8/20 6:30am First time injecting while in the 200's

@Moorelife01
For your hypo kit
Just wanted you to know on Dr Pierson's food chart

the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Beef Feast In Roasted Beef Flavor Gravy (which. Dr Pierson’s list says is 20%
Comes back with 14%

These are correct for med carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

You can even look at the Friskies for high carbs and med carbs, or any other food
So buy a few cans of each
Good idea to mark the cans with a marker


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.
Thank you for this. For the LO event kit, which do you have ?
 
Yikes. What high numbers. He started a bounce last night. That is to be expected as his body is just not used to being in the better blood glucose numbers anymore (since being diabetic.) This bounce could last a few days. Bouncing doesn’t mean that he has been overdosed or underdosed. It’s just his body’s reaction to the lower numbers. I think you should return either to the 2.25 dose for a few more days or the 2.5 dose, which also never took him too low but did give him some nice blue numbers. Don’t be swayed by the high numbers - even the preshot numbers — because just like yesterday when Solomon had an AMPS over 350 and you increased the dose in the morning, he then broke through the bounce and started to come down. So it’s frustrating when they are stuck in a bounce and we have to just wait it out and hold the dose. Either dose I think will be okay for him as long as you hold it for a while (7 days if you go with the 2.5 dose.) That amount of time will allow is to really get a sense of what the dose is doing for him and allows enough time for him to clear a bounce. My opinion is that he needs the 2.5 dose to get him into some blue numbers.
Thank you for explaining this to me. :)
 
For low carb it's 10% and under. Most feed around 6% and under. I always fed 2 or 3 %
Most feed Fancy Feast Classic Pates or Friskies . You can even feed Fancy Feast chunky/ Flaked or Roasted
Take a look at the food chart I gave you 😊
@Moorelife01
Thanks !
I need to find acceptable dry as this kitty says pass to wet; he liked it at first but not anymore- although FF pate and Tiki After Dark are here. I do try to mix the wet and dry and sneak it in. I'll spend time today reading. The vet really likes what I'm using so I feel good about his current diet. He's healthy wt and not losing wt.
 
Thanks !
I need to find acceptable dry as this kitty says pass to wet; he liked it at first but not anymore- although FF pate and Tiki After Dark are here. I do try to mix the wet and dry and sneak it in. I'll spend time today reading. The vet really likes what I'm using so I feel good about his current diet. He's healthy wt and not losing wt.

If you must feed dry food
All of these are about 6% carb ,that's what I have seen members have posted

Young again on their web site
https://www.youngagainpetfood.com
Take a look at the young again zero or the zero mature. Some members have said the Young Again caused stinky poops

In the past I have used The Dr Elseys and had no problem

Dr Elsey's also at Walmart
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Dr-Elsey...ViI3ICh0suwO_EAQYAiABEgJrOPD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds

Dr Elsey's Amazon
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07FCJHDPR/ref=twister_B09GHFJY65?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

the Dr Elsey's comes in different size bags
None of these can be bought in stores

Also
Wysong Epigen 90

If you call they will send you samples
Phone: 877-311-2287… Dr Elsey's

PHONE:
800.311.6646. Young Again

1-800-748-0188 •Wysong Epigen 90

@Moorelife01

I just found this that another member had posted about the carbs

click on where it says
Kibble Values Chart
 
Last edited:
If you must feed dry food
All of these are about 6% carb

Young again on their web site
https://www.youngagainpetfood.com
Take a look at the young again zero or the zero mature. Some members have said the Young Again caused stinky poops

In the past I have used The Dr Elseys and had no problem

Dr Elsey's also at Walmart
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Dr-Elsey...ViI3ICh0suwO_EAQYAiABEgJrOPD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds

Dr Elsey's Amazon
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07FCJHDPR/ref=twister_B09GHFJY65?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

the Dr Elsey's comes in different size bags
None of these can be bought in stores

Also
Wysong Epigen 90

If you call they will send you samples
Phone: 877-311-2287… Dr Elsey's

PHONE:
800.311.6646. Young Again

1-800-748-0188 •Wysong Epigen 90

@Moorelife01

I just found this that another member had posted about the carbs

click on where it says
Kibble Values Chart
We are on Young Again Mature Zero - very stinky poops 💩 😷😷🤪but he likes it 😆😆🤣
 
If you must feed dry food
All of these are about 6% carb ,that's what I have seen members have posted

Young again on their web site
https://www.youngagainpetfood.com
Take a look at the young again zero or the zero mature. Some members have said the Young Again caused stinky poops

In the past I have used The Dr Elseys and had no problem

Dr Elsey's also at Walmart
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Dr-Elsey...ViI3ICh0suwO_EAQYAiABEgJrOPD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds

Dr Elsey's Amazon
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07FCJHDPR/ref=twister_B09GHFJY65?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

the Dr Elsey's comes in different size bags
None of these can be bought in stores

Also
Wysong Epigen 90

If you call they will send you samples
Phone: 877-311-2287… Dr Elsey's

PHONE:
800.311.6646. Young Again

1-800-748-0188 •Wysong Epigen 90

@Moorelife01

I just found this that another member had posted about the carbs

click on where it says
Kibble Values Chart
Perfect and thank you so much for the resources ! Reading now!
 
Ok. I don't know what to do with the evening dose is the problem.
What should that have been ?
Edit : he gets his meds at 6:30pm and eats then too so I was expecting the numbers after 6:30 to increase but not like that. He grazes during the day, but more at 6pm
Last night’s dose? We didn’t know at the time that he would begin the bounce quite so quickly. He went into yellow and gradually went up from there.
 
Week is okay. I am sitting at the auto shop having an oil change and a tire with a slow leak (hopefully) repaired. And I need a new battery. Meanwhile I dropped my cat off this morning for an ultrasound and am sitting here waiting very anxiously to hear from the vet.
 
8/27 Wednesday

Good Morning!

How is your week been going ?

Just wanted to check in and say hello 💞
I have a 3 day weekend coming up and I can't wait 😆😌 Solomon Bella and Layla say hello 🥰

Edit : is there a "cute post a pic section" of the forum ?
I know cute pics can be posted in Community and Off Topic. But you can also post here. We want to see!
 
Week is okay. I am sitting at the auto shop having an oil change and a tire with a slow leak (hopefully) repaired. And I need a new battery. Meanwhile I dropped my cat off this morning for an ultrasound and am sitting here waiting very anxiously to hear from the vet.
I hope it's good news!!!

On all fronts but especially the ultrasound.

I'm about to head home in 30 min for lunch break and see how alll 3 and Solomon is doing. Last night when his numbers increased after 2.5 units he slept by the water bowl - thirsty of course.
 
Poor boy. He seems to have a pattern of a nice string of blues and then bounces for 4/5 cycles before coming back down. I don’t like to hear about him being extra thirsty or a little more tired. I feel sorry for him.
 
I see. Ok ✅
Thank you
Have a good night
Rest well.
Good Morning Everyone

Please please don't come for me.
I'm wanting to try so other wet options.
Solomon doesn't care for /eat FFpate and I've tried allll the flavors. He doesn't like Tiki After dark either.
He loves Young again kibble. I was wondering if I could try another wet. This one doesn't come in wet or I would do that. What about adding a no grain low carb topper to his food to help with hydration especially during higher sugar level days ?

TIA and HAPPY Thursday feline friends !!!!
 
Good Morning!!
This is a break through! Solomon is BEGINNING his day in the BLUE ! 😀💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙💙 Because you said dry can spike I tried TIKI AFTER DARK and I thought I was eating it but all he did was lick all the juice and left the meat. Lol 😂
We will keep trying other options on the approved sheet.

@Suzanne & Darcy
Whoa this is awesome! Congratulations on shooting your first blue! You can watch him today? Get your first test at +2 — oh right, you may just need to monitor the Libre.
 
I’m sure we’ve talked about how the Libre can be alarming in that it can read too low in numbers under 100. You may need to check low numbers with your AT meter today.
 
Whoa this is awesome! Congratulations on shooting your first blue! You can watch him today? Get your first test at +2 — oh right, you may just need to monitor the Libre.
No. I can go home around 1 central time
Edit : Solli rises after 6am so I'm thinking this will help him stay blue for the day. We shall see :). He eats when I'm not home.
 
I'm home. He's back in the yellow. Solomon usually rebounds back to high numbers after a blue zone... and he is rising.
Edit to add. But I like he was 150-200 all night.
How's your baby that got the ultrasound yesterday?
Solli says hi.
... back to the job :)
 

Attachments

  • IMG_2588.jpeg
    IMG_2588.jpeg
    3.7 MB · Views: 1
Back
Top