upset her little system (with the vomiting and those high numbers)...poor little girl...breaks my heart to see her sick :( :(

But she still purrs when I pet her -no guarding or tummy tenderness that would cause her to react as if she was in pain...so those are good signs...hope whatever it was is passing... fingers, paws crossed...
 
:bighug: Poor little girl.:(

Almost sounds like a bad can of food. Was it all the same food she threw up? Did you give any nausea meds or SEB?

Her FF beef - her favorite usually - wasn't so much today! Freeze dried chicken...usually a fav...
1/3 pouch of FF brothy mix of chicken... all tossed...

Just an hour ago I fed her the last half of the pouch - so far so good....

I don't have any nausea meds. What is SEB?
 
Her FF beef
Beef makes Bubba vomit within 15 minutes of eating it. It is a common in tolerate food for kitties. She could have developed an allergy to it. Try keeping it away from her once the vomiting is over and then in a few days give it again and see what happens. If she starts vomiting again, then AHA!

Just rule out that it's not an allergic food reaction.
 
Beef makes Bubba vomit within 15 minutes of eating it. It is a common in tolerate food for kitties. She could have developed an allergy to it. Try keeping it away from her once the vomiting is over and then in a few days give it again and see what happens. If she starts vomiting again, then AHA!

Just rule out that it's not an allergic food reaction.

If I can work up the courage to try the beef FF again - it'll have to be under lockdown (by that I mean in the utility room with the rugs up, where she can access her water dish and LB)...and hopefully avoid washing/cleaning every rug/carpet within the puke radius...OMG-lots of laundry and carpet cleaning today...this was very unusual for her...she's never spewed like that as far as I can recall...poor baby :(
 
Slippery Elm Bark. It coats and soothes the GI track. You mix it with hot water and make a slurry with it and either syringe it into their mouth or mix it with food. It is kinda like Pepto (not safe for kitties).

http://felinecrf.org/holistic_treatments.htm#seb_what_is_it

Interesting...I'm hoping this is a 'once in a long long while' kinda thing...maybe bad food? Maybe kitty-virus??? She does seem to be improving in the last few hours - no puking whatsoever - however I'm not taking any chances - after she ate and had her 1 u insulin I quarantined her in the utility room again. She's sitting in the window again (window is open and she can get fresh air and see the birds or whatever is out there moving about)...and she can relax on her rug on the dryer...fresh water and LB handy for her - no rugs on the floor for mama to have to wash/clean tonight. I'll check on her in 30 minutes to see if we're still in the 'no puke zone'...maybe let her rest in there until 2+ when I test her...if no puking guess I'll let her back out into the rest of her house...hopefully she won't puke later this evening...

If this gets to be a regular thing I'll certainly get some slippery elm bark and give it to her - it sounds so good, is it good for humans with upset tummies too? Sounds like it works miracles on lots of things! :)
 
Sending lots of no-puke vines for Luci. It sounds like the "24-hour" thing, or maybe a bad can of food. Has she pooped?

Feel better, Luci!

When I cleaned her box this afternoon there were the usual findings...poo and pee balls...this was a 24 hour cleaning - so nothing unusual that I could see there. I'll be checking on it again tomorrow afternoon - just to make sure her system is still doing what it does ...

She seems to be feeling better...she rolled over and stretched out full length and was purry when I went down to pick her up for the PM 2+ - and settled right down for her test, now she's eating a little more of that FF pouch and a small dab of chicken feast FF...maybe it was the beef...maybe something she ate yesterday (HC or MC)...whatever is was I'm thankful she seems better now..relaxed and not puking...let's see what happens overnight - mama is heading to bed..DH will check her later - although now he's complaining of an upset tummy too!...what the heck is going on here??? Maybe the bug has hit our house...I need to try to dodge it...!!
 
Beef makes Bubba vomit within 15 minutes of eating it. It is a common in tolerate food for kitties. She could have developed an allergy to it. Try keeping it away from her once the vomiting is over and then in a few days give it again and see what happens. If she starts vomiting again, then AHA!

Just rule out that it's not an allergic food reaction.

Just wanted to follow up on this thread - Luci is eating her FF beef today (First time since 'the episode')...and keeping it down like a champ...she hasn't had a puking episode since that one day - might have just been a bad can...sheesh! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top