8/20 Jack: 250@amps, 139@+2

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
The partial fur shot could have caused Jack's higher numbers for pm cycle last night, but even when I get a full dose shot he sometimes goes, and stays, high overnight. I really think he would do well with three shots, 8 hours apart, but I need to look into that protocol more- and what happens on the days I can't be home for the second shot? He skips? I'm not sure my schedule will even allow that protocol. Even though Jack seems to be feeling and acting well I feel quite defeated these days. :(

Hoping all the kitties are surfing safely and enjoying nice weather--I actually had to close my windows it got so cool overnight---yay for the Autumn weather!!

Yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-19-jack-119-amps-55-3-59-4.293259/#post-3201166
 
The partial fur shot could have caused Jack's higher numbers for pm cycle last night, but even when I get a full dose shot he sometimes goes, and stays, high overnight. I really think he would do well with three shots, 8 hours apart, but I need to look into that protocol more- and what happens on the days I can't be home for the second shot? He skips? I'm not sure my schedule will even allow that protocol. Even though Jack seems to be feeling and acting well I feel quite defeated these days. :(

Hoping all the kitties are surfing safely and enjoying nice weather--I actually had to close my windows it got so cool overnight---yay for the Autumn weather!!

Yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-19-jack-119-amps-55-3-59-4.293259/#post-3201166
Hi Christine, look at Jack rebound from that kitten induced FS (naughty kitten).
I can’t even imagine 3 shots a day. I’ll be curious what you learn!
Hoping Jack slides down gently today.
It’s nice to have cooler temps (but I’m still resisting the darkness!)

Have a calm and peaceful day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Christine, Jack has been producing nice numbers lately!
3 a day dosage sounds complicated - I remember having a hard time even when I had to do it for me. For some reason, twice daily is a bit easier.... But me too, like @Staci & Ivy, I would be curious to see what your investigation will yield!
Enjoy the cool air. It's easing up here as well - it's been a super hot summer!
Wishing you and all the kitties a wonderful day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I was briefly contemplating changing Kit's transdermal gabapentin to 3 times a day, but it's so hard to figure out a way to make it work with a person's schedule. I hope you're able to figure out a system.

Even though Jack seems to be feeling and acting well I feel quite defeated these days. :(
Just remember that he is more than his numbers - I know it's easy to have the defeated feeling, but you're doing so many things, and if he seems to be feeling better, that is definitely a plus. Please allow yourself some grace. ❤️❤️❤️

I'm also so glad it's cooling down some! I'm so ready for cooler weather, but as with Staci, dreading the darkness that comes with it. The days where it's barely light out when I come to work and already dark when I leave work just suck so hard.
 
I really think he would do well with three shots, 8 hours apart, but I need to look into that protocol more-
I don’t know of any protocol for dosing glargine TID, but I would strongly discourage trying it. Three times a day dosing is brutal even with an insulin that is more amenable to a TID schedule. I’m afraid you’d be asking for a lot of trouble experimenting with such a schedule using Lantus. @Wendy&Neko have yiu heard of a TID protocol or have any thoughts?

Even though Jack seems to be feeling and acting well I feel quite defeated these days. :(
I’ve been tagging along loosely on Jack’s journey so I might not know all of the details, but do you mind if I ask what might be making you feel defeated? Is it the higher numbers at times, the higher dose, perhaps feeling like you’re not heading for remission, or maybe something else in your life that is affecting you and it’s just manifesting through Jack? This whole diabetes thing is hard, I know. Heck, life is hard. But a diabetic cat who “seems to be acting and feeling well” and is hitting a lot of blues and greens is a really good thing. I know it’s already been stated, but please don’t get too hung up on the numbers. Their purpose is to help you arrive at the best dose possible for Jack and to keep him safe so that he can have the best quality of life possible. Numbers can be our friend, but they can also be our enemy if we let them get in our head. How is the “Whole Cat Report” — the 5 p’s (peeing, pooping, purring, preening, playing)?

I admire that your guys are rescues. Same here. I don’t have any advice other than to say to celebrate what’s going right (like Jack feeling and acting well) and try not to focus too much on the less than perfect. It can be frustrating but our guys don’t know they’re diabetic, they’re just living their lives. Just because we can’t change the reality of the disease doesn’t mean we’re failing them. :bighug:
 
There is some discussion in this post by the one person I've seen do it, and no, there is not a protocol for it:
I echo JL's comments about not getting too worked up with the BG numbers. You've got a kitty who's a die hard kibble addict, but it sounds like he's doing very well overall. And his BG numbers gave actually gotten a lot better since the beginning of the year, you are doing a great job. Some cats are just slow learners - I remember being thrilled when after a year Neko stopped bouncing to the reds. :rolleyes:. Take the wins where you can.
 
I don’t know of any protocol for dosing glargine TID, but I would strongly discourage trying it. Three times a day dosing is brutal even with an insulin that is more amenable to a TID schedule. I’m afraid you’d be asking for a lot of trouble experimenting with such a schedule using Lantus. @Wendy&Neko have yiu heard of a TID protocol or have any thoughts?

I’ve been tagging along loosely on Jack’s journey so I might not know all of the details, but do you mind if I ask what might be making you feel defeated? Is it the higher numbers at times, the higher dose, perhaps feeling like you’re not heading for remission, or maybe something else in your life that is affecting you and it’s just manifesting through Jack? This whole diabetes thing is hard, I know. Heck, life is hard. But a diabetic cat who “seems to be acting and feeling well” and is hitting a lot of blues and greens is a really good thing. I know it’s already been stated, but please don’t get too hung up on the numbers. Their purpose is to help you arrive at the best dose possible for Jack and to keep him safe so that he can have the best quality of life possible. Numbers can be our friend, but they can also be our enemy if we let them get in our head. How is the “Whole Cat Report” — the 5 p’s (peeing, pooping, purring, preening, playing)?

I admire that your guys are rescues. Same here. I don’t have any advice other than to say to celebrate what’s going right (like Jack feeling and acting well) and try not to focus too much on the less than perfect. It can be frustrating but our guys don’t know they’re diabetic, they’re just living their lives. Just because we can’t change the reality of the disease doesn’t mean we’re failing them. :bighug:
I think it's just everything, and losing my Gypsy recently hasn't helped- I know the numbers aren't everything, they are just the constant 'in your face' - 4/5 P's are great- he doesn't groom very well so his coat quality isn't the best- he fights me on the Duoxos from the vet and turns violent when I try to comb him. I really appreciate all of your support- it means the world to me
Thanks also to @Mikanmama , @Staci & Ivy, @Alicia & Kit cat , @Wendy&Neko for your continued support and input--Jack and I are so much the better for it! :bighug:
 
There is some discussion in this post by the one person I've seen do it, and no, there is not a protocol for it:
I echo JL's comments about not getting too worked up with the BG numbers. You've got a kitty who's a die hard kibble addict, but it sounds like he's doing very well overall. And his BG numbers gave actually gotten a lot better since the beginning of the year, you are doing a great job. Some cats are just slow learners - I remember being thrilled when after a year Neko stopped bouncing to the reds. :rolleyes:. Take the wins where you can.
Thanks for this link @Wendy&Neko , and for your constant support and knowledge sharing!
 
I think it's just everything, and losing my Gypsy recently hasn't helped- I know the numbers aren't everything, they are just the constant 'in your face' - 4/5 P's are great- he doesn't groom very well so his coat quality isn't the best- he fights me on the Duoxos from the vet and turns violent when I try to comb him. I really appreciate all of your support- it means the world to me
Thanks also to @Mikanmama , @Staci & Ivy, @Alicia & Kit cat , @Wendy&Neko for your continued support and input--Jack and I are so much the better for it! :bighug:
❤️❤️❤️
 
Back
Top