8/19 Mr Miyagi (Lev) - comments pls

Status
Not open for further replies.

laur+danny+horde

Member Since 2009
Mr Miyagi's post on Health is here. DCIN rocks!

Mr. M belongs to Sarah and Dee; I had met with Dee at the vet on Sat. I spoke to Dee tonight and he said I could post this info to the group for review. They don't have a spreadsheet together yet. One concern is that they have to go out of town this weekend and they are wondering about the ramifications of Mr M missing a shot. The mom will come in for the other shots but works and will have to miss one. Unfortunately I won't be in town that day.

Mr Miyagi is eating very well and Dee said they can feel he is putting weight on -- his spine is less prominent. He is noticeably more active. He's not drinking as much, and not peeing as much. He's started covering in the litter box again. They are now getting hometesting down, but they are not at home to test during the day. We talked again about the importance of ketone testing and the final check before going to bed, especially tonight since this is their lowest preshot yet.

Dosing suggestions are desired.


8/14
----- 322 (at vet)
PMPS 366 1u Levemir

8/15
AMPS 66 skip shot
PMPS 299 1u

8/16
AMPS 301 1u
PMPS 288 1u

8/17
AMPS 306 1u
PMPS 227 1u
+4 334

8/18
AMPS 235 1u
+5 259
PMPS 420 1u
+4 279

8/19
AMPS 413 1u
+5 218
PMPS 181 1u , negative for ketones


(Edit to clarify that Mr M's not mine, though I confess to feeling WANT! when I saw him.)
(edit to correct test/shoot results on 8/15 & 8/16)
 
Glad to see you are negative for ketones and found a wonderful pmps waiting for you! Fewer trips to the lb and water bowl are always good signs!
 
hI lAUR,

TAD CONFUSED AS the numbers you give don't tally with the numbers given by Sara/dee in the health thread?
They said he had a 66 at +12 on his second shot and therefore skipped shot. The date would have been the 16th, first shot being 15th pm.

Aside from that.FD is a marathon and not a race. Therefore you would now increase his dose by .25u. So 1.25u from next shot for 3-5 days depending on what numbers you get. (remember to get them to read the stickies-if they can?)

You often get an initial excellent reaction with Lev/Lan then numbers seem to rise. Not uncommon and don't worry about. The 180 no shoot seems acceptable until they can get some more data under thier belts. Can they get a curve on a w/e? They do need to try and do this at least once a week so can monitor how low a dose is taking him (dosing is mainly based on nadir, preshots are obviously also taken into account)
Maybe they could stay up late and get some tests or on occasion get up with an alarm to test?

If they are testing for keytones and so far negative and there is absolutely no way they can get anyone to shoot, then I guess they don't have any choice. It has to be their decision. It is not ideal. Numbers will be high (that's not the drama) it's if it caused keytones would be the worry.Mr M should dip into his shed (the stored insulin that has accumulated since they started giving him his shots).If they do miss, get that shot in as soon as possible when they return.
Must emphasise, this is thier decision, I'm not advising it my self.
I had to do it on a couple of ccasions, but knew my cat and she could hold her numbers (ECID).I know Jojo (vet tech) never liked or recommendd it. (think I've laboured the point enough).

Be great if they can get a spread sheet set up. Guidance is in tech forum.Can come here anytime for dosing advice, be good if can post every day like most beans.

He sure is a cute kitty :mrgreen:
Good luck
 
kate and lucky said:
hI lAUR,

TAD CONFUSED AS the numbers you give don't tally with the numbers given by Sara/dee in the health thread?
They said he had a 66 at +12 on his second shot and therefore skipped shot. The date would have been the 16th, first shot being 15th pm.

This is the info I got from Dee last night. They hadn't been keeping written records so I recommended they start and told them how I do it. We were trying to reconstruct from the meter, but it was confusing for him so we focused more on the more recent data. I'd forgotten about the 66, actually. Good catch. I'll fix up my post.
 
I don't suppose they got any spot checks last night, did they? The 181 was something new, and it was dropping, so maybe Mr. Miyagi hit some nice numbers last night.
 
I'm pretty sure they did test before bed, because we talked about how really important it was for them to do that with a lower preshot. But Dee and Sarah go to work very early and aren't up to speed on the ISG or spreadsheets yet, which is why I did this courtesy post in the first place. Hopefully they will be able to sort it out soon.

laur
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top