Connie & Parker & Moonie
Member Since 2026
8/11 Moonie AMPS 104, +2 57, +4 66, PMPS 51, +2 83
I can’t believe our last post was 9 days ago
. I’m so sorry we’ve been away so long and I’m really excited to be catching up on everyone’s condos today!
I had something big blow up on me at work last week, and our HVAC also quit on us - so we were scrambling to get things figured out before we go on vacation in 10 days. The good news is that the work stuff damage is now largely contained, and Parker somehow managed to fix the HVAC after multiple Home Depot trips that culminated in him having to cut open and glue a pipe together.
The bad news is that Moonie’s numbers have not been great recently. First she was bouncing around a lot, and over the last 5 days, she’s been persistently flat in the yellows and high blues. We even saw a pink again.
I can’t tell if it’s because we stressed her out with our stress, or if it’s because we’ve been doing dry runs with a couple pet sitters (for example the sitters did her ear testing last night and the night before). Or maybe Moonie’s body decided to be super naughty in protest. I do think she knows something is up because she’s been refusing to eat during the sitter dry runs unless I personally spoon feed her. And she refused to even eat for Parker this morning until I just decided to spoon feed her myself. She also started refusing her Prozac in her churu tube a couple days ago, so we'll be switching to transdermal soon.
Honestly it just all breaks my heart to be leaving her for so long especially while her numbers are like this. I made Parker promise me that this would be our last week long trip away without her. Otherwise I don’t think I could do it without immense resentment and anger and guilt. Now that we’ve located a couple local sitters with diabetic cat experience, I’m ok taking a weekend trip here or there - but I don’t think my heart could take doing this again. As it is, it’ll take all of my emotional discipline to stay engaged and present during the trip with his family without worrying about Moonie constantly.
Sorry for the big emotional dump. But this brings me to my big question that I’d love to get your thoughts on - what should be our dose starting Sunday (a week before the trip to drain her depot) and what should be the vacation dose? Honestly before she was bouncing like this, I assumed we’d step down to 2.75u a week before and 2.5u as the vacation dose. But these numbers are so high that they have me questioning things because I think if we weren’t going on vacation, we’d have been at 3.25u yesterday morning.
Also what should be the protocol for the sitter if Moonie doesn’t eat her regular preshot amount, or the sitter for whatever reason can’t get a blood glucose reading at preshot? A half dose? Skip?
The sitter will be doing a preshot and +2 check both am and pm. So theoretically she should have a good level of monitoring.
And at what number do I tell the sitter to call me before giving the shot and what should be the “no dose” number?
Historically Moonie has been quite flat so I don’t think we’ll run into this issue with the reduced dose but my paranoia feels the need to specify everything so that the sitter isn’t exercising their judgment.
I ended up writing a 17 page manual for the sitter
and wanted to get the group’s thoughts before finalizing it.
Thank you so much in advance and I’m excited to catch up with everyone again today!
Moonie looking distraught that we didn’t offer her some grilled peaches and corn a couple night ago

I can’t believe our last post was 9 days ago
I had something big blow up on me at work last week, and our HVAC also quit on us - so we were scrambling to get things figured out before we go on vacation in 10 days. The good news is that the work stuff damage is now largely contained, and Parker somehow managed to fix the HVAC after multiple Home Depot trips that culminated in him having to cut open and glue a pipe together.
The bad news is that Moonie’s numbers have not been great recently. First she was bouncing around a lot, and over the last 5 days, she’s been persistently flat in the yellows and high blues. We even saw a pink again.
I can’t tell if it’s because we stressed her out with our stress, or if it’s because we’ve been doing dry runs with a couple pet sitters (for example the sitters did her ear testing last night and the night before). Or maybe Moonie’s body decided to be super naughty in protest. I do think she knows something is up because she’s been refusing to eat during the sitter dry runs unless I personally spoon feed her. And she refused to even eat for Parker this morning until I just decided to spoon feed her myself. She also started refusing her Prozac in her churu tube a couple days ago, so we'll be switching to transdermal soon.
Honestly it just all breaks my heart to be leaving her for so long especially while her numbers are like this. I made Parker promise me that this would be our last week long trip away without her. Otherwise I don’t think I could do it without immense resentment and anger and guilt. Now that we’ve located a couple local sitters with diabetic cat experience, I’m ok taking a weekend trip here or there - but I don’t think my heart could take doing this again. As it is, it’ll take all of my emotional discipline to stay engaged and present during the trip with his family without worrying about Moonie constantly.
Sorry for the big emotional dump. But this brings me to my big question that I’d love to get your thoughts on - what should be our dose starting Sunday (a week before the trip to drain her depot) and what should be the vacation dose? Honestly before she was bouncing like this, I assumed we’d step down to 2.75u a week before and 2.5u as the vacation dose. But these numbers are so high that they have me questioning things because I think if we weren’t going on vacation, we’d have been at 3.25u yesterday morning.
Also what should be the protocol for the sitter if Moonie doesn’t eat her regular preshot amount, or the sitter for whatever reason can’t get a blood glucose reading at preshot? A half dose? Skip?
The sitter will be doing a preshot and +2 check both am and pm. So theoretically she should have a good level of monitoring.
And at what number do I tell the sitter to call me before giving the shot and what should be the “no dose” number?
Historically Moonie has been quite flat so I don’t think we’ll run into this issue with the reduced dose but my paranoia feels the need to specify everything so that the sitter isn’t exercising their judgment.
I ended up writing a 17 page manual for the sitter
Thank you so much in advance and I’m excited to catch up with everyone again today!
Moonie looking distraught that we didn’t offer her some grilled peaches and corn a couple night ago