8/21 Harley 58 AMPS (skip) 69 +4, 149 PMPS 46 +4

Status
Not open for further replies.

KKL

Member Since 2013
Have to leave for the day, can't hold and definitely don't want to shoot this low....is there ever a point on a super low dose (just doing the plunger depress method right now for "0.05") that one would shoot only once a day vs twice a day? I think he's close to OTJ, but maybe not just yet, so scaling back a dose and seeing how he reacts?? Food other than his LC seems to upset his system...
 
Re: 8/21 Harley 58 AMPS

Good Morning,
No dosing advice from me, but Harley is looking good :mrgreen:
Have a great day!
 
Re: 8/21 Harley 58 AMPS

:mrgreen: Morning! :mrgreen:
No dose advice from me either. Ditto on Harley is looking good! All i've read and seen is that Lantus does better 2x/day. I'm sure you'll get some good advice before you next shot time. You might want to put up the question mark on your first post.
Surf Safely Harley!!
 
Re: 8/21 Harley 58 AMPS

Well I did skip since he was only at 58, I fed him his 3oz of LC wet food and left. I stopped home and at +4 he is at 69....
 
Re: 8/21 Harley 58 AMPS (skipped shot) 69 +4

I think it was a good call on the skip, and I don't know how they do it, but I think I've seen some people giving .01 BID before going OTJ....If I happen to see one, I'll try to remember to have them visit your condo and tell you how they do it!!

Have you tried pulling your .05 into a syringe and then slowly "screwing" the plunger in? I can usually shave a drop or two that way (but have never tried doing it at such low doses). Might try it and count how many drops you can get and if, for example, you get 5 drops (they are tiny!!), go to 4 drops (by drawing your usual, screwing to lose 1 drop and shooting), and then see how he does...continue dropping from there until you're giving 1 drop per day..and then OTJ trial!

Hopefully one of the members who's done this will drop by to advise you before you have to make a decision again
 
Re: 8/21 Harley 58 AMPS (skipped shot) 69 +4

I'd appreciate that!
Since I am not really "drawing" any in when I just push the plunger and release to get the insulin...I don't know that twisting it would do anything? Maybe just a lighter depress when I give it to him?
I should have clarified...I am giving him pretty much one drop right now...
 
Re: 8/21 Harley 58 AMPS (skipped shot) 69 +4

I'd just suggest while you've got some time before PMPS, you try it and see if you can count any difference in the amount of drops you can get to "screw" out depending on how hard you press the plunger...I know what you're talking about as far as just pressing and releasing, but I just don't know how else you could see if there's any way to "shave" it

You sure wouldn't lose much insulin...the cost of a few syringes might be worth the experiment though...Be interesting to find out so if you do, let us know!
 
Re: 8/21 Harley 58 AMPS (skipped shot) 69 +4

Instead of a "firm press" as I'd been doing to inject, I have been doing a light press...leaves a small (smaller than a size of grain of sand) in the needle...so he isn't getting "all" of it...this is the best can to do shave, otherwise all of it comes out ;(
 
Re: 8/21 Harley 58 AMPS (skipped shot) 69 +4

when I was at the one drop dose.... I would load an old syringe and test how much came out.... ( I tested with insulin, and also water)

When I thought I was giving one drop.... nothing was coming out at all.....
in my own instance, I actually had to backtrack and increase to 1 1/2 drops to get anything coming out.... which I guessed was somewhere between half a drop and one drop.
I had calipers too.
And had calculated how many drops were in 1 unit. see post on calculating drops and dosing with calipers for good background information


I used joke about just coating the syringe with insulin.... ( like a poison dart ) to give a trace amount.... but didn't try it....
there are also a few joking references to just waving the insulin over your cat when you get to this small of an amount.... :?


Hopefully Harley is ready to keep all his numbers under 120......
You can do it Harley!
 
Re: 8/21 Harley 58 AMPS (skipped shot) 69 +4

Well it'll be interesting to see if it makes any difference!! Hormones are such powerful things, even those teeny differences can make such a big difference!

I hope it works out for Harley and you can get to an OTJ trial soon :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/21 Harley 58 AMPS (skipped shot) 69 +4

it is tough...because what comes out is so darn small...yet if he gets too much he drops...fast. I wish they made syringes for these micro doses :_)
 
Re: 8/21 Harley 58 AMPS (skipped shot) 69 +4

AHHHHHH he was 150 PMPS so I gave him a tick and now at +4 he's at 46....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top