Mon & Bo
Member Since 2026
Hi everyone! Bowie and I are new to feline diabetes and this forum. I'm trying to follow all of the posting guidelines, but please let me know if I did anything incorrectly!
History: Bowie was diagnosed on 8/6 at the ER with BG of 376, DKA, and severe pancreatitis after visits to 2 other vets. The ER vet believes this is a case of steroid-induced diabetes, as Bowie was on a brief prednisone regimen in July for allergies. Her DKA was treated in the hospital with fluids and electrolytes and her ketone levels have been negative since coming home. Previous blood tests did not show signs of diabetes. Bowie is 11 and aside from her allergies, she has been very healthy.
Insulin and BG: She is supposed to be on 1 unit of Lantus every 12 hours (11AM/11PM). We are so new to this that I haven't officially started on a specific dosing method, although I'm hoping to move to TR.
Other Meds: She had inflammation throughout her abdomen and is on clopidogrel to prevent blood clots from any leaky vessels. She is also on cerenia/mirataz/gabapentin as needed.
Questions: Should I continue targeting 1 unit of Lantus every 12 hours, and skipping doses when her PS levels are too low? Or should I start to cut back on her dosage and maintain the 12 hour frequency?
I feel weird about skipping so many shots. I also recognize that it's probably to soon to make any changes, and more data collection is required. I have an appointment with her normal vet on Wednesday, although I'm not sure how knowledgable he is about feline diabetes. I am going to monitor her BG more frequently throughout the day today and will be updating her spreadsheet.
History: Bowie was diagnosed on 8/6 at the ER with BG of 376, DKA, and severe pancreatitis after visits to 2 other vets. The ER vet believes this is a case of steroid-induced diabetes, as Bowie was on a brief prednisone regimen in July for allergies. Her DKA was treated in the hospital with fluids and electrolytes and her ketone levels have been negative since coming home. Previous blood tests did not show signs of diabetes. Bowie is 11 and aside from her allergies, she has been very healthy.
Insulin and BG: She is supposed to be on 1 unit of Lantus every 12 hours (11AM/11PM). We are so new to this that I haven't officially started on a specific dosing method, although I'm hoping to move to TR.
- Over the past few days, her pre-shot blood glucose numbers have been quite low (<100), so I've skipped some of her shots.
- This morning, her BG ranged from 92-98. About 12 hours ago, it was 82-93. She has not received a shot since AM 8/16.
- Her BG after her PM shot on 8/15 did jump up to 209 and was at 208 for her AMPS on 8/16.
- Before the BG monitor arrived, I was relying on ketodiasticks to test her glucose.
- They repeatedly showed high glucose in the first few days, but have since been lower.
- Last night her pee was positive/high for glucose, although her BG was around 90.
- This morning, her pee was negative for glucose. She peed outside of her litterbox (probably because I had to remove the litter and she doesn't like the smell) so I don't know if that messes up the readings.
Other Meds: She had inflammation throughout her abdomen and is on clopidogrel to prevent blood clots from any leaky vessels. She is also on cerenia/mirataz/gabapentin as needed.
Questions: Should I continue targeting 1 unit of Lantus every 12 hours, and skipping doses when her PS levels are too low? Or should I start to cut back on her dosage and maintain the 12 hour frequency?
I feel weird about skipping so many shots. I also recognize that it's probably to soon to make any changes, and more data collection is required. I have an appointment with her normal vet on Wednesday, although I'm not sure how knowledgable he is about feline diabetes. I am going to monitor her BG more frequently throughout the day today and will be updating her spreadsheet.