8.18 Magnolia +9 321

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sara & Magnolia

Member Since 2009
Last Post

I increased her to .75 yesterday and no movement. I'm thinking about going up to 1 for her AM shot. She is acting ok for the most part, just extra needy. The P's are good.

I'm still waiting on a callback from her (maybe) new vet, but it's been 2 days and I think that is a bad sign. I might just take her to her old vet and see if Magnolia tolerates her. Last time, the vet couldn't get anywhere near her...
 
Now I wonder what it is about that old vet that she doesn't like? I mean, most kitties are not crazy about their vets anyway, right?
But if you want a vet, well, at least maybe you can get in to see the old one...2 days and no reply huh? That doesn't sit too well with me either....
Now...about the dose....maybe put the question in the header and one of the experts will be around to talk about that with you.

It's strange that she is so needy lately...that is unusual for her, right? Does everything else seem okay? LB is okay?

Magnolia!
Full Moon party next Tuesday...
It is the Green Corn Moon so everyone will be wearing GREEN
no matter what their BGs are that day, okay? Do you have any green candles?
I am collecting your mail at your place at the Falls and I will give it to you at the party, k?
Nothing urgent, just junk mail...see you then, ok? I really miss you~we'll catch up
at the party!
your friend
Raja
 
Sara -

You need to let the dose settle and allow the shed to build. Do not expect an immediate response to the insulin. Remember -- it takes 5 - 7 days to get the shed in place. You don't want to keep increasing or you could inadvertently put Magnolia over dose. Start low and go slow. Please don't get impatient. And remember to test for ketones just as a precaution.
 
Thanks Sienne. I know these things, I just thought it was different when going back on insulin. I'll keep her at .75, and I made an appt at her old vet, we go this afternoon.
 
Pat, I totally missed your response! I'm sorry. Magnolia pointed it out to me and said she's too busy meowing and rubbing against things to type, but to pass on that she'll be at the party.

There was something about her vet...she starts hissing and howling the moment she enters the room. And won't let her get near her. I really like her though, so we are trying again today. Maybe she will forget.

The neediness is weird for her, but that really is the only behavior that is off.
 
Home from the vet, all's well. Vet said Magnolia looks GREAT, perfect but for the high BG. She looked so good, she said suggested we hold off on doing any blood work. She did encourage me to up her dose though, she said I'm starting too low. She went with the weight suggestion, and wants me to have her at 2 units, but I am not quite comfortable there, so I'm going to put her to 1 unit (easier to measure than .75 anyway) and hold it for the next 7 days.

The vet visit wasn't nearly as bad as I thought, she did get a little grumpy and by the time we were leaving, she had enough and tried to bite my hand which was restraining her at the time. Otherwise an ok trip.
 
Hi Sara!

Sorry to see that Magnolia's [she has the prettiest name ever] #'s have gone up. Maybe she just needs a little extra help in that department for awhile.

I know what you mean about the extra needy acting. Some of mine act that way when they are feeling a little under the weather. Maybe she was just trying to tell you that she did'nt feel quite right.

Glad things went ok at the old vets. Do you think she'd approve of being called old. :-D

Have a good night.

jan and sara
 
Sara & Magnolia said:
She went with the weight suggestion, and wants me to have her at 2 units, but I am not quite comfortable there, so I'm going to put her to 1 unit (easier to measure than .75 anyway) and hold it for the next 7 days.

I think that sounds like a good plan. I was starting to worry that the 0.5 was not a high enough starting dose. I might not hold for 7 days, maybe 5 depending on the numbers, but 1u sounds good.
 
Hi Sara you know I saw the condo with the name Magnolia and thought we had another cat with the name until I clicked on it tonight I am sorry to see you having to go back on insulin but hopefully it will be short but nice seeing you again ((((HUGS))))
 
Thanks Jan, I'm hoping it is a very temporary thing. She definitely lets me know when something is wrong, which is great since she had NO physical symptoms and I wouldn't have picked up on the high BG otherwise. Good to catch it early, right? I don't think her vet will mind, she is so sweet. But I think she's younger than I am!

Libby, We'll play it by ear with how long to hold the dose, 5 or 7 days. It's been so long since we've been here!

Lisa, Thanks, and I wish it were someone else. I mean, not really, I wouldn't wish this on anyone, but I wish it weren't us! Though it gives us a reason to post more often. No matter how hard I tried, I couldn't even make a post on Caturday!

PMPS was 265 and I raised her dose to 1 unit bid.

Goodnight LL!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top