8/21 Shadow 288 +4 206

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/21 Shadow +24 288 what's next?

I'm up for anything. I'm about 1.5 hours later than I wanted to be, I'm in Central time zone. I hate these dinners. I have to fake being "on" when what I want is to be home with my sick kitty.

I'd be thrilled to find out she isn't a high-dose kitty. After learning what I have about the protocol, I had already figured that she had gone too far too fast.

I'll do 3 units bid. I'll do whatever it takes. Name it. I'm there.
 
Re: 8/21 Shadow +24 288 what's next?

excellent! I hope you'll be glad you reduced to 3. Keep posting daily, we'll keep an eye on you and fast track Shadow back up the dosing scale if needed. Hopefully it won't be needed.

If you shoot now, your next shot will be due 12 hours from now. We try not to move them back more than about 1/2 hour a day, unless numbers are high enough to shoot early.

You have two options tonight:

1) skip it and start over tomorrow.
2) shoot now, and shoot no earlier than +11.5 in the morning.

Shooting tonight will mean some monitoring tonight, are you up for that? I don't think either option is better or worse than the other, since we're starting over anyway. Is Shadow ketone prone? If so, then it is more important to get some insulin into her.
 
Re: 8/21 Shadow +24 288 what's next?

We can take some time working back to 10A 10P. This next week, M-T-W, I leave for work at 1P. Getting home is less predictable but my boss is understanding and I can work around whatever Shadow needs me to do. For the most part.

So, 3u? I'm up for it. Is that what you want me to do? I'm all changed into jammies and ready for another late night if need be.

I don't want to skip again unless you think I should. I can do 3u now and repeat in 12 hours.

She tinkles on the floor several times a week and while that is distressing, I figure it is an easy way to test ketones. We have NEVEr had positive ketones.

So I'm getting ready to shoot 3 units. retest when?
 
Re: 8/21 Shadow +24 288 what's next?

cool. I would test at +2, and take it from there. Below is more or less what your curve should look like (though she might keep going up tonight because we drained her shed a little bit). Shadow does seem to nadir later than +6, so keep that in mind if you get low numbers.


Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Re: 8/21 Shadow +24 288 what's next?

Hey what do you know...I am here! It's morning for me now. I think "starting over" is a great idea. Shadow is not that high so I think if you shoot the 3U you should get a test at +1 and that number will guide you as to when you should test again.
 
Re: 8/21 Shadow +24 288 what's next?

sorry, didn't mean to abandon you, but my own kitty was 41 and i had to feed... which means feeding the rest of the crew, too! :mrgreen:
i agree with everything libby has mentioned. 3u bid may or may not be the right dose, but we can adjust from there...
 
Re: 8/21 Shadow +24 288 what's next?

I am abandoning you, sleepy time for me, but you know what to do. I hope you have a good night and that you don't have to stay up too late.
 
Re: 8/21 Shadow +24 288 what's next?

3u done deal. repeat at 12:55 tomorrow.

thank you, thank you.

be back at +1 and then +2 and we'll see what you think at that time. reckon you'll still be up? If not, I will compile numbers and see what the day folks say.

Good morning Monique. you are keeping some odd hours, well, maybe not odd hours for Bavaria but I appreciate it!!

I feel so relieved to have some guidance. I don't know how I can ever express my gratitude for you folks helping me dig my way out of this hole Shadow and I were in.
 
Re: 8/21 Shadow +24 288 what's next?

i'll be heading to bed in the not too distant future, but the other side of the world is waking up. you won't be alone in LL...
 
Re: 8/21 Shadow +24 288 what's next?

Jill & Alex said:
sorry, didn't mean to abandon you, but my own kitty was 41 and i had to feed... which means feeding the rest of the crew, too! :mrgreen:
i agree with everything libby has mentioned. 3u bid may or may not be the right dose, but we can adjust from there...

Hey Jill, is Alex still on insulin? I know she was back On TJ at one point (when she was sick) so she hasn't gone off again?
 
Re: 8/21 Shadow +24 288 what's next?

thanks Libby and thanks Jill. rest well.

Monique - I will be back with +1 and then +2 numbers and I'll see what you think as we go forward.

be talking to ya in a bit.
 
Re: 8/21 Shadow +24 288 what's next?

Monique & Spooky said:
Hey Jill, is Alex still on insulin? I know she was back On TJ at one point (when she was sick) so she hasn't gone off again?
alex is on insulin for the third time in 4 years after honeymooning for almost 3 years. she's been on insulin since march. the DX was "unknown origin" causing severe liver disease and acute renal crisis. she does great and then out of the blue suffers a relapse. she's been yo-yo'ing back and forth like that for months. my vet can't believe she's still alive...

sorry for the thread hi-jack, kim!
 
Re: 8/21 Shadow +24 288 what's next?

Ok, I'll be around it's 8:00 in the morning here so I think we must be 7 hours ahead of US central time (I'm on CET which is GMT +1)
 
Re: 8/22 Shadow 288 Is this AMPS?

OK. thought I posted this, but I don't see it.

12:55 am 288. shot 3u. on my SS, is this AMPS or PMPS?
+1 277

here's my thoughts, and please correct me if I'm wrong. I'm trying so hard to get this. if her AMPS is 288 and she gets 3u, from her curves, I know that onset is around +3. So seems like that is the next critical number to get. yes?

then, she nadirs late, like +8, +9; so seems like those are the next critical numbers to get after that. and if I can stay awake to do spot checks, so much the better.

bottom line - is this a good plan and do you think I can go to bed yet?
 
Re: 8/21 Shadow 288 is this AMPS or PMPS?

Hi Kim, I think this is your PMPS (288) the number you got right before you gave the shot. So now the +1 (1 hour post shot) is 277. As you can see there is obviously not much "shed" left from the insulin you gave yesterday and this new 3U dose hasn't kicked in yet (onset is usually +3 or so) I think at 277 Shadow should be safe for a bit. I assume she has eaten and you could leave her a small LC snack and take a nap. I would set an alarm for +4 (if onset is at +3 that means 1 hour after the insulin begins working you want to see where she's headed) Each test will guide you as to when you should test again.

I guess it doesn't matter what you call it AM or PM. If I were giving my shots at 1:00 AM and 1:00 PM (13:00 international time :-D ) then I would call the 1:00 AM (AMPS) and 1:00 PM (PMPS) some people go by is it dark or light outside then 1:00AM it's dark so they say it's night and therefore PMPS kwim?

Important is that you can keep it straight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top