8/2 Izzy: amps 212, stay at 1.25 or go up? pmps 146 +3 117

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/2 Izzy: amps 212, stay at 1.25 or go up?

Hmm, not totally sure what to suggest on that, but I'll bump you up so you get more eyes on your question.

Something to factor into deciding: is the weekend coming up a time when you would be able to get some daytime midcycle tests as well as the before-beds? If so, that would probably be a good time to try an increase if you are going to do one, since you could see what it's doing for a few cycles both day and night. Just a thought.
 
Re: 8/2 Izzy: amps 212, stay at 1.25 or go up?

I'd also like to see some more mid-cycle numbers during the AM cycle, but understand not everyone can do those. Most cats numbers go down at night, so it's not really a complete picture...that being said, I think if I were you, I'd go ahead and hold the 1.25 for tonight, (just in case the 1.5 is a tad too much...I hate to have to stay up worrying all night..I don't mind the testing...it's the worrying that gets to me in those wee hours of the morning) and then go to 1.5 tomorrow since it's the weekend and maybe you can be home to do some more testing....and it'll be during the day when his numbers are probably a little higher than at night anyway

The protocol is below....and I'm suggesting the increase based on the bold print. You've done the Hold for 3-5 days, so it might be time for a nudge up.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

I'm sure the more experienced eyes will be along soon...it's been really busy on the board lately with so many new cats! I don't know how some of the most active members can be on helping others AND manage their own kitties!!
 
Re: 8/2 Izzy: amps 212, stay at 1.25 or go up?

I can't day readings due to work. If I am going to bump up they I havetoo start on a Saturday night because Sunday is my only day off. I can't watch her if I am not home :-)
 
Re: 8/2 Izzy: amps 212, stay at 1.25 or go up?

I understand the limitation of working - I can't be home every day with my Papaya either (too bad she couldn't test her own blood sugar . . . and cook me dinner while she's at it, seeing as she gets to stay home all day :lol: ), that's why I thought maybe the weekend would be good. What about this - if Sunday is your only day off, you could maybe increase Saturday morning since it often takes until the second cycle to start seeing a difference. You won't be able to get tests on that one, but there probably won't be much change yet anyway. Then you could be home to monitor cycle 2 of an increase (Saturday night), cycle 3 (Sunday morning) and cycle 4 (Sunday night) by which time you should have a pretty good idea of what the new dose is doing.
 
Re: 8/2 Izzy: amps 212, stay at 1.25 or go up?

I could wait a week and try to get a few more late night numbers in next week? I don't know what is best.

On the up side...I just obtained a prescription for her fluids....$24 for a case...vs. 27 for one bag, one lines set up and 10 needs (which I never use). I have and order into thriving pets for line set up which are like 3.00. so saving Huge there! Gotta get break somewhere for petes sake!
 
Re: 8/2 Izzy: amps 212, stay at 1.25 or go up?

if you can test at night, then I think you could do the increase. You've been at the 1.25 for 12 doses

I understand working and not being able to test as much as you'd like. I wouldn't wait another week though.

Hopefully someone with more experience can come along to advise you, but from the protocol, it looks like that's the next step

Good going on the savings too! That is a major difference!! Maybe you can put the extra away and take yourself out for a nice dinner soon :-D
 
Re: 8/2 Izzy: amps 212, stay at 1.25 or go up? pmps 146

Looking at Izzys SS..and seriously....Google Drive has eaten some of my notes. I feel like I now need to keep 2 sets. Geez!
 
Re: 8/2 Izzy: amps 212, stay at 1.25 or go up? pmps 146

It ate some of mine last week...I lost my notes for 9-10 days. I had the numbers jotted down on a legal pad I keep next to our testing site, but all my notes about food and stuff went poof

Technology is great...when it works
 
Re: 8/2 Izzy: amps 212, stay at 1.25 or go up? pmps 146

I wouldn't wait a week for more testing. I'd bump the dose up to 1.5U when you get a chance.
 
Re: 8/2 Izzy: amps 212, stay at 1.25 or go up? pmps 146

Deb do you think I should do it Saturday morning which will be around 7:am, knowing I won't be home until 7:15-7:30 pm? Or should I wait until Saturday night to start when I know I can be home all day Sunday to keep an eye on her?
 
Re: 8/2 Izzy: amps 212, stay at 1.25 or go up? pmps 146 +3

Janet,

Izzy has room to drop into the greens. Haven't seen any greens for her yet. I think you should do the increase on Sat AM. I realize you might not see this before it is time to give the shot, but since you are 3 hours behind me, you might.

Dose increases usually take time to fill the depot. You night not see much effect from the increase until several cycles later.

Izzy should be safe for the morning. Since you need to go to work, leaving out a bit of extra food during the day would also help to keep her safe.

Do you have any frozen wet food to leave out for her? What we call "cat foodcicles"? Those defrost slowly to be eaten over the course of the day and give your cat a little bit to nibble on during the day when you are away.

It's all your comfort level. If you feel better waiting until Sat PM to increase, then wait.
 
Re: 8/2 Izzy: amps 212, stay at 1.25 or go up? pmps 146 +3

Deb she always has wet food out. She has to have it available to snack or she will get nauseaus, so thats not a problem. will be testing her soo so I can shoo around 7:15 since I work late today.
 
Re: 8/2 Izzy: amps 212, stay at 1.25 or go up? pmps 146 +3

I don't know that I would have been quite so fast to increase.

Janet -- If this were my kitty, I would have gotten another test after your +3 last night. It's very possible that Izzy dropped into greens last night. Many cats run in lower numbers at night and in the absence of more information, I'd rather see if you can grab a couple of tests tonight and tomorrow before deciding on whether to increase. Since you already did increase, please try to get some additional tests tonight and tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top