? 8/17 Pickle AMPS 128 - half dose??

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by picklesmom, Aug 17, 2022.

  1. picklesmom

    picklesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
  2. picklesmom

    picklesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
  3. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Can you monitor if you shoot? Have you fed? If not, test again and see where he is?
    Btw, which dosing method are you following? TR to SLGS?
     
  4. picklesmom

    picklesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    I’m following TR. I did not feed and tested again 15 mins later and it was 128.
     
  5. picklesmom

    picklesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    And yes, I’m home all day and can monitor - do I give the full 1.25?
     
  6. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes. With TR, you can shoot any number over 50, if you can monitor. Do you have enough strips and high carb food?

    Give 1.25U. Do not fill him up at the shot time,. You want him hungry enough to eat every hour. Feed a little at +1 and +2 and get a +2.
     
  7. picklesmom

    picklesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    50?! I assume it wouldn’t be the full dose though, right??

    yes I have strips and gravy food. What should I be looking for at the +2?
     
  8. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Sorry, just saw this. Yes, shoot the full dose. I think you have?

    If +2 is flat or lower, it will be an active cycle and you need to get more tests.
     
  9. picklesmom

    picklesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    Ok just did the +2, he was at 131 which is flat. What should my next steps be? He just got his 3rd “small meal”.
     
  10. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I was asleep when you first posted. Test in an hour. And yes full dose is given if 50 or over provided you can mono and have supplies.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  11. picklesmom

    picklesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    @Bandit's Mom

    just did the +3 and it was 143. Looks like it’s on the way up. Is that good? What should I do next? Should I still keep giving hourly meals?
     
  12. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s within meter variance so flat. I’d get a +5. Feed a little lc.
     
  13. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes, looks like he is headed up slowly. Bouncing from lows. It's good you shot the full dose.
     
  14. picklesmom

    picklesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    @tiffmaxee +5.5 was 169. Am I in the clear?
     
  15. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    If you can add TR to our signature that would be great
     
  16. picklesmom

    picklesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    All set. Do you think I’m in the clear?
     
  17. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Yes looks good to me
     
  18. picklesmom

    picklesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    Thanks for you help! Based on TR protocol looks like we can do a dose instead tomorrow am to 1.5. What minimum should I be looking for at amps to give 1.5?
     
  19. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    If following TR on this forum, we suggest that if you get a preshot lower than 150, or lower that you aren't used to shooting (but above 50), you post for help. Depending on circumstances, there may be various options that experienced people can walk you through. We base dosing on nadirs, not preshots values.
     
  20. picklesmom

    picklesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    I meant dose “increase”!
     
  21. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    If he goes below 100 tonight, you might hold the dose a little longer.
     
  22. picklesmom

    picklesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee

    hi there - I shot Pickles with 1.5 this am his amps was 149. Do you think I need to do the “keep him hungry, test often” process today? Or has he proven he’ll be ok?
     
  23. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    It's always a good idea to stagger meals to flatten the curve :) A test at +2 or +3 will tell you if more tests are needed or if he is good.
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  24. picklesmom

    picklesmom Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2020
    Ok! Just did a +3 and it was 117. I’m thinking just check a +6 next?
     
  25. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Feed a little LC now and again at +5. Test at +5 or +6.
     

Share This Page