8/2 Skooter +2 96 +4 77 +5 66 +6 70 +8.25 78 +9 100 +17 120

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
CoNdo: 08/01/14


Ya know, I feel like I should have hesitated before shooting that number this morning, and I really didn't. I figure I have to shoot these low numbers at one point and mind as well be when I am gonna be around to monitor him. I think I was actually excited to shoot it as my brain understands that with a lower number, it doesn't mean that he is going to drop to zero, but for me, I need to experience it, to trust it more, if that makes sense. I am really hoping for reduction today or tomorrow as my gut says that is what he is going for.

The joys of being used to being up or getting up, I woke up around +8, "just cuz", so figured I would get a test in. When Skoots and I were chit chatting this morning getting ready for his poke, I told him based on the 130 I was expecting and ok with a kind of high number this morning, so the 105 was a weeeeeeee bit shocking. I did retest just to make sure and sure enough 110. I did keep the 105 as his pre shot number as the 110 was so close.

I am thinking I should be getting a +1 again (as that is what was suggested last night with his122).

Sending extra prayers and love to Mariko and Lucy as they continue their journey, Melanie who is grieving the loss of her beloved Racci. Sending positive test result vines to Amy's DM and a great big hug to anyone who needs one today for whatever reason.
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105

Nice amps, times when I have shot that low I've made sure to get a +1 and for sure +2.

I hope skooter earns a reduction today.
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105

Thanks! I sure hope he earns one today as well...Especially when I TOTALLY thought last night was gonna be the night.

I want the reduction more for the fact it will be easier to measure, is that bad? lol
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +1 120

Molly, you should be so proud of what you have accomplished with Skooter. I have been following your posts since you first posted here as "sacred Mom of newly diagnosed diabetic cat." You were convinced that you could never test at home. Look at how far you've come in just a short time! You are the poster child for what we can do for our fur babies when they need us.

Linda
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +1 120

Nice shooting!! Great on getting the +1 as well, because you never know.

We always loved doses that "fell on a line" :lol: ...they do make things so much easier.

Have a great day, guys!!
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +1 120 +2 96

Angela - looks like he is gonna give me a nice surf.....

Amy - it is so much easier when you can just loo at a line and KNOW that is right, this eyeballing crap is just horrible...

Linda - thank you so much :) I know I would not be where I am today with him without the support, patience and knowledge of everyone here. Even two or three weeks ago I think shooting a 105 probably would have made me cry lol When my vet's office saw the first few sets of numbers I sent them, with the amount of testing etc, they said they wanted to make me their example of a home tester lol....

It is so true, you do what you have to do for your babies, even things you didn't think you could do, you find a way to do it.....

I have a few errands to run today, so hopefully a +4 will let me know when I can do those errands. I have never had him "bobble" between blues and greens like this before...I kinda think he is trying to get to that reduction, but isn't 100% sold on it yet...we shall see!

Thanks again for everyone's support! Happy CATURDAY!!!!
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +1 120 +2 96

Good Morning ~O) ~O) ~O) :cool:

That there is some mighty fine shootin' :-D

Beautiful cycle last night!

The past 7 days:
Skooter has had 14 consecutive cycles with no pink.
Blue PSs - 10
Yellow PSs - 4

The 7 days prior:
Red PS - 1
Pink PS - 5
Yellow PS - 5
Blue - PS 4

Very, very nice. :cool:
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +1 120 +2 96

i love it when you do those analyses, sandy! really helps to put things in perspective and see the progress!

i'd also add that skooter's been all blue/green for 3 days now. Shooting low is fantastic - lantus works great to keep a kitty flat when you've shot in normal numbers. can't wait to see what skooter does today. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +1 120 +2 96 +4 77

He seems to be doing really well.....

Sandy, thanks so much for the "Big picture view"....I hadn't even noticed he had gone 14 cycles without pink! And while yellow is my favorite color, I am sure learning to love the color of green :)

This was good for me to see, so when his pre shot is low, I don't have to freak out too much while at work. I will certainly feel a lot better when I can get the auto feeder and set that up for the days I am unable to come home at lunch. So far I have been very lucky with being able to come home during the day.....I think I am still a little leary of shooting under 100, but I am sure I will get there :)
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +1 120 +2 96 +4 77

a while ago i posted in Charlie's condo about posting low - you might find it helpful to read here.

it's an entirely different game than shooting a high number. if i were drawing an example, i'd say it's the difference in playing regular golf and mini golf. when you're shooting a high number, it's like regular golf - the cat can drop a large distance. Mini golf also uses a club and a ball, but you only move a few feet. shooting low is completely different than shooting a high number.
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +1 120 +2 96 +4 77

I guess the other part, is I honestly never thought I would EVER be shooting low numbers....

I am going to get a +5 and as long as he is about the same or higher, I should be good to go out for a few hours, yes?
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +1 120 +2 96 +4 77 +5 66

I gave him half his midday, I am gonna test him at +6 and then give his second half and hopefully head out for a bit to run some errands....
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +1 120 +2 96 +4 77 +5 66 +6 70

Now Skooter....surf nicely for momma....I need to go out for a few hours (in part to get you more food), so behave yourself and eat the food I am leaving for you (like THAT is gonna be a problem) lol
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +1 120 +2 96 +4 77 +5 66 +6 70

Molly, I am so proud of you!!! Look how far you have come in a short time. I, too, remember your first terrified posts, and now you're shooting a 105 and managing a perfect green surf! Nice job!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I know you want a reduction, but having a few safe green surfs first will help insure Skooter will hold that reduction when it is earned. This is a very good thing!

I hope you got your errands run (especially the cat food shopping), and enjoy the rest of your Caturday.
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +1 120 +2 96 +4 77 +5 66 +6 70 +8.2

Thanks Tricia! It feels so long ago that I started this journey and it really has been barely any time at all.....

And look at him go! still surfing the greens at +8.25!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I am so proud of my Skooterbear!

I, of course, forgot the food of Skooter's that I needed to return, as I thought it was in the car. So I will have to go out again :roll: Gonna get a quick cat nap in, in case we have a late one tonight and I THINK my sister has convinced me that one 20 oz bottle of a caffeinated beverage wouldn't kill me, so I think I will pick one of those up as well and drink if we end up having a PJ party tonight....

This is all such new territory for me (these numbers), so I have no idea what to expect....(there is a shocker, not :lol: )
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +1 120 +2 96 +4 77 +5 66 +6 70 +8.2

:mrgreen:

tricia's right - the long green surfs at any dose are great for healing.
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +1 120 +2 96 +4 77 +5 66 +6 70 +8.2

Generally speaking, I am an emotional person....

But I kinda wanna cry right now (happy tears)....this is the longest "recorded" green surf Skooter has ever done! (assuming he didn't spike into blue when I wasn't testing, which I am guessing he didn't since still at 78)......

I think I can hear Mr. P smiling and thanking the insulin for all this wonderful healing time :)
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +2 96 +4 77 +5 66 +6 70 +8.25 78 +9

So, I hope this/these question(s) make sense

So my understanding is LC is considered 0-9%, MC 10-15% and HC anything above 16%


Does it do any "good" to have varying % of each...for example are there times when it is better to use a MC that is say 11% and other times when it is better to use a MC that is 14% or is LC LC, MC MC, and HC HC?

I am trying to get my shopping list together for Skooter's food.

Also, since he has been on dry food pretty much his whole life, even chicken is considered a "novel" protein for him. At this stage of the game, is it ok to mix proteins? I still plan to stay with chicken for his LC everyday meals, but is it ok to get a MC or a HC that is a different protein, or is it better to stick with the same one for LC, MC and HC. So far I have the Nature's Variety Chicken for his low carb and FF Gravy lover's chicken for HC, so I was thinking I would get some of the FF Roasted Chicken Feast for his MC.

Thoughts?
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +2 96 +4 77 +5 66 +6 70 +8.25 78 +9

As long as he's eating it without any problems from the IBD, I think I'd stick with one main protein.

Don't go looking for trouble...it may find you!!

Great cycle today for Team Skooter!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +2 96 +4 77 +5 66 +6 70 +8.25 78 +9

My advice would be stick with the chicken. Don't mess with what's working. It sounds like Skooter is a really good eater. Don't turn him into a picky eater by giving him too many choices. :lol: Just my opinion - which isn't worth much.
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +2 96 +4 77 +5 66 +6 70 +8.25 78 +9

I assumed it would be best to stick with same protein. ..

As for the different percentages of carbs in the food, I am guessing, at least for now I dont have to have varying percentages of a LC, MC & HC food....just have some of each....yes?
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +2 96 +4 77 +5 66 +6 70 +8.25 78 +9

Looks like Skooter will need to skip his does tonight, which I hate to do because he has been doing so great, however I just got a call my mom is being taken the hospital by ambulance and I am not sure what exactly is going on.

I will feed him now and hopefully get him back on track here in the morning.....hopefully the fact he has had great numbers the last few days will help out with this.....


If, you have a few to spare, please send some good vibes our way....
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +2 96 +4 77 +5 66 +6 70 +8.25 78 +9

Hope your DM is ok, Molly!

Don't worry about having to skip. I know you're frustrated that you have to now that you're getting such great numbers, but Skooter will get back on track soon

Sending lots of feel better vines for DM and a few "hang in there" vines for you and Skooter
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +2 96 +4 77 +5 66 +6 70 +8.25 78 +9

Sending tons of vines for DM and :YMHUG: :YMHUG: for you Molly.

Skooter had a great day, he'll get back on track soon enough. Don't worry about differing percentages of LC, MC, and HC for now. If you need a slightly higher MC, you can always add a drop of HC to the mix, ditto for adding a drop of MC to an LC. Some people do have to use differing percentages of food, but I don't think you need to worry about that just yet.
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +2 96 +4 77 +5 66 +6 70 +8.25 78 +9

I'm sending vines for you and your mom. I hope it is nothing serious.
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter AMPS 105 +2 96 +4 77 +5 66 +6 70 +8.25 78 +9

sending our best for your mom. i hope she's ok. and a big hug for you, that's very stressful. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter +2 96 +4 77 +5 66 +6 70 +8.25 78 +9 100 +17

Just got home from the hospital. Not a bad +17 number, though I am sure that is just his depot draining. I think I am gonna hate tomorrow's AMPS.

I am assuming that I am ok to sort of "start fresh" with his shot time (I saw where someone else skipped a dose and they were advised if they wanted to pick a new shot time they could). Right now Skooter is shot between 630 and 645 each morning. I would like to get him down between 600 and 615 so that way I can get a +1.5 in the morning before going to work. I can't do much earlier than that, as I am not always able to get home between 530 and 545.

And he just threw up :sad: I am guessing because he ate so fast tonight. I sure hope that is all with him, I am not sure I can take much more bad things happening.....

As for my mom.....it could be any number of things at this point. September 19, 2012 she had a bilateral abdominal aortic aneurysm repair done. September 2013 she ended up with a double bypass that she almost did not survive. So, today she was having chest pains and vomiting and finally called 911. They did an EKG on her and it didn't show a heart attack per say, but it did show some abnormalities. They are not sure if it a heart attack, additional blockage getting worse (they did say another artery was somewhat blocked when they did the double, but they weren't confident she would survive a triple and the two they did were the worse ones) or just some sort of infection because she has a fever. So they are admitted her and will be doing enzyme testing throughout the night and so we won't know anything until tomorrow. My mom and I are unusually close.....we share a same birthday, same eye color, hair color, favorite color, so I am just lost right now in worry that I might lose her. While I had a feeling this was coming, it still feels a bit out of nowhere.

Thank you everyone for your healing vines, please keep them coming. I am a mess wondering how I am gonna keep up with Skooter AND if there are any issues, surgeries, procedures that need to be done for mom.....is giving him a reduced dose an option so he is getting SOME insulin but will lessen his chances of having a hypo? His timed feeder won't get here until the middle of this coming week....

I am going to try and get some sleep tonight, since there is nothing I can do for mom tonight, and Skooter did not get insulin, so he should be good. I sure hope Skooter feels like snugglin with his mommabean tonight, I could sure use it :sad:
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter +2 96 +4 77 +5 66 +6 70 +8.25 78 +9 100 +17

IF it becomes necessary, than yes, giving a reduced dose when you can't test is the better option instead of giving nothing, but lets cross that bridge when we come to it.

Hopefully your DM will be better tomorrow and they'll have some answers for you both.

Sending more vines for DM, and hugs for you and Skooter :YMHUG:

Be a good boy Skooter and snuggle with your mama tonight
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter +2 96 +4 77 +5 66 +6 70 +8.25 78 +9 100 +17

Super day for Skooter.

Sending tons of prayers and vines for your mom. Pls let us know how she is when you can.
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter +2 96 +4 77 +5 66 +6 70 +8.25 78 +9 100 +17

My mom has been in the hospital several times with serious issues while Tiffany and Max have been very sick. I'm so very sorry that you too are in this situation. I hope you have siblings that can share the load. I'll be praying that your mom does not need surgery or any procedures and is feeling better soon. The smart people here will help you adjust insulin doses to keep Skooter safe.
 
Re: 8/2 Skooter +2 96 +4 77 +5 66 +6 70 +8.25 78 +9 100 +17

Hi sweetie,

I just want to tell you that you are one of my heroes. I noticed that we started close to the same time, here, at the most amazing board on the internet. You did start about a month earlier but you have been so encouraging and supportive of me and my Simmie that I felt a closeness to you. You jumped in faster than I did with all the particulars of the TR group - great for you. You will always be a model for new members and how to jump in with both feet.

I am sending you the best wishes I can possibly send. I understand the complexity of other personal issues that plague us while we are taking care of the serious issues attacking our fur babies.

You are very special...I know special and I can sense it in others. I'll be praying for you and your mom all night. I lost both my mom and my horrible dad before I was 18...it can be a frightening journey but I am getting a feeling that your mom will be ok...she will need to make some serious decisions over the next few weeks but she will be fine.

Love to all
Lydette
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top