8/20 Moonie AMPS 244, +2 222

Connie & Parker & Moonie

Member Since 2026
8/11 Moonie AMPS 104, +2 57, +4 66, PMPS 51, +2 83

I can’t believe our last post was 9 days ago 😱. I’m so sorry we’ve been away so long and I’m really excited to be catching up on everyone’s condos today!

I had something big blow up on me at work last week, and our HVAC also quit on us - so we were scrambling to get things figured out before we go on vacation in 10 days. The good news is that the work stuff damage is now largely contained, and Parker somehow managed to fix the HVAC after multiple Home Depot trips that culminated in him having to cut open and glue a pipe together.

The bad news is that Moonie’s numbers have not been great recently. First she was bouncing around a lot, and over the last 5 days, she’s been persistently flat in the yellows and high blues. We even saw a pink again.

I can’t tell if it’s because we stressed her out with our stress, or if it’s because we’ve been doing dry runs with a couple pet sitters (for example the sitters did her ear testing last night and the night before). Or maybe Moonie’s body decided to be super naughty in protest. I do think she knows something is up because she’s been refusing to eat during the sitter dry runs unless I personally spoon feed her. And she refused to even eat for Parker this morning until I just decided to spoon feed her myself. She also started refusing her Prozac in her churu tube a couple days ago, so we'll be switching to transdermal soon.

Honestly it just all breaks my heart to be leaving her for so long especially while her numbers are like this. I made Parker promise me that this would be our last week long trip away without her. Otherwise I don’t think I could do it without immense resentment and anger and guilt. Now that we’ve located a couple local sitters with diabetic cat experience, I’m ok taking a weekend trip here or there - but I don’t think my heart could take doing this again. As it is, it’ll take all of my emotional discipline to stay engaged and present during the trip with his family without worrying about Moonie constantly.

Sorry for the big emotional dump. But this brings me to my big question that I’d love to get your thoughts on - what should be our dose starting Sunday (a week before the trip to drain her depot) and what should be the vacation dose? Honestly before she was bouncing like this, I assumed we’d step down to 2.75u a week before and 2.5u as the vacation dose. But these numbers are so high that they have me questioning things because I think if we weren’t going on vacation, we’d have been at 3.25u yesterday morning.

Also what should be the protocol for the sitter if Moonie doesn’t eat her regular preshot amount, or the sitter for whatever reason can’t get a blood glucose reading at preshot? A half dose? Skip?

The sitter will be doing a preshot and +2 check both am and pm. So theoretically she should have a good level of monitoring.

And at what number do I tell the sitter to call me before giving the shot and what should be the “no dose” number?

Historically Moonie has been quite flat so I don’t think we’ll run into this issue with the reduced dose but my paranoia feels the need to specify everything so that the sitter isn’t exercising their judgment.

I ended up writing a 17 page manual for the sitter 🤣😅 and wanted to get the group’s thoughts before finalizing it.

Thank you so much in advance and I’m excited to catch up with everyone again today!

Moonie looking distraught that we didn’t offer her some grilled peaches and corn a couple night ago 🤣😻

IMG_2541.jpeg

IMG_2540.jpeg
 
That 2nd pic looks like she’s about to cry and say “how could you deny me peaches mom? I thought you loved me!”

Sorry you’ve had so much going on, hate that when it rains, it pours 😔 BUT I am so excited you got most of it worked out and that you’re back!! Missed you big time!! 🤗

Hopefully you get answers to your dosing questions soon! The one thing I would suggest, as I used to be a manager for a pet sitting company for a few years awhile back, is make one cover page for your manual that summarizes the most important info. I found it difficult to find the info I needed during an emergency/panic with large instructions, but very very much appreciated the in depth details as well! Also, do you have a back up pet sitter in case the 1st one has an emergency and can’t make it?

I hope you have the BEST time on your vacation tho!! I know it will be hard, but please try to enjoy yourself and soak in the beautiful scenery 💜 can’t wait to see some pictures!
 
Last edited:
That 2nd pic looks like she’s about to cry and say “how could you deny me peaches mom? I thought you loved me!”

Sorry you’ve had so much going on, hate that when it rains, it pours 😔 BUT I am so exited you got most of it worked out and that you’re back!! Missed you big time!! 🤗

Hopefully you get answers to your dosing questions soon! The one thing I would suggest, as I used to be a manager for a pet sitting company for a few years awhile back, is make one cover page for your manual that summarizes the most important info. I found it difficult to find the info I needed during an emergency/panic with large instructions, but very very much appreciated the in depth details as well! Also, do you have a back up pet sitter in case the 1st one has an emergency and can’t make it?

I hope you have the BEST time on your vacation tho!! I know it will be hard, but please try to enjoy yourself and soak in the beautiful scenery 💜 can’t wait to see some pictures!
Thanks Sara! I missed you and Khloe!! I did sneak glances at Khlo Khlo's SS periodically but it's not the same :)

Right? Moonie's eyes always get so big and watery when she's looking at us eat without her. Parker used to offer her food "because she won't like it" but then we discovered quickly that Moonie will try anything once.

Thank you so much for the suggestion! I did make a "cheat sheet" that's a half page but it's actually not at the very front - so I should change the ordering! I also made the pet sitter a checklist to check off at each visit 🤣 😅. When I showed the draft to Parker and I asked if it was crazy, he said "you love the kitties so much and I love you" and didn't want to comment further. So I think it gave insane manifesto vibes 🤷‍♀️

We also have FOUR sitters on rotation because we're having people stay at our place 4 hours a day essentially - and until we've done it with them - I don't fully "trust" anyone. So I figured I'd just have lots of back-ups.

We still have 10 days but I'll definitely share photos when we're there! I am really excited to check out the recommendations everyone gave. I never knew there was so much to do there. But after this, we're doing road trips only with Moonie tacking along if it's longer than 2 days!
 
Welcome back. We’ve missed you all and I hope things are better under control in the “just life” category. It can get quite stressful when things like the HVAC goes out.

We are way too far out to decide on a vacation dose. Sorry. I know it will stress you but that’s something we look at just a few days before you leave. You want to drain the depot a bit but not overly so a few days out will be fine.

Here are some thoughts on the other questions:

If the sitter can’t get a PS, I’d skip. If she can’t get her to eat at PS, she has two hours before she onsets. Will Moonie let her syringe feed her?

Can your sitter post here for help with lower PSs or lower numbers? We’ve had them do that in the past using your account as long as she says she’s the sitter. If she can’t and she won’t be checking past +2, I’d err on the side of caution on the PS number so she’d get a half dose of the vacation dose if the PS was below 100. I think we need to be sure you are going to be able to enjoy your trip and better she be high while you are gone than low where you are constantly anxious.

I think I mentioned before that Sienna’s cat, Gabby, would not allow anyone to test her so Sienne usually dropped her dose back 0.25u. But she was typically somewhere in the US.
 
Welcome back. We’ve missed you all and I hope things are better under control in the “just life” category. It can get quite stressful when things like the HVAC goes out.

We are way too far out to decide on a vacation dose. Sorry. I know it will stress you but that’s something we look at just a few days before you leave. You want to drain the depot a bit but not overly so a few days out will be fine.

Here are some thoughts on the other questions:

If the sitter can’t get a PS, I’d skip. If she can’t get her to eat at PS, she has two hours before she onsets. Will Moonie let her syringe feed her?

Can your sitter post here for help with lower PSs or lower numbers? We’ve had them do that in the past using your account as long as she says she’s the sitter. If she can’t and she won’t be checking past +2, I’d err on the side of caution on the PS number so she’d get a half dose of the vacation dose if the PS was below 100. I think we need to be sure you are going to be able to enjoy your trip and better she be high while you are gone than low where you are constantly anxious.

I think I mentioned before that Sienna’s cat, Gabby, would not allow anyone to test her so Sienne usually dropped her dose back 0.25u. But she was typically somewhere in the US.
Thank you so much Marje!

I'm so happy to be back and thank you as always for taking the time to respond and help us.

I think I know the answer to this, but would it be insane for us to try 3.25u tomorrow morning? I thought maybe we could see if we get better numbers Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. Then we can step back to 3u to start draining Monday-Thursday and get advice on a vacation dose Friday (we leave Sunday)?

I think eventually Moonie will eat for the sitter. She’s a really food motivated girl and I think she’s just feeling unsettled with all the sitters.

And yes! I can ask the sitters to post here if needed! Though I’ll be up checking my phone and FDMB during her preshot through +2 times in the am and pm so I can post too. I need to be keeping up with US hours for work anyway.
 
think I know the answer to this, but would it be insane for us to try 3.25u tomorrow morning? I
Well she’s been at 3u plenty long enough that if you weren’t going anywhere, I’d suggest you raise the dose to 3.25u. I wouldn’t start draining the depot too early. If you leave on Sunday, you can start draining it on Friday; Thursday night at the earliest because I know you will worry. She might earn a reduction back to 3u by then!

I know it’s anxiety producing but try not to jump the gun. You are exactly like me; a planner so you want to be able to plan it ahead of time and stick to a schedule but ....you already know what I’m going to say....FD just isn’t like that.

As I mentioned, Sienne just reduced Gabby’s BG by 0.25u when she was gone. If you are aiming to do more, you could reduce on Friday morning by 0.25u and on Saturday morning by another 0.25u if you think you need to reduce by that much. We have to see where she is because even reducing to 2.75u might put her high.
 
8/11 Moonie AMPS 104, +2 57, +4 66, PMPS 51, +2 83

I can’t believe our last post was 9 days ago 😱. I’m so sorry we’ve been away so long and I’m really excited to be catching up on everyone’s condos today!

I had something big blow up on me at work last week, and our HVAC also quit on us - so we were scrambling to get things figured out before we go on vacation in 10 days. The good news is that the work stuff damage is now largely contained, and Parker somehow managed to fix the HVAC after multiple Home Depot trips that culminated in him having to cut open and glue a pipe together.

The bad news is that Moonie’s numbers have not been great recently. First she was bouncing around a lot, and over the last 5 days, she’s been persistently flat in the yellows and high blues. We even saw a pink again.

I can’t tell if it’s because we stressed her out with our stress, or if it’s because we’ve been doing dry runs with a couple pet sitters (for example the sitters did her ear testing last night and the night before). Or maybe Moonie’s body decided to be super naughty in protest. I do think she knows something is up because she’s been refusing to eat during the sitter dry runs unless I personally spoon feed her. And she refused to even eat for Parker this morning until I just decided to spoon feed her myself. She also started refusing her Prozac in her churu tube a couple days ago, so we'll be switching to transdermal soon.

Honestly it just all breaks my heart to be leaving her for so long especially while her numbers are like this. I made Parker promise me that this would be our last week long trip away without her. Otherwise I don’t think I could do it without immense resentment and anger and guilt. Now that we’ve located a couple local sitters with diabetic cat experience, I’m ok taking a weekend trip here or there - but I don’t think my heart could take doing this again. As it is, it’ll take all of my emotional discipline to stay engaged and present during the trip with his family without worrying about Moonie constantly.

Sorry for the big emotional dump. But this brings me to my big question that I’d love to get your thoughts on - what should be our dose starting Sunday (a week before the trip to drain her depot) and what should be the vacation dose? Honestly before she was bouncing like this, I assumed we’d step down to 2.75u a week before and 2.5u as the vacation dose. But these numbers are so high that they have me questioning things because I think if we weren’t going on vacation, we’d have been at 3.25u yesterday morning.

Also what should be the protocol for the sitter if Moonie doesn’t eat her regular preshot amount, or the sitter for whatever reason can’t get a blood glucose reading at preshot? A half dose? Skip?

The sitter will be doing a preshot and +2 check both am and pm. So theoretically she should have a good level of monitoring.

And at what number do I tell the sitter to call me before giving the shot and what should be the “no dose” number?

Historically Moonie has been quite flat so I don’t think we’ll run into this issue with the reduced dose but my paranoia feels the need to specify everything so that the sitter isn’t exercising their judgment.

I ended up writing a 17 page manual for the sitter 🤣😅 and wanted to get the group’s thoughts before finalizing it.

Thank you so much in advance and I’m excited to catch up with everyone again today!

Moonie looking distraught that we didn’t offer her some grilled peaches and corn a couple night ago 🤣😻

View attachment 79987
View attachment 79988
She’s so beautiful! I love how she’s always eyeing your dinner.
I hope you will be able to have a relaxing vacation, Connie.

It’s great you have things very well organized for your pet sitters.
Marje has some great ideas on getting her ready for the right dose while you’re away.

We are all happy to see you here. And glad you’ve gotten some of the stress taken care of in other areas of your life.

Sending you and sweet Moonie big hugs 🥰 🐈‍⬛💞
 
Well she’s been at 3u plenty long enough that if you weren’t going anywhere, I’d suggest you raise the dose to 3.25u. I wouldn’t start draining the depot too early. If you leave on Sunday, you can start draining it on Friday; Thursday night at the earliest because I know you will worry. She might earn a reduction back to 3u by then!

I know it’s anxiety producing but try not to jump the gun. You are exactly like me; a planner so you want to be able to plan it ahead of time and stick to a schedule but ....you already know what I’m going to say....FD just isn’t like that.

As I mentioned, Sienne just reduced Gabby’s BG by 0.25u when she was gone. If you are aiming to do more, you could reduce on Friday morning by 0.25u and on Saturday morning by another 0.25u if you think you need to reduce by that much. We have to see where she is because even reducing to 2.75u might put her high.
Thank you Marje! I'll post separately today but we did end up taking her up, and that was definitely the right decision. We only got a brief glimpse of green on this dose so far.

If I'm being honest, I think my stress has been affecting her mood and her blood glucose. And the new sitters coming to do her ear pokes certainly hasn't helped her stress level. But this has been a very important reminder for me that my emotional regulation impacts her blood glucose regulation - so if I don't want Miss Moons taking me on a rollercoaster ride with her numbers, I can't be taking her on a rollercoaster ride with my stress :)
 
Back
Top