8/2 Belle AMPS: 86, +2: 68, +3: 81, +6: 86, PMPS: 94, +1: 88, +2: 90, +4: 83, +5: 95

to keep from having too many ?
No no. I'm just kidding. Since she's 86 every morning. ;)

If you can get one test per cycle (in addition) to the pre-shots, you can follow TR. I'm wondering if you want to do that? Will help you keep Belle for a little longer on this dose - it will give some time for her pancreas to heal before taking her off insulin?
 
No no. I'm just kidding. Since she's 86 every morning. ;)

If you can get one test per cycle (in addition) to the pre-shots, you can follow TR. I'm wondering if you want to do that? Will help you keep Belle for a little longer on this dose - it will give some time for her pancreas to heal before taking her off insulin?

I realized that once I asked lol! I would be willing to try TR. Does it matter how late in the cycle we get a test? We can USUALLY do a +2, and then a +8 or 9 like we have been doing. What are the main differences between SLGS and TR? just the number at which you don't administer insulin and the rate of decreases/holding the doses for more time? I have read though it but all the new stuff usually overwhelms me, typical lol. She is again, 86, 20 minutes later.
 
We can USUALLY do a +2, and then a +8 or 9 like we have been doing.
This should be fine. She is on the last leg (anti-jinx) and I think holding doses longer may help.

What are the main differences between SLGS and TR? just the number at which you don't administer insulin and the rate of decreases/holding the doses for more time?
SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.


She is again, 86, 20 minutes later.
If you think you can give TR a try, please shoot the 0.25U and get a +2. For all you know, she may earn a reduction pretty quickly even with TR.
 
This should be fine. She is on the last leg (anti-jinx) and I think holding doses longer may help.


SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.



If you think you can give TR a try, please shoot the 0.25U and get a +2. For all you know, she may earn a reduction pretty quickly even with TR.
Willing to try anything! not a bad idea to give her a little more time on the juice to heal. I just shot .25U and will recheck at +2 :) We do feed only LC canned food now, am on night shift after today for the rest of the week, so testing during the cycle at least (whenever you would recommend) will be no problem
 
Willing to try anything! not a bad idea to give her a little more time on the juice to heal. I just shot .25U and will recheck at +2 :) We do feed only LC canned food now, am on night shift after today for the rest of the week, so testing during the cycle at least (whenever you would recommend) will be no problem
Great! Will someone will be able to test at nights?
 
Yes. Let's give it a shot :)
Will be back with a +2! In the meantime, kitten snuggles!
upload_2021-8-2_7-27-37.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-8-2_7-27-37.jpeg
    upload_2021-8-2_7-27-37.jpeg
    66.1 KB · Views: 97
Yes. If you are leaving for work, you could even add just a little MC to the LC.
Does she have food left out when you aren't home?

I am home all day today! I usually feed them 1.5 oz before I leave, then my partner puts out some fresh LC wet at +2 before he leaves (after he tests her), then I am home at +9 to give her a little more before her 2 hour cut off before PMPS. There is usually a little bit of food left when I get home from work at +9. Mind you two cats are eating from the food that's left out, but when I am home I catch her nibbling in between meals so she definitely eats during the day. This seems to be working with SLGS, will it affect TR much?
 
Back
Top