8/20 6:30am First time injecting while in the 200's

To see if diabetes is the only condition or a by product of something more going on.

This is vet 3. The other 2 had different things to say. Now I ask a lot more questions.
Edit : all of this should have been caught sooner so the last thing I want is prolonged suffering on any level.
 
To see if diabetes is the only condition or a by product of something more going on.

This is vet 3. The other 2 had different things to say. Now I ask a lot more questions.
Good. I remember that at least one vet advised euthanasia. I am so glad you didn’t listen!
 
Good. I remember that at least one vet advised euthanasia. I am so glad you didn’t listen!
Exactly.
So I want allllll the tests until I'm comfortable and know he's "comfortable," that this is just diabetes and manageable.
I want allllll the kidney analysis 🧐 and what damage has occurred and what's occurring. I don't want to find something too late. You know ?
 
By the way, blood in the urine if there’s no bacteria present can also be caused by FIC -Feline Idiopathic Cystitis.
No idea what that is and I had to ask for the test where they test if the antibiotic is even the correct one. It's been a circus.
Bladder cancer. No, it's bladder stones. No it's a kidney bleed. Just say you don't know and refer me to someone who can help. Edit : which is part of the reason I'm here; to learn.
 
Exactly.
So I want allllll the tests until I'm comfortable and know he's "comfortable," that this is just diabetes and manageable.
I want allllll the kidney analysis 🧐 and what damage has occurred and what's occurring. I don't want to find something too late. You know ?
I understand that. I get every single lab test, pathology report, etc. sent to me directly. I read them for myself and discuss with my vet. Do you have recent labs that you can share? There’s a labs tab on the spreadsheet where a lot of people will enter their labs.
 
I understand that. I get every single lab test, pathology report, etc. sent to me directly. I read them for myself and discuss with my vet. Do you have recent labs that you can share? There’s a labs tab on the spreadsheet where a lot of people will enter their labs.
They never reviewed them with me or gave them to me. I'm telling you. A **** show imo. Edit and now I've overdosed my kitty 🐈‍⬛ ! 6:30 he's back to 2.25
 
They never reviewed them with me or gave them to me. I'm telling you. A **** show imo.
You paid for them and should, at least going forward, get copies for your records. It has also saved me money when I have just had labs done and can show the ER the labs so that they won’t repeat them.
 
You paid for them and should, at least going forward, get copies for your records. It has also saved me money when I have just had labs done and can show the ER the labs so that they won’t repeat them.
It all makes sense to me. I'm not complaining because he's still here and there are "limited " resources for vet care where I live compared to a larger metropolitan area.
 
Nadir : Does that mean 5-7 hrs post injection numbers?

I don't have any high carb around here that ... I'm aware of.
Nadir is just a word that means the lowest point in the cycle. Some cats will nadir early at maybe +4 — four hours after the shot. Some cats around +6. With some cats it moves around
 
You need to get some of the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers food. And you absolutely need some Karo syrup in the house if you must raise BG quickly. Or honey (karo is a lot less messy but either will work.)
 
I understand that. I get every single lab test, pathology report, etc. sent to me directly. I read them for myself and discuss with my vet. Do you have recent labs that you can share? There’s a labs tab on the spreadsheet where a lot of people will enter their labs.
You have a lot of knowledge and experience! Sounds like good medical team too.
 
You have a lot of knowledge and experience! Sounds like good medical team too.
Oh my gosh when you have as many cats as I do/have had and as many medical conditions you have to educate yourself just to hold your own. I am also a control freak about my cats. I must know and understand. I can’t just take the vet’s word for it. I research everything and I have even found treatments for my cats that the vets have not even mentioned. I do have a lot of experience and some of that goes along with doing cat rescue for years too.
 
Look how he’s starting to come up now. He had a late nadir today. The reason is probably that he was breaking a bounce (stay with me). See how he goes into lower numbers (even a green) and then his numbers go high and stay high for 2-3 cycles. Well today he was kind of “due” to probably break through the bounce (those high numbers that lasted a long time). That is why I was a little concerned about you increasing today. I thought it was probably going to be okay (and it is) but I would have waited at least for the bounce to clear before increasing. Don’t worry if it doesn’t make sense now.
 
Look how he’s starting to come up now. He had a late nadir today. The reason is probably that he was breaking a bounce (stay with me). See how he goes into lower numbers (even a green) and then his numbers go high and stay high for 2-3 cycles. Well today he was kind of “due” to probably break through the bounce (those high numbers that lasted a long time). That is why I was a little concerned about you increasing today. I thought it was probably going to be okay (and it is) but I would have waited at least for the bounce to clear before increasing. Don’t worry if it doesn’t make sense now.
The more I read what you're saying and then correlate it to his data ::
It's beginning to make sense 😀😅
I'm a visual person.
Thank you for the feedback and mentorship
 
Look how he’s starting to come up now. He had a late nadir today. The reason is probably that he was breaking a bounce (stay with me). See how he goes into lower numbers (even a green) and then his numbers go high and stay high for 2-3 cycles. Well today he was kind of “due” to probably break through the bounce (those high numbers that lasted a long time). That is why I was a little concerned about you increasing today. I thought it was probably going to be okay (and it is) but I would have waited at least for the bounce to clear before increasing. Don’t worry if it doesn’t make sense now.
He's 162. Shot time in 8 minutes
 
Okay. We don’t have any data with him starting this low yet. His numbers are rising and we will have some time for the numbers to continue rising before this next shot kicks in.
 
Some insulin is better than no insulin. You can even go as low as 1.5 if it will help you to feel more comfortable we can gather data and see how it goes. I feel very confident that he will be safe.
 
Sounds good. Let’s see how it goes. I don’t like to press people too much because we can work up to shooting lower as we gather spreadsheet data and learn your Sollomon’s patterns. It’s stressful as you begin to see lower numbers.
 
Some insulin is better than no insulin. You can even go as low as 1.5 if it will help you to feel more comfortable we can gather data and see how it goes. I feel very confident that he will be safe.
Perfect. ✅ Yes. Uncharted territory to poke him under 200 :) Now I can see what happens! This is completely new for him, so trial and error on the conservative side. It's nice to see 8 hrs in the good blue zone. He has more energy 🥰
 
Perfect. ✅ Yes. Uncharted territory to poke him under 200 :) Now I can see what happens! This is completely new for him, so trial and error on the conservative side. It's nice to see 8 hrs in the good blue zone. He has more energy 🥰
So good to hear about him feeling good! Yes we have time to be conservative. I wanted to hang out to see where he was going to be this evening.
 
So good to hear about him feeling good! Yes we have time to be conservative. I wanted to hang out to see where he was going to be this evening.
thank you. I appreciate it.
Yes : this many hrs at normal bg is new for him. More energy as his body uses food correctly, more walking around rather than same spot all day and much more talking.

I agree better at 2 units twice a day. Better to drop more slowly and be stable then bounce
 
Last edited:
Yikes. What high numbers. He started a bounce last night. That is to be expected as his body is just not used to being in the better blood glucose numbers anymore (since being diabetic.) This bounce could last a few days. Bouncing doesn’t mean that he has been overdosed or underdosed. It’s just his body’s reaction to the lower numbers. I think you should return either to the 2.25 dose for a few more days or the 2.5 dose, which also never took him too low but did give him some nice blue numbers. Don’t be swayed by the high numbers - even the preshot numbers — because just like yesterday when Solomon had an AMPS over 350 and you increased the dose in the morning, he then broke through the bounce and started to come down. So it’s frustrating when they are stuck in a bounce and we have to just wait it out and hold the dose. Either dose I think will be okay for him as long as you hold it for a while (7 days if you go with the 2.5 dose.) That amount of time will allow is to really get a sense of what the dose is doing for him and allows enough time for him to clear a bounce. My opinion is that he needs the 2.5 dose to get him into some blue numbers.
 
Yikes. What high numbers. He started a bounce last night. That is to be expected as his body is just not used to being in the better blood glucose numbers anymore (since being diabetic.) This bounce could last a few days. Bouncing doesn’t mean that he has been overdosed or underdosed. It’s just his body’s reaction to the lower numbers. I think you should return either to the 2.25 dose for a few more days or the 2.5 dose, which also never took him too low but did give him some nice blue numbers. Don’t be swayed by the high numbers - even the preshot numbers — because just like yesterday when Solomon had an AMPS over 350 and you increased the dose in the morning, he then broke through the bounce and started to come down. So it’s frustrating when they are stuck in a bounce and we have to just wait it out and hold the dose. Either dose I think will be okay for him as long as you hold it for a while (7 days if you go with the 2.5 dose.) That amount of time will allow is to really get a sense of what the dose is doing for him and allows enough time for him to clear a bounce. My opinion is that he needs the 2.5 dose to get him into some blue numbers.
Ok. I don't know what to do with the evening dose is the problem.
What should that have been ?
Edit : he gets his meds at 6:30pm and eats then too so I was expecting the numbers after 6:30 to increase but not like that. He grazes during the day, but more at 6pm
 
Last edited:
Yikes. What high numbers. He started a bounce last night. That is to be expected as his body is just not used to being in the better blood glucose numbers anymore (since being diabetic.) This bounce could last a few days. Bouncing doesn’t mean that he has been overdosed or underdosed. It’s just his body’s reaction to the lower numbers. I think you should return either to the 2.25 dose for a few more days or the 2.5 dose, which also never took him too low but did give him some nice blue numbers. Don’t be swayed by the high numbers - even the preshot numbers — because just like yesterday when Solomon had an AMPS over 350 and you increased the dose in the morning, he then broke through the bounce and started to come down. So it’s frustrating when they are stuck in a bounce and we have to just wait it out and hold the dose. Either dose I think will be okay for him as long as you hold it for a while (7 days if you go with the 2.5 dose.) That amount of time will allow is to really get a sense of what the dose is doing for him and allows enough time for him to clear a bounce. My opinion is that he needs the 2.5 dose to get him into some blue numbers.
Adjusted to 2.5 for today 🫂thanks
I really really appreciate you 💙
 
@Moorelife01
For your hypo kit
Just wanted you to know on Dr Pierson's food chart

the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Beef Feast In Roasted Beef Flavor Gravy (which. Dr Pierson’s list says is 20%
Comes back with 14%

These are correct for med carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

You can even look at the Friskies for high carbs and med carbs, or any other food
So buy a few cans of each
Good idea to mark the cans with a marker


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.
 
Back
Top