? 8/20 Angel low preshots

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cherish Gallagher

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...55-flat-all-day-pmps-174.182571/#post-2024782

Hey guys, so I have a bunch of questions and comments.

Angel is officially 1 Week on lantus and 1 Week of being completely on a wet food diet. Not going to lie, it's been super stressful. It's like starting all over again. With Vetsulin we knew her nadir was +6. Like clockwork she was always lowest +6. Now.... who the heck knows! I know it's only been a week but studying her time sheet, I don't see any kind of clear pattern yet. And we've been testing A LOT.

does anyone see any type of pattern so far?

Also, why is she dropping so low right before preshots? This is really scary to me. I don't like shooting low numbers. I know this is required in order to make this really work, but I couldn't bring myself to shoot her full dose tonight. :( and now she will probably bounce tomorrow but I couldn't do it.

Any advice on this and why she's so low soooo late into her cycle?

Tomorrow morning we will start with her earned reduction of 1.5u! Yay! :)

What does everyone use for hair ball remedies for sugar kitties? She's had 3 hair balls this last week which seems weird because she hasn't been much of a puker. Do you think this has anything to do with Lantus/wet food diet?

Thanks for any help in advance!!!
 
I couldn't bring myself to shoot her full dose tonight. :( and now she will probably bounce tomorrow but I couldn't do it.
Good job shooting anyway (even the reduced dose). Angle is looking good. Someone with more experience will likely have a better answer but it looks like she is bouncing and then clearing the bounce and that is why there is no real clear pattern.
Any advice on this and why she's so low soooo late into her cycle?
It is called double dip, some kitties do drop right before PS. Gizmo will do it sometimes too. I usually just ignore it - lol. It is nice but he is very consistent (for the most part) with his cycles now days. As Angle levels out and the bouncing lessens you will see a more reliable pattern.
 
It looks like she's just hitting nadir right at the end of most of the cycles, so her nadir and PS are at about the same time. A few cycles she was a bit earlier than that - more like +10, but it looks like for now she's a late nadir kitty. I'm still pretty new to Lantus, so hopefully someone with more experience will pop in and clarify, but it's making me wonder if you can't just hold the dose, even when she's low at PS since that's also the point where she'll start rising?
 
Deep breaths, Cherish. They don't usually dive on Lantus like they can on an in and out insulin. You're still getting the action of the 1.75 u dose going on because of its depot. The smaller dose might show its effect only tomorrow at AMPS. Things tend to happen more slowly, less drastically and on a time delay because of that depot. If they're already low they don't usually drop a lot. There'll come a point where you'll shoot a full dose on a dark green PS and live to tell about it! :)
 
I think Angel is being bouncy and that is making it hard to find her nadir. Her numbers are starting to look really good. I know it's scary to shoot those low numbers, but a lot of the time a cat will surf when you shoot low.
 
Deep breaths, Cherish. They don't usually dive on Lantus like they can on an in and out insulin. You're still getting the action of the 1.75 u dose going on because of its depot. The smaller dose might show its effect only tomorrow at AMPS. Things tend to happen more slowly, less drastically and on a time delay because of that depot. If they're already low they don't usually drop a lot. There'll come a point where you'll shoot a full dose on a dark green PS and live to tell about it! :)
@Kris & Teasel shes 80 at +3. :(
 
No need to panic. Give her a couple of teaspoons of her regular LC food, wait 20 minutes and retest. This might get her just surfing along in greens. You might have to repeat this a few times. Post your numbers here. If she drops too close to 50, do the same but use a little gravy style food or add 1/8 tsp or so of karo or honey to her LC food.

You've steered through a few lime greens on her other insulin. It's no different with Lantus.
 
No need to panic. Give her a couple of teaspoons of her regular LC food, wait 20 minutes and retest. This might get her just surfing along in greens. You might have to repeat this a few times. Post your numbers here. If she drops too close to 50, do the same but use a little gravy style food or add 1/8 tsp or so of karo or honey to her LC food.

You've steered through a few lime green on her other insulin. It's no different with Lantus.
Will do, thanks
 
114 +5. Bf will do +6 and then every 2 hours (unless she drops) leading up to me giving her, her AM shot. Kinda nervous for tomorrow's AMPS. what should my cut off number be for giving the full 1.5u dose? If she's green i don't think I should....
 
114 +5. Bf will do +6 and then every 2 hours (unless she drops) leading up to me giving her, her AM shot. Kinda nervous for tomorrow's AMPS. what should my cut off number be for giving the full 1.5u dose? If she's green i don't think I should....
You two hold the needle, so if you're not ready to shoot green then you're not ready. Its a scary thing the first few times (heck... its still scary after that lol). But if one of you will be around to watch and monitor, then id say shoot or at least do a reduced. Keep in mind , because of the depot quality of Lantus, her body can still react as if you gave her a full dose.

If you can, post your +11 and the forum can take a look and provide reassurance.

(Ps- she is doing very well on Lantus!)
 
You two hold the needle, so if you're not ready to shoot green then you're not ready. Its a scary thing the first few times (heck... its still scary after that lol). But if one of you will be around to watch and monitor, then id say shoot or at least do a reduced. Keep in mind , because of the depot quality of Lantus, her body can still react as if you gave her a full dose.

If you can, post your +11 and the forum can take a look and provide reassurance.

(Ps- she is doing very well on Lantus!)
Thanks for the input! I gave her whole dose as she was over 400 this morning. I'm assuming a bounce from being low and not shooting the full dose last night. :/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top