8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +2/43 +2.5/54 +3/58 +4/68 +5/385 Really?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tigger's Friend

Member Since 2013
Hi Lantus Land!

Tigger Condo

Again, many thanks to Marje & Wendy for taking such good care of us yesterday as Tigger earned his first dose reduction! Also for the explanation & guidance re. shooting full dose into a bounce. It went as planned, with Tigger staying high & level through the night.

Tigger got his dose reduction this AM, but Marje advised we may see the drop today. I was wondering if I should be pre-emptive of a huge swing & feed at +2 & +3? I don't want to destroy the drop, tho' & prevent him from going into that healing green space! Tigger got only 1/2 can + 1T Wellness at breakfast vs. 3/4 can.

Other than that, we're all good today, with a little extra chaos from extra family living here! They're all wonderful though & love them all!
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS=327; +2/219 Feed into drop?

Tigger's Friend said:
I was wondering if I should be pre-emptive of a huge swing & feed at +2 & +3?

It's worth a try! What is your usual feeding schedule? From what I see on your spreadsheet it looks like you mainly feed just at PS? As you suggested, you might try spreading the meal over the early hours to prevent the drop/bounce problem. My Papaya is VERY VERY BOUNCY and I have gradually learned that it is the quick drops that are the real enemy because they just lead to more bounces. At first I just wanted to see those high PS come down immediately so I would feed her the lowest-carb stuff I had if her numbers were higher, but the faster she drops the more she bounces so now I just try to feed the same food consistently (now at PS, +1.5 and +3) to level things out.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS=327; +2/219 Feed into drop?

Good idea on the fuds. Any drop over 50 points an hour can cause a bounce, as Amy said, so slowing it down is a good idea. A number of people here with cats that drop early have spread the meals out for the first few hours, like a +1, +2 or +3, or as Amy has done with Papaya. Have a little food ready to counteract that onset can be a good thing.

I'm glad you got some sleep last night. :-D
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS=327; +2/219 Feed into drop?

Congratulations on the dose decrease Tigger! It's usually very nice to see those greens start to appear (and sometimes, not so much). But Tigger is looking great. Good Luck!!!
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS=327; +2/219 Feed into drop?

Thanks, all for the input - I gave a little at +3, but looking at Tigger's numbers, I should've given it at +1 or +1.5 as Amy does. Just didn't click for me soon enough. Well, tomorrow is another day & tonight another night!

I guess if you want to make sure you get sleep you can feed a little MC, too, eh? :twisted:
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS=327; +2/219 +4.5/171 +7.5/91 good run ag

Good Afternoon, Lantus Land!

Well, I thought Tigger was through at +6 with 138, but it looks like he's going long, today - more green healing here!

I'll keep an eye on him now to make sure he doesn't drop too low - it seems like he's slower & surfing more today.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS=327 +4.5/171 +7.5/91 +8/83 Feed or let s

Hi Everyone, Tigger's having a nice run today, but he's going lower late (seems he's been doing this on the 2 units & up doses), & he's currently at +8/83.

To re-cap:
8/2/13
AMPS = 327
+2 = 219
+3 = 194 (fed 1 T wellness Chicken pate after test)
+4.5 = 171
+6 = 138
+7.5 = 91
+8 = 83
+9 = 81
So, I'd like a little fine tuning at this point. I'll keep testing every 30 min. to make sure he doesn't drop.

? Do I wait till he's under 70 or 50 to feed, or should I give him a little here? I'm not worried - I'm happy for Tigger, & I have 4 hours till dosing still.

? Also, if he stays low, at what number is it comfortable to shoot his full dose at his regular time? The lowest I've shot so far is 158. I guess the big issue is whether he's going up or still going down by then, huh? :oops:

Thanks LL for any advice - I appreciate it alot!
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS=327 +7.5/91 +8/83 +9/81 +9.5/71 +10/70

Whew! Got it! Had to skee-daddle, but gave him 2 tsp Wellness Chicken @ 5:57 (= scarf - yea, Piggy Tiggy!)

I know it's wrong but THEN I tested immediately (i needed the +10), so +10 = 70 (1 point lower)

Eating is outside my 2-hour 8:05 test/feed/shoot time.

I'll re-test in 30

Marje, how low can Tigger go for me to still be able to shoot a full dose at this regular time?

THANK YOU!!!!! :D :-D ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS=327 +8/83 +9/81 +9.5/71 +10/70 +10.5/72

OK, +10.5, 30 min. after feeding is 72 (up 2 points) nailbite_smile
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS=327 +8/83 +9/81 +9.5/71 +10/70 +10.5/72

Suzanne

Well...you haven't shot green before. Do you have supplies, can you stay up and test, and what do you feel comfortable shooting? We don't shoot below 50 but I don't think that would be an option here tonight.

Your options will be:

1. if he's surfing or going up, shoot the full dose on time, get a +1 and +2, put on the coffee and get your comfy PJs.

2. if he's surfing or going down, stall and test every 30 and soon as he comes up, shoot full dose

3. shoot a reduced dose on time (which doesn't mean that this cycle will be any different due to the depot)

4. skip

The reason I mention surfing in both 1 and 2 is it depends on your comfort level. So think about it. I know it's coming up on your +11.5 now.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS=327 +8/83 +9/81 +9.5/71 +10/70 +10.5/72

Hi Marje,

Tigger's 11.5 is 75. up 3 more points in 30. Not what I'd wanted, but......

What would you do? I don't want to lose the momentum here, but I don't want to endanger Tigger, either.

You're also saying that a skip (not my first choice) could have the same response as a regular dose, because we're communicating with the depot right now, right?
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS=327+9.5/71 +10/70 +10.5/72 +11.5/75 Dose

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: What would I do? Well, as a new member, I was trigger happy so I'm not sure I"m the best person to ask ;-) ;-)

Hmmm....did I say a skip has the same response as a regular dose? I think what I probably said is that even if you skip, you might see a similar cycle to shooting a dose because of the depot, at least the first part of it, but you wouldn't have to worry about numbers tanking without any insulin on board tonight. You could get a test or two just to be sure he's coming up and that would be it.

I don't think you will endanger him because you'll be testing and feeding. But it might be a really busy cycle with a lot of tests. It's hard to say but because he's clearing a bounce, I would think he might come down a little more.

This has to be your decision. It's ok to stall and see if he comes up as long as you can afford to stall. The flip side is, he could come back down to a point where you can't or don't feel comfortable shooting.

I'm not trying to sway you; I will help you any way but you have to decide how you feel about stalling vs shooting on time.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS=327+9.5/71 +10/70 +10.5/72 +11.5/75 Dose

I'm thinking if the PMPS is higher than 75 I could:

1) wait & shoot 15 minutes late - within the normal dose time range, right?
1a) shoot the full 2 units
1c) feed MC & LC food at dinner (1/2 Wellness Chicken & 1/2 Weruva Green Egg)
1d) feed at +1, +2, & +3 & try to get Tigger into Blue or ???

But -what is a safe range for shooting in the green? Is this a risky number to shoot or is this just a hurdle I need to cross over?

Thank you for your advice!!!
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS=327+9.5/71 +10/70 +10.5/72 +11.5/75 Dose

What happened to 1b? ;-) Just want to be sure you aren't hiding any options from me. :lol:

1. yes but what if he's not up? you would test again, right?
1a. shoot the full 2u at PMPS or 15 mins later (after you test again).
1c. this is what you would do if you shoot?
1d. TEST and feed and just go with the curve. If he's flat or comes down, feed the curve with LC. See where he goes.

The safe range for shooting is any number above 50 if you are prepared. Do you mean the safe number for you and Tigger?

I don't think this is a risky number. You've had some lows and should be understanding how he reacts to food. I think it has potential to be a very active cycle.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS=327+9.5/71 +10/70 +10.5/72 +11.5/75 Dose

Hi Suzanne! WOW! Tigger sure is living up to his name!!!!! Good luck with whatever you decide to do with his shot tonight. Sorry to not weigh in, but I've never shot that low and would probably have a mini heart attack if that option came up! :shock: :lol: Sending good shot number vines and NO DRAMA vines your way!!! TGIF!
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS=327+9.5/71 +10/70 +10.5/72 +11.5/75 +12/

Marje - OOPS - am so nervous I didn't see your response & I forgot AAAA!!!

I meant ALL of those options is what I was going to do! I think I am going to shoot at 8:20 my time - a 15 minute stall, except that he is holding at 75, so maybe I need to feed. I will shoot the 2 units (reduced this morning) & probably have a cardiac arrest shortly afterwards. (1e)

Am going to go test again, then feed 9% carb (Weruva Green Eggs)
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS=327+9.5/71 +10/70 +10.5/72 +11.5/75 +12/

New Number is 72. I think I should feed 9% (its the highest I have except for FF gravy), then shoot. What do you think?
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS=327+9.5/71 +10/70 +10.5/72 +11.5/75 +12/

As long as you plan on shooting and feeding. I was just worried you re going to feed and stall a bit more.

He's definitely surfing, if you shoot and feed, please be sure to get a +1. I'll be watching.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger AMPS=327+9.5/71 +10/70 +10.5/72 +11.5/75 +12/

OK, the deed is done.

We shot 2 units somewhere around +15 - 20 minutes of this morning's shot time. For a BIG CS like me, I don't know where this came from - idiocy. probably :lol: :lol: :lol: nailbite_smile

Well, I'll go see who else is up testing tonight - we can all hang out like one big happy family!
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 (whew! so far)

Thanks, Marje, I like my new balls :lol:

Ok, Round 1: +1 / 85 (whew)

I think you're right, Marge, we could go alot lower; we're not getting a big head of steam from the food.

I think I should feed a little more now?

Thanks for the company!
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 (whew! so far)

Nice shooting tonight Suzanne! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Be good Tigger!
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 (whew! so far)

Yes...but don't let him get too full. Just a couple tsp. see you at +2. My money is on a lower number.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 (whew! so far)

Wendy&Neko said:
Nice shooting tonight Suzanne! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Be good Tigger!

Thanks, Wendy - I better have Tigger read that so he listens & follows directions!

mARJE SAID:
My money is on a lower number.
Darn! I'm afraid to bet against you - you're right all the time!!! :o
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 (whew! so far)

Not all the time ;-) No one is right all the time and as soon as these kitties read the condos, they do the opposite.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 (whew! so far)

Marje and Gracie said:
Not all the time ;-) No one is right all the time and as soon as these kitties read the condos, they do the opposite.

Good! I'm making Tigger read your post right now! :razz:
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 eeps!

Hate it when I'm THAT right!

Time for three tsp of HC gravy and test in 30.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 eeps!

Obviously Tigger needs to work on his reading skills - Marje was RIGHT!

+2 = 43 :shock: :shock: :shock:

I gave 2 tsp FF Turkey/Giblets in gravy. Can I give the food chunks too or just the gravy?

Tigger seems fine - he is currently v. busy looking for bugs under the trunk........

Oh - & I accidentally left the Lantus pen out of the fridge about 1.5 hrs. It's about 1/3 full now - will it still be good?
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 eeps!

Try just the gravy right now - don't want to fill him up this early.

Pen should be good for that short period of time outside.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 eeps!

Thanks, Wendy.

I'll re-test in 30 (from the prior test) unless I should test sooner.

Should I save the honey for later, too?
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 eeps!

OOH, just saw Marje's post

Marje and Gracie said:
Hate it she I'm THAT right!

Time for three tsp of HC gravy and test in 30.

Yes, & you're probably SMART, too! ;-)

I only gave 2 tsp, so am adding 1 more now late.......
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 eeps!

Well look at little Tigger go!!!

eeps is right.

I can be around for a test or two.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 eeps!

I'd give him 30 mins after you fed the first two tsp to test. It usually takes 30 mins to see the BG affected by food.

The syrup can just standby for now.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 eeps!

Hi Carl!

Thank you, I appreciate the company! I'm in that odd place - exhausted, headache, but totally amped up - the box of TJ's frozen chocolate banana wheels might be involved there......

Good to hear from you! You've still been hanging around in my thoughts the past few days, big hugs :YMHUG:

I wanted to tell you I've seen alot of feral cats where we moved that live & die miserably with no one to care about them or even know they ever were here. How lucky both you & Mullet were to have each other, & such a close connection. It really touched my heart. Thank you for sharing so much.

OK - back to business......

+3 = 54

Tigger is falling asleep with his head in the test kit box. Looking for fallen FD treats no doubt.

More gravy anyone?

Thanks, everyone!
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 +3/54 - Up, Tigger, Up!

More gravy anyone?

No thanks, I just opened a Landshark Lager.

Did you give him that 3rd spoon a few minutes after the first two?
If so, how about a LC chaser?
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 +3/54 - Up, Tigger, Up!

Yes..I would give two more tsp gravy and test in 30. It's early in the cycle.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 +3/54 - Up, Tigger, Up!

Is a Landshark Lager anything like the SNL Landshark? (knock-knock) Sorry, couldn't help myself.

I gave the 3rd tsp HC about 5-10 min. prior to the +3 test.

I'll feed 2 tsp LC (4%) now (11:20) & re-test @ 11:35.

Thanks, enjoy your lager!
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 +3/54 - Up, Tigger, Up!

OK.
If it's lower or not higher anyway, go with what Marge said and give a couple more TSPS of gravy.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 +3/54 - Up, Tigger, Up!

Correction, just saw Marje's post.

I'll give 2 tsp HC now.
Thank you again!
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 +3/54 - Up, Tigger, Up!

My reasoning is its early in the cycle and the 54 is food influenced. When we get him up a bit more, we can toss LC in the mix.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 +2.5/54 +3/58

Here's another option......he earned a reduction this morning; you can just give him a good helping of HC food, get the numbers up, sleep for a couple hours.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 +2.5/54 +3/58

Hi Faithful Experienced Members,

I'm messing up the + numbers because I shot at 8:30 instead of closer to 8:00. Also I'm feeding more in-between because it takes so darn long to get 2 tsp gravy from the chunks of FF.

To re-cap:

(9:15) +.75 = 85
(9:25) Fed 2-3 tsp Weruva MC Green Eggs (9%)

(10:25) +2 = 43
(10:30) fed 2 tsp FF HC gravy
(10:50) fed 1 tsp FF HC gravy

(11:05) + 2.5 = 54
(11:25) fed 2 tsp FF HC Gravy
(11:35) +3 = 58

There. Should I feed HC again or MC? Thanks again so much for all your input, guys. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 +2.5/54 +3/58

I agree with what Marje posted last. He's made his point. He demands a reduction (YAY!!!). You can feed him HC, let his numbers get up to the point where he isn't likely to drop back down, and you can get some decent sleep. If you want to set an alarm for later in the cycle, that's a good plan too.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 +2.5/54 +3/58

Just one point of clarification. He was just reduced this morning so I wouldn't reduce again so soon. However, because you know you aren't going to give him another reduction, I'd bring the numbers up and sleep.

What do you think, Suzanne?
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 +2.5/54 +3/58

Marje,
This is "depot" most likely from the prior dose? Would you skinny it at all, or just stick with this moring's dose?

Tigger looks like he's "on a mission", doesn't he?
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 +2.5/54 +3/58

Ok, I'm confused.

I got a dose reduction that Tigger earned 8/1. We shot through the bounce & took the reduction today, on 8/2 (2.25 reduced to 2.0).

What I read is that we qualify for a SECOND reduction (from 2.0 to 1.75) that I can take on the 8/3 Am cycle?

I didn't think depot drops counted toward reductions - but I'm a Newbie, what do I know, anyway??? ohmygod_smile

If I give Tigger a bunch of HC (He LOVES this FF- but I'm afraid to see the litterbox tomorrow :shock: )

What levels am I aiming for???
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 +2.5/54 +3/58

Satellite internet is so slow.

I understand. No reduction tomorrow because its too soon unless you two think a skinny is appropriate.

I understand the logic, get him up & let him get through this & tomorrow is another day. I don't get to keep the reduction today because its too soon.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 +2.5/54 +3/58

I've confused things. I misread what Marje said earlier.

This is most likely the "depot" talking. He hasn't "settled" into the reduction you gave him this morning. So the dose you shot today should stay the same. If he keeps doing this every day, then at some point, it'll be due to the 2.0 dose and no longer the depot from the 2.25u dose.

I'm just happy to see a day (and night) that is mostly "green" for Tigger. :-D

Hopefully today will be the first in a series of deductions for your little guy.

I think if Tigger gets up to the low blues, that's fine. It'll let you get some sleep. And the carbs from the HC won't stay around forever. They will have worked their way out of his system by AMPS, I believe. If you see a higher number at AMPS, it would be "bounce" related and not from the HC tonight. And hopefully, you won't see a bounce either.
 
Re: 8/2 Tigger PMPS=72 +1/85 +2/43 +2.5/54 +3/58

Carl & Bob said:
Marje,
Tigger looks like he's "on a mission", doesn't he?

Carl, do you mean what I'd like to think you mean? Do you think Tigger might be wanting to go OTJ or is he just messing with my head?

Thank you both for all your time & lack of sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top