8/20 Milo AMPS 175, +2 97, +3 54, +3.5 59, +4 41, +4.75 43, +5.25 52, +6 92, +11 418, PMPS 434

Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

Member Since 2020
Good morning! Milo had a bounce last night but he's back down today. His raw was switched to turkey today. He doesn't enjoy the switch and can be finicky the first little bit. Maybe I don't need to switch it so often? He also seems to "go off" whatever he's had after a few days so it's tricky...

Does anyone know the most cost effective way of buying Contour Next strips in Canada? Does Costco carry them?(though I don't live close to any). I don't mean to complain but money is not unlimited these days as a single mom... I'm also (gulp!) ordering an autofeeder, calipers and magnifying glass...

Even Amazon doesn't offer any discount to buy 300 at a time (and who can afford that?!). I guess the companies have this all wrapped up and it doesn't seem to matter where you buy them...? It seems pretty standard at $80+ for 100. My pharmacist said to me "Are you already through the 100 that first came with the meter?!" Yes. for sure!

If there are some avenues I have not explored, I would welcome suggestions. Have a great day!:cool::D:bighug:
 
Nice beachy start for Milo. Headed to the lagoon already.
I'm sure some of the Canadian members will have some recommendations. Strpis are the biggest cost when treating diabetes....it was for me anyway:rolleyes:
Be good Milo.
My boys would eat Turkey formula canned Weruva for a few days too. They didn't get picky with chicken. Wonder if there's smthg they don't appreciate in the flavor of turkey.:facepalm: Could it be upsetting Milo's tummy?
Have a wonderful day Sam
 
Nice beachy start for Milo. Headed to the lagoon already.
I'm sure some of the Canadian members will have some recommendations. Strpis are the biggest cost when treating diabetes....it was for me anyway:rolleyes:
Be good Milo.
My boys would eat Turkey formula canned Weruva for a few days too. They didn't get picky with chicken. Wonder if there's smthg they don't appreciate in the flavor of turkey.:facepalm: Could it be upsetting Milo's tummy?
Have a wonderful day Sam

+54 @ +3. 1 tsp MC since the LC didn't have much of an effect slowing down the drop. Good thing I am at home for a while. Not sure how I am going to be able to manage this while I'm at work...

Thanks! He seems to react the same to the duck, salmon and turkey. Loves it once he gets into it then becomes kinda meh. Change protein, repeat process. Even the salmon that was such a hit at first. And he couldn't get enough turkey at first, when I switched him to raw... Thank goodness he likes the FF when he's getting low.
 
I think I heard someone mention a monthly test strip subscription service the other day? Not sure if it's in Canada?
 
There we go!

I see you're using the AT2 - if you're looking for less expensive methods of testing, get yourself a human kit. Thenumbers are still the numbers - high is still highand low is low - regardless of which meter you're using. I'm using the OneDrop system https://onedrop.today/?gclid=EAIaIQobChMI9KPPveWc6gIVjsDACh3FvAKwEAAYASAAEgJe7vD_BwEmyself because it's a subscription service and they send unlimited strips for $49.95 per month. There are other subscription services. Just sign up and they send you the meter and strips, then record the readings and order more strips; theyneed the numbers. They DO NOT need to know who or what the meter is used for. I personally love the system and highly recommend it since my days of chasing around after strips are over. We go through a ton of strips in this household as you can see from Luci's SS...so it's something to consider - affordable and convenient.
 
If Milos eating the FF and you're adding the honey to that you can re-test in 30 mins. You're basically making HC food by doing that. If using honey alone the testing time is moved up to every 15 mins. Honey can wear of quicker than carb food
 
Strips.

Some people can find deals on ebay. Do beware of expiry dates and shipping costs. Whether the strips are genuine or not … It's a risk that some people take. Only go with trusted sellers. Personally, I would not.

Another option is the Bravo meter. It takes a large drop of blood, but so does the Contour Next, no?
The disadavantage is that you cannot run into town and grab a box of strips if you are running low. You have to order strips (I'm assuming that "north" and "rural" does not mean you live in Markham.

To be safe, you would have to re-order when you get down to 200 strips (not including the 100 strips in your hypo kit) to keep a fresh box of 100 in your hypo kit. It only takes a low day or two to fly through strips.

It might be worth a try. Always good to have a back-up glucometer (and a couple of batteries) in the back of the cupboard.

Meter: $39.95 (includes 100 strips)
https://diabetesexpress.ca/products/bravo-meter

And if you decided to go with this meter
Strips $39.95 (free shipping over $200)
https://diabetesexpress.ca/collections/test-strips/products/bravo-test-strips
 
I hate that the honey may shoot Milo to the moon(paws crossed it doesn't). Better safe than sorry when I'm not exactly sure how he reacts to smaller amounts. The MC you gave earlier may have already wore off and Milo was very intent about visiting the sharks. Playing it safe. We should be approaching nadir so let's hope this is all he has planned.
 
K. Thx Tanya, I just did this to you last night and didn't want to do it again:banghead:
I'm sooo grateful to you.
Sam i have to split but tanya's here. Others have their eyes on you as well.
 
Came here to tell you I am going through same with $$$$$ of test strips. I emailed a bunch of questions to the One Drop System people on costs for canadians. That's what Sue and Luci uses. Tanya gave you the link to it. Their website doesn't have a whole lotta info, though.

I'll also add.....congrats on the reduction!!

And I'm following along silently to continue to learn how lows are handled. :)
 
@Sue and Luci I think this was your post?

Yes I use the OneDrop subscription service. Great customer service and they send unlimited strips for $49.95 / month in US. $79.95 in Canada. The nice thing is the meter requires only a tiny drop of blood and the strips can be sent at 300 per shipping...I always keep a full box as a backup- as soon as I open it I upload the BG readings to my phone app - and order another box of 300...I've never gotten low since I started....I highly recommend!
 
Ok, we are close enough to retest now please. Can you let us know about what food or Gravy/Honey he ate at +4.5?

How is Milo? Acting normal?
 
Ok, we are close enough to retest now please. Can you let us know about what food or Gravy/Honey he ate at +4.5?

How is Milo? Acting normal?
Sorry...he's acting quite normal. Wants to eat more but I don't know which to feed him. MC=14%, HC=22%. I have to leave in an hour. My 13 year old will be here but can't test.
 
Let him eat whatever he will eat - HC. He's earned his reduction, now he just needs to stay safe...get on up there little feller!

If you have to leave, you an leave HC food out for him...it'll keep him from doing anything silly while you're out...
 
About 4 hours. I didn't expect this excitement today... My son can feed him and watch his behaviour but he's not able to do testing yet. I guess we'll see just before I leave in order to make a decision about feeding???
Especially if you have to leave in an hour. How long will you be out?
 
About 4 hours. I didn't expect this excitement today... My son can feed him and watch his behaviour but he's not able to do testing yet. I guess we'll see just before I leave in order to make a decision about feeding???

If your son can't test, and you leave out higher carb food Milo should be fine...same situation for some folks who have to leave for work...
 
Let him eat whatever he will eat - HC. He's earned his reduction, now he just needs to stay safe...get on up there little feller!

If you have to leave, you an leave HC food out for him...it'll keep him from doing anything silly while you're out...
How much do I reduce and when? I'll be happy not to do this again if we can avoid it!
 
Back
Top