8/18 Bam Bam AMPS 112

ChrismazB

Member Since 2024
So we have decided not to shoot. Based on the SLGS guidance:
If preshot is
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
So we skipped last night and this morning. We will continue to do a BG check in the afternoon.

Does that make sense?

When we do the next shoot we were going to give a reduction.

Am I supposed to put the link to yesterday's post in this message?

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/3200873/
 
Last edited:
So we have decided not to shoot. Based on the SLGS guidance:
If preshot is
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
So we skipped last night and this morning. We will continue to do a BG check in the afternoon.

Does that make sense?

When we do the next shoot we were going to give a reduction.

Am I supposed to put the link to yesterday's post in this message?

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/3200873/
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
The curve looks really good. If the bg is high enough for you to shoot, I would try .50 at this point. I know I said .75 on your last condo but the bg is pretty darn good after two skips. If high enough to shoot you might be able to not find the need to skip doses. If he continues like this we will see what he decides to do next. What was his bg at diagnosis? Were you feeding high carb food at diagnosis and now all lc? Sometimes, if you are lucky, that leads to remission and they become food controlled. I don’t want to go there just yet but there’s been a dramatic change.
 
We are really surprised. He has stayed fairly low today.

He was on kibble - so high carb - before being diagnosed. (Vet prescribed food)

We have changed to low carb wet food and freeze-dried treats.

Initially the vet blood test was 698. Our initial BG tests were high 300s.

I have been reading alot to figure out if we should shoot. And I have read that changing food can sometimes lead to no need for insulin. We are crossing our fingers and toes. It has been less than 1 month.
 
Back
Top